We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all the famy”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is truly unique. Combine a cool resort and indoor water park and MagiQuest and you have fun for the whole family. We received an upgraded room which had the Mastr bedroom on a sep floor within the suite which was great. They had a nice outdoor pool when we got too hot from the indoor pool/slides and was great to let the kids run around with other kids. Returning next month
The only drawback is that for the nightly rate, breakfast should be included. Good buffet for breakfast/dinner

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divemazter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,094 - 4,100 of 5,604 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

VERY expensive but a nice 2 day family retreat. We stayed for 1 night and used the park for 2 days - this was more then enough time. I had a 4, 8 & 10 yr old. The older kids spent the days together and checked in with us every 2 hrs. The 4 yr old stayed with us and had the time of her life.The rooms are large but could use some attention. Very safe and lots of options for recreational activities aside from the water park. Staff was attentive.
Some suggestions - bring your own snacks and go off site for meals. Overall it was a great trip - but my account id depleated.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a kids cabin - totally enhances their expierience and gives the adults some much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our second trip to GWL, we love it! Our children range from 4-10 years and they all enjoy it and have something for them. At night they have little things for the kids after the water park is closed. Rooms can be expensive but they are always running some deal or find a groupon. We r already booked for another trip in November, can't wait!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scsoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We traveled with a 2 yo old and a 7yo. We lucked out and had beautiful weather so we were able to enjoy the outside pool area. We got the paw pass which is about $68 with tax that gave the kids little presents throughout. We only ate at the loose moose cafe which had buffet style breakfast and dinner and a la cart items for lunch. It was nothing spectacular but there was a good variety of food. Unfortunately for us the people in the room above us were running all night long. The beds in the kid cabin were adorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngaffney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our family visited over the Memorial Day weekend and here are a number of thoughts:

- Definitely pricey but we likely paid a premium for the holiday weekend.
- All of our kids were 5 and under and that meant they couldn't go on about half of the rides...keep that in mind!!! This definitely weighs into the price consideration... Sure, the kids can still have a decent amount of fun in the rest of the waterpark but us adults got bored since we couldn't exactly leave our kids to go on the "big kid" rides.
- Surprisingly, the park wasn't ridiculously packed and ride waits weren't terribly unreasonable. However it was annoying that at one point there it was extremely difficult to get two-person tubes and none of the employees would put out more or get us tubes despite asking multiple times. Also, people didn't understand where rides where (poor signage) and flow/lines weren't efficient (e.g. 2 rides share the same steps but 1 ride would be empty because people waiting for the other ride blocked off the stairs => Management: if you're reading this, you need to fix these issues.) Guest with kids should try to secure these two-person tubes ASAP since you'll need them for the rides.
- We did not dine there, but the prices are probably expensive as other reviewers have mentioned.
- We stayed 1 night and that was plenty sufficient. Arrive early the day you check-in and go to the park ASAP and then you can go again the next day after checking out.
- Things were dead by 10 PM. Don't expect there to be late night activities, though most people will be there with kids anyway.
- We had a Loft Room on the 4th floor and that was nice, spacious, and decently appointed. I would agree with other reviewers that it's probably best to seek out a room on the top floor (4th).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigrr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when lodge first opened. Quality Has deteriorated some since and I can swear some of the water features still have not been fixed for years. This is a plus bring your own food of go down the road and get food! The prices ate not worth the food you receive; junk food hit dogs hamburgers pizza oh my!!

9$ for 3 chick fingers and fries the fries I bought separately! Dinner was yucky tried to sell me 6 mini shrimps for 9$. Nachos were greasy, salmon was good though.

Best thing was no lines in water park!! Arcade has changed to requiring a card loaded with cash to play games; the games have been updated. Bowling was ok twenty tiny lanes! Room was clean second floor right on the lawn: yuck! People were pleasant no issues. Pretty quite first night but new people came on above kids jumping on floor; yeay.. Great wolf is way too expensive and value driven unless you are using a coupon.
Make sure you plan around a coupon people!!! Get a paw pass plan when you check in if you plan on using the arcade, bowling etc!! Trust me it is actually a good value!

And again bring your own food!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alsjka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a Groupon purchase giving us a KidCabin Suite. We brought our very active 18 month old with us who had the time of his life. Very pleasant staff, the guests all seemed very respectful and the room was fantastic. We were supposed to receive a text when our room was ready but never received that...just had to inquire at the front desk. Food is a little pricey but decent quality. The bunk beds had been written all over in pen (and sometimes chiseled writing into the wall) a real shame that parents allow their children to deface the room that way. Water park was awesome and great even for a toddler! We will be returning for sure!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Gregory98111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotrun
3.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,230 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,333 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355-9000
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range: $247 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing