We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My family and I stayed here last November. We really enjoyed it, especially our 11-year old. He also really enjoyed the MagiQuest and the arcades. We reserved through Great Wolf's website and saved 15%. We stayed in a Queen sofa suite on the 1st floor, our room had a patio overlooking the back of the resort so it was really quiet (expect around bedtime, but that's expected). Our room had the standard amenities and was clean. Food was expensive at the resort but we used Yelp for some nice restaurants nearby. There is also an outlet nearby as well. Overall it was a good trip and we would most likely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mryan208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    1,542
    866
    400
    299
See reviews for
4,299
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Based upon research I was not expecting much when we went to Great Wolf the past 2 days. We travel a lot and take our son to many activities and vacations but I have avoided this water park repeatedly. That said, I finally bit the bullet and booked one night in a Kid Cabin. I could not get a special deal such as on Groupon due to our weird time off so I paid full price. I was very happy with the location of the room....first floor, near an entrance away from lobby and elevator. Also pleased with cleanliness of the room and its appearance. My 6 year old, who has been spoiled by always staying in vacation houses and condo rentals, forgot all about being annoyed we were staying in a hotel once he saw his cabin. Stated he wanted to "live" there. Bunkbeds were the main thrill. Spacious, clean, comfortable room. The whole hotel was clean, all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I loved the decorating theme. Guest were much better behaved then I anticipated. I expected a lot of rudeness, city attitude and lack of manners or child watching. ( I can complain about city folk. My hubby is from Brooklyn, I am originally from Long Island and we live about 50 miles from NYC!) Still can't believe our entire stay was annoyance free. Water park was also clean and organized. Life guards very attentive. Slide and rides waits were orderly and quick. Food was what one would expect in this type of attraction. I don't understand why people seem surprised or really upset by it. We have that reaction when the food is good and cheap! Prices were not out of the ordinary. We got there around 4 pm. Quick check-in, dropped our stuff in the room and went to the park. Got a table with no issue because I think people were either leaving the resort or getting dinner. Stayed to closing. Slept soundly. Did not hear any noise. Shocking considering the amount of children in the hotel! After breakfast, hit the park again and stayed to about 7 pm. Just make sure and get a spot as soon as it opens...seating goes quickly. We really got our money's worth. About 14 hours of water park time for one nights stay. We could have got 20 if we arrived earlier. My son, who has been to 9 other indoor waterparks so far, cried every time we tried to leave. We also spent time in the arcade and the stuff an animal area where G made a pillowcase. I was very surprised by the items for sale in the kids stuff store. Very nice products. Unique and reasonably priced. Luckily I noticed the mini golf and bowling before G did and managed to turn him around. He is obsessed with both. I swear at 6 he has logged more mini golf and bowling time then most adults ( has his own bowling ball ) but I was not up to hours spent on each. Next time. Overall a very pleasant last minute break. We are all looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purrfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have gone to Great Wolf, PA for the last 3 years. The kids have a ball! The waterpark is kept up very well, clean and lots for the kids to do. The outdoor pool is also well kept. The rest of the public areas as well as the rooms need updating and a good deep cleaning. The rooms have a musty smell--something to expect with all the water around I guess. The food in their restaurant is very good and priced fairly well. The food in the park is expensive. The cost of the rooms I felt were very high. We spend 4 days and 3 nights there, have to get 2 rooms to accomodate everyone and I spend as much for that as I do for an entire week at the jersey shore or Ocean City, MD, not including the cost of meals. I can't spend a long period of time in the pool area due to the high clorination, triggers my sinus headaches.

Helpful?
Thank MzWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Let me say this, it was the perfect weekend getaway for my family. The kids had a blast at the waterpark! I even had time to shop at the outlets which is very close to the resort. It was a clean and safe environment. We stay the ground floor so it was quiet at night. Just make sure to bring alots of cash for food unless you eat off site because it will add up :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family visit this indoor waterpark last August. Well, kids love this place, but everything in the waterpark is expensive. we stayed at Majesty room and it was very spacious and clean. There are a lot of event for kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteryoonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 1 night @ GWL last winter (2012) with our kids who were aged 3.5 and 1.5 at the time. We found a deal on the internet which saved us 15%, so I'd advise the same to avoid paying full price.

The rooms were comfortable, equipped with a TV and microwave, standard stuff really. We went there for the primarily for the water park, so the rooms weren't our first priority.

My kids were too young for the Magiquest game (game where you run around the hotel with a wand and interact with various objects). You need to purchase a wand from the store and load it if you want to play.

My 3 year old really enjoyed the water park. He stuck mainly to the small slides, as he wasnt tall enough for the bigger rides. The younger child hadn't experienced an indoor water parks before, was rather intimidated by the loud crowds, so it was difficult to get him acclamated. The indoor temparature is very warm, so you don't need to worry about your kids getting cold when they leave the pool.

Would we go again? Probably, but not until the kids were a little older, so at least they could participate in the MagiQuest game.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went here over the labor day weekend. We were at first very concerned if the place would be overcrowded. The place is well equipped to handle peak traffic.

Rooms : Rooms were pretty clean. We had the family room that typically hosts 4adults. About 400 squarefoot - plenty of space in general. Although we wished they had the room divided neatly as most folks we saw were sharing the room with another family. Clean sheets were provided. for the little time we spent in the room, we did not really need anything more.

Water park area : This was awesome. A couple of wild rides for adults. plenty of smaller rides for the little ones. Water was heated to room temperature .my toddler had a lot of fun.

Checkout time : They had a 11 am checkout. I wish they were able to extend it to 1 as check-in time was at 4 pm. I would have given a 5* if this was the case.

Overall, a very nice place to visit with family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank sunny_seattle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotrun
3.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,414 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,155 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,276 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355-9000
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing