We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another terrific vacation at Great Wolf Lodge”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Certificate of Excellence
Uncasville, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another terrific vacation at Great Wolf Lodge”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another terrific trip to the Great Wolf Lodge. We spent 4 nights this time, which I worried would be too long for my 9 year old, but we could barely peel him away the last day. This time, we rented a standard family room with a fireplace. With 2 queen beds and a comfortable pull out couch, it was a great option. Last time, we stayed in one of the special kids' rooms, but the bunk beds weren't comfortable for my tall son. Just a hint, the poolside rooms are really pretty in the summer. With only one exception, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, and the one exception wasn't even that bad (just glaring when compared to her more congenial colleagues). My favorite moment was when we rented one of the poolside cabananas on an especially gorgeous Saturday. When I got up to get a drink at the nearby bar, the waitress ran over to take my order, telling me, "your job is to relax, mine is to get you anything you need." NIRVANA :-) We never left the lodge. My husband greatly enjoyed the buffet, and my son devoured pizza whenever he could. In comparison to other waterpark resorts, we found the food to be very reasonably priced. Overall, we found the place to be clean, and the waterpark and pool lifeguards to be very vigilant. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend pool-side rooms, especially in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsC25098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    1,567
    885
    402
    303
See reviews for
4,396
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The lodge is really nice with fun things to do for small children. The water park is great for them to run around the whole day. They have fun family water rides that you can do together, but it gets boring for adults and older kids after a couple of rounds. The rooms are nice even if they have a slightly older feel, but beds were fine to sleep in and the fridge and microwave worked just fine. All in all its fun for a day or two, but wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakirh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great Wolf Lodge is always great and never a disappointment. About to go for the 3rd time in a few days! Water park is a great place to visit. The activities are nearly endless. The breakfast buffet is just amazing. Be sure to get there early,or it will be very stuffed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimReview121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just came back from GWL and it was enjoyable. We spent 2 full days at the park and the kids did all the rides dozens of times. The room was ok a little old looking( time to upgrade). The earwigs were the biggest problem as this freaked out my wife. The beds were comfortable and fridge kept things cold.

We only ate at the GWL for lunch as the rest of the time we seeked out some local places.

One thing I would recommend to GWL is put some signs up going north on 611 as you are on top of the driveway before you know it without warning.

Would we go back? Of course....I just wish the pricing would be a tad lower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laker0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Visited Great Wolf for the second time. We love the family atmosphere, shows, waterpark and service at the lodge. Although it is extremely pricey, it is a safe place for kids to have fun and for parents to relax. We visited with a 13 year old girl, twelve year old girl and a 8 year old girl. They loved it, however we did not do all the "extras" such as the spa, and quest because it was way to expensive.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was great and had just enough privacy for the kids to enjoy themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie And Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've put off going to the "Wolf" thinking it was pricey, but a last minute decision for a Pocono overnight getaway changed my mind. Yes, the nightly rate is high, but when you take into consideration you get almost two full days of water park rides it was a better value than I realized. After check-out you can stay and use the waterpark as there's clean changing rooms available (and lockers to rent if needed). I just put the wet suits in a plastic sealed bag. My kids are older (11 & 15) and I worried there wouldn't be enough for them to do or the hotel was geared more for younger kids, but they had a blast. The water park was a hit with all of us (even grand mom enjoyed the lazy river) and we all enjoyed the hotel theme and watching kids do the wand quests. We stayed at the hotel and ate lunch at one of the restaurants even though I could have found less expensive restaurants down the road - the prices weren't that much higher; portion sizes were large enough that entrees could have been split and it was convenient. There's a microwave and mini frig in the rooms, so you can bring items to save even more. We'll definitely be back with a few friends and family members next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have heard of GWL from friends and family so many times, that we finally decided to visit for ourselves. Very pleasantly surprised by the infrastructure and facilities here. The indoor water park (and outdoor pool) is just great. Our boys couldn't get enough of it! Yes, it does get crowded and it is always recommended to grab a table/chairs early, but you can always find empty chairs by the wave pool.

The food is average, we had breakfast buffet and dinner buffet here - but one doesn't come here for the food. Tip for families - it's a good idea to pre-pay for breakfast when making your hotel reservation. We paid $130 total for 3 days (family of 4). Each breakfast buffet would have cost us $60 per day, so we ended up saving some money here. Of course, unless you want to make a breakfast run and grab something from outside (there's a Dunkin Donuts 5 miles out).

There is plenty to do for kids here. The Magic Quest was a fun activity when the kids weren't in the pool. We also did miniature golf and bowling. Didn't opt for their pre-paid Paw packages, and we figured we ended up saving money there as well. Most of the time is spent in the water park, so you're better off just paying for each activity that kids partake in.

Check-in lines can be long specially around 3pm or so. It's perhaps better to get in at say 1pm, check-in without lines, carry a bag with swimwear, and get into the waterpark while your room is prepared. The restrooms by the waterpark have changing rooms as well. Check-out is a breeze, they check you out automatically so no waiting in lines. Don't think about extending check-out time, this place seems to be pretty packed through the year, so they normally don't extend times for guests.

All in all, a little cheesy and a little crowded, but we had a great time with the activities here, and will definitely be coming back. Works out so much cheaper than flying anywhere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheOrient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotrun
3.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,169 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,283 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355-9000
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing