We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to have fun, but beware of food”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed 4/19-4/21/06. The hotel and rooms are really nice. The kids loved the whole theme of the place. The waterpark was great! Not only did the kids love it (two 12 year old girls) but so did me and my husband!!! There was a lazy river and a cool wave pool and we even went on the roller coaster raft! There is also a adults only jacuzzi and we loved it!!! I had a massage in the spa and ladies it was great!!! You have to get one there.
The game room was soo big the kids and my husband loved it!!

The only thing they need to improve on is the food. I was wary as it was because I read some postings on tripadvisor before we left and sure enough they were right. We did try the breakfast and that really turned us off. We decided to eat out after that. There are plenty of restaurants right on Route 611, either to the left or to the right.. We would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank val15262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,294)
There are newer reviews for Great Wolf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,174 - 5,180 of 5,294 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2006

My husband and I and our two boys (ages 8 and 5) just returned from a 2 night stay at Great Wolf Lodge. We all loved it!! The lodge is beautiful when you enter the lobby with big chairs and sofas all around and a big fireplace. We arrived at 2 PM and check in took less than 10 minutes (which included waiting in line). Our room wasn't ready, but they tell you to call the desk from any hotel phone around 4 PM and they would tell you when it was. We packed our bathing suits separately, changed in the locker rooms and were on our first slide before 2:45 PM. Our room was not ready by 4 PM, which it was supposed to be, so they gave us $15 of Wolf money to spend anywhere in the resort. The room was ready by 4:30 PM. The waterpark was great for our kids. I felt totally secure letting our 8 year old roam free. There is no water deeper than 4 feet. He must have gone on every slide 100 times!! Our five year old also had a blast, but tired out a little faster. There were some long lines (it was over Easter break and the resort was sold out), but not too bad. The middle of the day, when the new people come and the people who checked out but haven't left yet are still there, is the most crowded. The wave pool was great and the family slide was fantastic. They did occasionally run out of towels and there was some trash around, but I thought it was run very well. The food lines at lunchtime were ridiculous. They need to figure out a better system or open another food location within the water park. There were lifeguards everywhere, though some seemed to take their job a little more serious than others. You need to be at the door of the park when it opens at 8:30 AM if you want to get a chair. There are not enough chairs for everyone. We stayed for 2 nights, which we decided was 1 night too long. We could have stayed one night and just left really late the second day. That way you could still have almost 2 full days without paying the VERY HIGH ROOM PRICE for the second night. Our room was great (we got the basic family room). More than enough room with 2 full beds and a sofa bed. After reading all the reviews about the expensive food, we decided to bring our own. We brought our own snacks, juice boxes and food for breakfast and lunch, which saved us a lot of money. We only paid for dinner and some sodas. The room had a large fridge to store all the food and a microwave to heat things up. If you do this, don't forget to bring paper plates and utensils. At night in the lobby they have a cute show and story time with the mascot Wiley the Wolf. Both boys liked the show and my 5 yr. old was very involved with the interactive story time. All the kids wear their pajamas and it was adorable!! Two little complaints: first, the "locker rooms" are gross. They are small, not enough lockers, no room to change, no privacy at all, and just dirty. When they tell you you need to check out at 11 am but can stay all day, they should have built locker rooms condusive to this. There are literally 100's of people doing this each day and the locker rooms can't nearly accomodate this. Second, the floors in the water park can be slippery. Both my kids slipped and fell on thier backs at least once. I almost did it at least twice, and I watched many other kids wipe out as well. I noticed some people had these water shoes on, which may help, but some of the slides say you can't wear shoes, so I don't know if that applied to these types of aqua shoes. The stairs up to the slides were fine, it was the floor surface in some spots. Overall, we thought the place was great and would go back in a second.

5  Thank 3crazyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

I'll start by saying that my kids loved it so it was worth it just for the amount of fun they had in the waterpark.
The room was clean when we got there and luckily, available at check in although we waited about 25 minutes to check in at 2:30pm.
The employees are all friendly and very helpfull.

Cons-
the hallways are noisy!!! Kids running sound like a herd of elephants. Noise and voices echo horribly. This is a big problem when you cater to families. "Hibernation' hours, i.e. quiet time, doesn't start until 11pm but lots of families have babies and toddlers and hte noise in the hallways was ridiculous. Certainly, the lack of decent parenting was the cause of the noise but the hotel could have designed a hallway that reduces the noise or put in more soundproofing. At minimum, hibernation time should begin at 10pm. You can run the heating/ a/c unit to drown out some of the noise but warning- its much louder then your average window a/c set on high!

Food was way too expensive. They admit that their brochures are wrong and its now two seating ares being served by one big buffet. Prices were 11.99 per adult for breakfast and 7.99 per child. Lunch was 14.99 per adult and then dinner was 24.99 per adult. A family of four with one bar drink and our buffet dinner bill was over $80 without tip. The food was okay but not worth that amount. Luckily we ate early b/c by 6, the line was out the door and the kids on line were out of control. They definately don't have enough seating.

Not enough elevators. There are only 2 in the lobby. Sadly, we live in a generation where parents don't know enough to teach kids to wait until everyone exits the elevator before barging on. THe parents were barging on and pushing the people who were exiting too. More elevators would have helped.

Rooms were not cleaned well during stay. To be somewhat expected when the staff tells you that over 300 people were checking out and then another 300 checking in in one day- thats a big turnover and a lot of work in a limited amount of time for the staff.

There is nothing else to do in the area. They should atleast put in a playground so kids can play outside in nice weather. When we made reservations, I asked for info about daytrips and was assured that there were fun places for the kids within an hours drive. sadly, this was not true at some places aren't open until summer or only open on weekends. We stayed 4 nights which was atleast one too many.

The waterpark and water was too cold at times. They had trouble maintaining temps, especially in the evening and during a cold, rainy day.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank greenwichgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

Looked forward to our visit with our 3 kids, ages 10, 7, and 7--what a great concept! However, for the $450 a night we paid for a Kid Cabin, the experience fell short: the kids' beds have rough "sleepsack" sheets that don't stay tucked in, leaving your kids laying on vinyl. The heater is very loud and I kept waking up every time it clicked on. The switch-on gas fire was a nice touch though.
The whole "cabinesque' (as they advertise it) atmosphere is fake and cheesy, down to the animatronic woodland critters in the lobby singing "There's nothing to be scared of here" (huh?) in a sickly sweet melody. The food is a gets-old-quick buffet. The service, with some exceptions, ranges from indifferent to incompetent (how hard is it to take drink orders correctly and clear the table?) at the buffet eatery.
The kids did love the waterpark, but if the air is truly a "balmy 84 degrees," I'd be surprised. The water could be warmer, too. The signage is bad--you don't know what ride you're going on as you climb any of the 4 or 5 staircases to the tube rides, until you're halfway up. None of the clocks worked. There were signs of age and wear already on some of the rides. Only once did I see a lifeguard refuse to let a too-short kid on a ride. The lazy river is clogged with empty float tubes—why can't the lifeguards pull them out like they do at other waterparks? On the plus side, the park has a nonslip surface, there are plenty of towels, and we didn't have a long hunt for chairs.
The arcade has few decent games, especially for little kids, which is weird, since this isn't a place for kids much older than 12.
The basics were fine--we didn't wait long to check in or check out, though I noticed that the clerk didn't ask how my stay was, nor did I see any "comment" cards.
The whole thing feels half-hearted and certainly didn't make me want to return.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JATJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2006

April 19-21......Just got back from the Great Wolf Lodge with our son 12 and daughter 8. We had a G-R-R-R-EAT time. Kids LOVED it. I think it's a wonderful concept to have a waterpark indoors. Yes, it's pricey but we thought it was worth it. We were trying to get reservations since the beginning of the year with no luck. Finally I was able to get these dates for a Family Suite. Check in was not a problem. The suite was fine. Very clean.
Yes it's also expensive to eat, but there are ways around that. Some tips....we brought breakfast foods from home so we just got up and zap it in the micro. We brought juices for the kids, water, cold cuts, bread and stored everything in the mini fridge. That saved us some $$$. For dinner we went to Friendly's which is not far from the hotel. There's also the Crossroads Premium outlet mall right next to the hotel which has a few places to eat. The Waterpark is a nice size. Yes, after 10am it was hard to find a chair because they were all taken at that time, but we didn't let that ruin our fun. We would just find a place by a corner until there was something available. There's somethng for everyone. The water was clear and there were plenty of lifeguards on the premises. We never felt like it was overcrowded. The idea that the waterpark is under one roof is great even for the children. I felt a sense of secruity even if we split up in the park as opposed to a hugh outdoor waterpark where a child can get lost. Nice size arcade too. Some activities for the kids like a Cub Club, a scavenger hunt, clock and story time at night.

Bottom line...regardless of what negative things others write you should at least try it for yourself. Remember alot of the negative reviews are people who sometimes are too pickey or their expectations are a bit too high. After all, the main focus here are the children and I don't think you'll find a disappointed child in this place.

Would we go back? DEFINITELY!

Stayed: April 2006
9  Thank jujujazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
13
Reviewed April 19, 2006

Convenience and FUN! Went with best friends and shared a room. Stayed in the Kids Cabin. Plenty of space for all five of us. Water park was perfect. Not too big, not too small, plenty of fun rides. Everyone had a wonderful time. The hotel was booked the week we were there. Found it best to visit the water park early in the morning until 11-11:30. Then back again around 4PM until the kids were tired!
Food on-site was expensive. We brought our own food and ate breakfast and lunch in the room. Convenient refrigerator and microwave were in the room. Want an affordable dinner, healthy food (no greasy diner stuff)? Take the family to Irv's Hideaway, just two miles from the GWL. Dinners were great; Sunday brunch was a bargain! Food was home-cooked and excellent. Great Italian/American buffet! Great price.

We moms had a blast visiting the outlet mall during one afternoon.
Only down side was the mattresses on the kids beds. Sheets slip off easily and beds are more suitable for smaller children. Hotel was VERY clean. We all felt safe and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We stayed at Great Wolf over the Easter holiday. We found the entire experience very enjoyable and we will return in November. The check in went very fast and our room was ready at 2 pm. The only complaint was that we had booked a Kids Cabin over three months ago but they had us in a Kids Camp room instead. It was a bit smaller, with no fireplace, but it also cost less so we decided to stay with it. The room was clean, but the kids did not like the rubber mattresses on the bunk beds. Next time we come, we are reserving the Majestic Bear Suite because we are bringing friends for our son (13) and daughter (9). We loved the water park, lots of fun for all ages. It was kept clean and there were plenty of life guards around. Our daughter thought the clock show and bedtime story was fun, and she danced the night away with the Saturday evening disc jockey in the lobby. Our son loved the game room and the water slides. The buffet is expensive, but there are plenty of places to eat down the road from the Lodge without breaking the budget. It was neat to see Camelback from the windows overlooking the water basketball courts. We didn't try the spa this trip, but we will next time we come. Overall, it was a nice two day getaway for families with everything you could want under one roof.

3  Thank joalexajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotrun
3.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,531 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355-9000
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range: $244 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing