We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Vacation!!!!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Olive, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Vacation!!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from a 1 night 2 day stay at the GWL in PA. We traveled with our 3 year old son and had a blast. After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about the costs that we'd incur, but I must say coming from NJ it is no more than what you would spend on food on the boardwalk. For example, cheesteak,fries and a drink was $8.99 a pretzel $2.99, that is a lot less expensive then what you would pay for food at the movies and frankly tasted way better than theater food. Facilities were all clean, the pool was certainly not 80 degrees, but it didn't bother my son nor the other children there so I guess it's just us whiny adults. I also must add that the lifeguards were fantastic, they were on their posts, I never saw any of them chatting or distracted. Story time was wonderful and I must say this was a beautiful trip to take during the holidays. To address the noise level in the halls, again you're staying at a kid oriented place, if you want solace and quiet time than this is not the place for you. This is about your kids, your family and a very high energy place. I highly recommend it for any families with young children, it's a great way to spend some quality time with the kids as well as enjoy their laughter at all the fun things GWL has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,937
    1,602
    903
    409
    309
See reviews for
4,515
33
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went the week after Thanksgiving, six of us, three generations and stayed in the Grizzly Suite. It would have comfortably slept eight and had two bathrooms and a kitchen counter microwave, sink and small fridge. The beds were excellent but the bedrooms had two tiny drawers and one had a coat rack. They each had a tiny, drawless night table and that was it for furniture. The living room was really nice. It had a small, three-chair table, a nice couch, two side chairs and a coffee table. But it also had a terrific push-button, real, working gas fireplace and sliding doors that led to a two-chair balcony and a gorgeous night view. Each room had a tv with great reception.
The water park really had something for everyone from super-scary tube slides to gentle kiddie pools, a wave pool and a lazy river. The lifeguards were the best, most involved I've ever soon anywhere. The entire staff was exceptional. One waitress said it was because the establishment treated them so well, that they treated us so well. That was nice to hear.
Food was better than average but not great and fairly expensive. Breakfast was $15. a person plus $3. for coffee. Lunch was a la carte, dinner was 22. plus drinks. Kids under 3 eat free and older kids were 9. and 15. for breakfast and dinner. Pizza was also available for average prices.
It gets expensive with the creative add-ons. There's a great little kids bowling alley for $5. per game and an awesome black-lighted mini-golf for $5. per head. All the other extras begin at much higher dollar amounts with a little girls manicure at 40., yes, forty dollars but it includes a goodie bag (really)?
There's a build-a-critter machine, a paint your own ceramic, t-shirt or pillowcase and there are some interactive things for kids, such as where you buy a wand and it opens treasure chests throughout the resort. You can also buy a puppy or paw pass that tells interactive stories throughout but most of the story is just mildly camouflaged advertising. Like when the character talks about someone taking his wonderful sprinkles so he can't make his signature cupcakes to sell in the sweetshop. BTW- the fudge in the sweetshop is first-rate.
The hallways are cold going back to your room, so bring cover-ups. There's plenty of hot water for the showers and the water is soft, which makes your shampoo work well. The toiletries are simply a shampoo, a bar of soup and a hand cream but they also include the nice addition of a no-tears children's soap.
My advice would be bring breakfast stuff, buy lunch there and go out for dinner. Freindly's is a few doors to your right. Longhorn Steakhouse or Red Robin Restaurant, both less than ten minutes down the road, directly to the right of the resort are excellent choices. There's also an enormous shopping outlet, immediately to the right. Check out The Crossings online ( but eat before you go). And finally there are a lot of discounts around for the resort and the outlets. Some are work related such as municipal employees, some are club related like AAA and some are online. I would definitely recommend this place for familes with children.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our first trip to Great Wolf Lodge in the Pocono's. There are lots of mixed reviews about this place. I am going to tell you that you have to know what kind of trip this will be before you go. Our family of three ( two adults and an eight year old) had a very good time. The water park was clean and had many activities depending on your activity level.. The hotel was clean and spacious. Most of the customer service was good and the food we had was excellent, we ate there for every meal. I felt the prices were comparable to many restaurants. Our son enjoyed the Magic Quest game and we were very active for the two nights we stayed. It is not a leisurely vacation. It is an interactive vacation where you are swimming and playing constantly. Yes, it is loud. Yes, it is tiring. Yes, it is expensive. Yes, we had lots of family fun. We were disappointed that the Magic Quest game had one prop that did not work and we could not go any further with our quest. We also arrived after a holiday weekend and things were sold out in the magic quest shop and then the day we left they had more selection. There were a few rude kids and adults but this is expected anytime you travel. We are planning another trip there for our sons birthday. Make sure you take a day after getting home from Great Wolf Lodge to rest because you will be tired, but we were happy we went and made memories with our son.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AutumnKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have been going to the Great Wolf in Poconos for a few years now and we always have a great time. It was just as fun this time until we were ready to leave. We have a black laptop backpack in the waterpark with us. Inside were a laptop, a HP touch pad, an iPhone 4, a wallet, a camera, and three chargers, one for the touchpad, one for iPhone 4, one for iPhone 5. Before we went to use the shower facility inside the waterpark, I specifically tucked the backpack under the table and pushed the chairs around it, so it’s not visible unless someone move the chairs away. When we were done showering, the backpack was gone. The iPhone inside the backpack has GPS turned on and we were able to track it using our other iPhone. We could see that it was still on the property and the assistant manager recognized the location, which is nearby the storage shed outside of the hotel building and across the parking lot. He went and found the backpack on the grass nearby the storage shed. It’s a location guest wouldn’t know about. It’s pretty clear this was the work of an employee. The thief definitely had gone through the backpack to check out what’s inside, and took the cash from the wallet, the camera, and all three chargers, but left everything else. The credit cards were all in different slots inside the wallet, obviously he/she took them all out to look then put them back in. The assistant manager said it looked like the thief was in a hurry probably because he/she still needed to get back to work, and that’s why the bigger items were left inside the backpack. The initial response the security person gave us was basically “good luck”, only after we have found the backpack by ourselves, he agreed to look through the security video by the waterpark entrance and notify us if they find anything. This happened between 7:20 and 7:50 on Nov. 22, there should have been enough time to go through all the security footage for the entire hotel for that half an hour by now, and still we are waiting for someone to follow up with us.
We are very disappointed at how this was handled by the park personnel. They did not seem to be surprised at all as if they have seen this happen over and over. They basically told us there is nothing they can do before we were able to track the iPhone ourselves. Yet when I suggested we should contact the police, the front desk lady told me it’s not needed and security would handle it. I know it was busy holiday season, still the quality of the employee should not have been compromised.
It is a great place to have fun, just be careful. Someone was obviously watching us closely….

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank LivingForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Went with the whole family (6 adults, 8 kids). 3 nights. Had two of the really big rooms. We brought many coolers and did lots of menu planning, so didn't have to eat on site once. Ordered pizza from town for one meal. We also reserved an outside cabana for the two full days there - best move we did. Had a 'base' for everyone that was near the waterpark.

This park was a good size for all participants. The kids (2-9) tore it up and only got tired, not tired of it.

This place is NOT cheap, but do the math - its no different than the cost of a Disney Trip or similar. If we had to eat out every meal, we wouldn't do it. Just do your legwork, plan, and you'll save. You have to feed your kids anyway, so just put it in a cooler, bring the paper plates, and microwave away!

They do try to milk you for disposable cash (the wand thing, arcade, kid spa, etc.) but 'just say no' and you'll be fine.

Staff was great and we found it to be very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to great wolf lodge with our two kids. They really like the water park, however the room was way too cold. We had to call maintenance to fix it. The biggest disappointment was the magic quest wand. The wand we purchased was broken, my wife went back three times and was told it was fine. By the time it was fixed the first night was done. I would of expected for the price to have much better customer support. We were very disappointed. The whole place nickels and dimes you to death. Luckily we knew this and was prepared this time.

Room Tip: Bring snacks and breakfast. The food is very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I just spent one night at Great Wolfe and I am glad I spoke to people who have been there before. I only booked one night, brought food for breakfast and lunch, brought snacks and drinks, and went OUT for dinner. My kids are 5 and 7, and only needed one night stay to have a great time and get completely exhausted. We had to have one of the noisiest rooms...a Wolfe den ( which my kids loved) smack next to magic quest. But I didn't expect to be well rested at the same time. However, next time I won't be requesting the same room:). The room was not exceptional, but not a dump either...and I agree could use some TLC...but we were in the room to sleep only. The water park is fun, and magic quest is loads of fun too. I liked that this was an active trip with lots of exercise :). We will go back again....not to have a relaxing trip away, to have a crazy fun, fast moving night away where you can play in water in the winter. It is expensive, so don't stay more than a day...start in the waterpark at 1 pm on your day of check in, stay in park until dinner, do magic quest at night, wake up next morning, back to the water park, pay extra for late check out and check out the arcade, bowling, more magic quest and stay until 9pm if you can last.....we didn't.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to Everything....your room will be noisy! So, if that is a problem, bring e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dmk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotrun
3.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,184 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,516 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355-9000
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing