We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truck broke down, unplanned stay, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Selinsgrove
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Selinsgrove
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truck broke down, unplanned stay, helpful staff”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very good experience. Our compliments to the staff!

The front desk person was very helpful. We had experienced a vehicle breakdown. She gave us a good rate, and helped us determine where we could safely walk for dinner that night.

The chocolate chip cookies by the front door were a hit.

At checkout, we were given a couple of garbage bags to protect our luggage, which we now needed to put in the open bed of my son's just repaired pickup.

The staff helped make our unplanned stay as pleasant as possible.

SUGGESTION- the construction next door and the nearly empty parking spaces in fron of the hotel caused us to wonder if the hotel was open for business (from the road). You might consider a "We're OPEN" sign visible from the road during the construction. We drove up to the entrance to read the note to guests to determine that the hotel was open for business as we had no reservations.

Room Tip: Although there was a note apologizing for the construction noise, we heard nothing objectionable dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolynw23, Manager at Comfort Inn Selinsgrove, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank You So Much For Your Very Kind Response .Feed back From Our Guest Is Vital For hotel staff To Improve And For training Purposes. I Appreciate Your Comments About Our Staff`S Kindness. Customer Service Is Very Important To Us.


Please Consider Staying With us Again When In nThe Area. Thank You For Your Bussiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
20
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The facility had obviously undergone a recent renovation and was much better than I had originally expected!! The rooms were pleasant and very clean although regulating the heat was difficult at first. The staff were very courteous and helpful and called the room after settling in to make sure the room was to our liking. Something that I have not had in some of the more high priced hotels in much larger cities. The continental breakfast was consisted of much more than we had thought. In addition to the typical pastries, fruit, juice, and coffee, there were hard-boiled eggs, yogurt as well as Belgium waffle irons to make your own waffles. It was definitely a good bargain for visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolynw23, Manager at Comfort Inn Selinsgrove, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent comments in regards to our hotel. We have done renovations at our property and are so happy to hear you were very satisfied with your stay along with our deluxe breakfast. It is vital to our staff to know how we rate in the eyes of our customers and your feed back is very valuable to us. Please consider us again in the future and thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The travel to Selinsgrove was for work, and had to fit within a very modest budget. This property is a more than a little dog-eared as it sits right on the highway, is in need of updating and renovation (which it is currently undergoing), and all-in-all, can appear to be past its prime. That said, and considering they are updating the exterior of the property, the rooms were perfectly comfortable and clean, beds were very nice and the bathroom cleanliness and amenities were a real steal for the price. Breakfast is not worth one's time or stomach, and the dining area is far too small to accommodate more than 12-15 medium sized persons.

I needed space and comfort during this business visit and they delivered. The cleaning staff was exceptional as my room was sparkling on each day of the visit. My standard room was spacious, moreso than one finds at comparable hotels

Not the place for a romantic get-away, but for the more utilitarian duties of life, the hotel staff go out of their way to make this mid-range property as comfortable as possible. If working in Selinsgrove again, I would not hesitate to stay there.

Being that both Bucknell University and Susquehanna University are right in that valley, there are a lot of properties on Hwy 11 that get a lot of traffic, which may account for the slightly higher rates than one might expect for this region.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor and found the upstairs noise to be well contained and perfectly quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicxtian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn w, Manager at Comfort Inn Selinsgrove, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. Feedback from our guests is vital for the hotel staff to improve and for training purposes. I appreciate the comments on the cleanliness of the room and will give the information to my staff.

We continue to upgrade & improve all areas of the hotel and your suggestions will help us going forward.

Please consider us again when in the area. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm trying to rate this hotel fairly. The outside lot is in the middle of a renovation...huge hole in the entrance! I'm pretty sure this will be fixed. The inside lobby and our room was recently redone, nothing fancy but acceptable. Some things I could tell were reused, i.e., bathroom door, faucets. Beds felt a little mushy. The room was clean and reception extremely pleasant and helpful (very nice front desk staff). I can't decide if I would go back, but I'm not sure what other hotels are in the area. Breakfast was included which was normal continental breakfast with waffles - very good and area was very clean. If the rate was a little bit lower, I think I would say it was worth the price - just not sure it was worth the approximately $100 total.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolynw23, Manager at Comfort Inn Selinsgrove, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response on our hotel. Guest feedback is vital for our constant improvements, for training purposes and for on going renovations. I have shared this information with my staff and ownership and appreciate your candid comments. We hope when you are in the area again you will consider staying with us at the Selinsgrove Comfort Inn. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'm upgrading my rating since my stay here a few years ago. Everything was fine then, but seemed a bit nicer now. The room was more nicely decorated, the bed and bedding more comfortable and the breakfast offered additional selections. Still a great value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenDaltonJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have stayed here twice, and will be returning. While the accommodations are about average, the staff is excellent and the included breakfast is quite good for a freebie. Best value in Selinsgrove.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tc82193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selinsgrove
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Selinsgrove
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Selinsgrove / Shamokin Dam
8.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
#4 of 8 in Lewisburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn
16.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
283 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Selinsgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Selinsgrove

Property: Comfort Inn Selinsgrove
Address: 613 N Susquehanna Trl, Selinsgrove, PA 17870-7785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Selinsgrove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Selinsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Selinsgrove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Room Hotel Free Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast With A Hot Feature. Business Center On Site. We Are A Pet Friendly Hotel We Have Smoking And Nonsmoking Rooms Available. And You are Always Greeted With A Smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Selinsgrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Selinsgrove Hotel Selinsgrove
Selinsgrove Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing