We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done”
Review of The BriMarie Inn

The BriMarie Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The BriMarie Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sayre B&B and Inns
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Small town America...not a knock. Sayre is an old place in the Northern reaches of PA. It has the feel of a place time forgot...which again may not be a bad thing.

The Inn is clean, well maintained, comfortable and about a time long gone...comfort and ease in a hotel.

Not all a,enities available...like a glass in your room, or a telephone, or an ice machine (bartender can give you a pitcher full) etc. While spartan there is a charm to the simplicity.

Clean john, beds and linen crisp, no dust...clean and pleasant.

Great for business or local for a day or two. Thumbs up/

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
15
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vestal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I did not stay at the Inn, so can't report on that. However I went with friends for dinner and was very pleased by quality of the food, the service, and the reasonable cost. Had cocktails at the bar before dinner, and it was only five dollars a drink, and a very strong one at that. Maybe hit happy hour without knowing it. I real dining find in an unexpected place. The only small negative is that the rest room I used, while very clean, was not well designed.
If you happen to be in Sayre, Pa, or near there, this place is a real dining find. A nice surprise.

Room Tip: Just ate there. Not able to form an opinion of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had the Spaulding room in the back and it was OK - very dark and somewhat dreary. No closet or space to hang any clothes (3 hooks). Next to the Fire Station and when the siren goes off it can shoot you 3 feet straight out of bed. The restaurant was good and the service was very good. Breakfast was very average even for continental.... had to go out and find someone to get more coffee. Service in the Inn section was cool and indifferent. The owner and help sure could use a course in "Inn Hospitality". We were overcharged at first but was credited upon noticing bill. We go to Sayre often to visit family but would not stay here again. The Palmer House in nearby Waverly is much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The room was great, the house is lovely, great woodwork. I understand continental breakfast, but if you're not there within the first five people, good luck. I don't know how many people were staying there the weekend I stayed, but there were three yogurts, five donuts, a pot of coffee, among other things. When the milk ran out for my daughter's cereal, there was NO ONE to be found. I wandered throughout the kitchen and couldn't find any more milk or coffee. I finally went next door to the Dandy quicky mart and bought milk for cereal. Not worth the price I paid to stay there but better than some chain budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for one saturday night on our way to Penn State. Sayre is a small town, and the Inn is right in the center of downtown, between an Elks Lodge and a convenience store. It seemed to me more of a restaurant that also has rooms rather than the reverse. But that said, we enjoyed our stay. We did ask to change rooms since our first room was in the front on Elmer Ave, with a balcony that overlooked the parking lot of the convenience store. It could have been ok but we were concerned about noise. they accommodated us with a room near the back that was fine (and quiet). The room was clean, furnished with antique looking furniture and had a very nice , bright and remodeled bathroom.The breakfast was a continental, nothing too exciting but adequate and was included in the price. We had a little mix-up on the bill (overcharged by $20) but that was taken care of with an e-mail. The catholic church was a quick 5 min walk from the Inn, convenient for those who are interested in sunday mass. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked good and it seemed popular. Parking could be a problem as they just have a small shared lot in the back. We parked in the street in front and that worked fine. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would book it again when our travels take us to this part of PA.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairfax28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

To be honest we have never stayed here, simply because we literally live down the street. I can however say that the food is amazing. We have never had a single complaint about anything we have ever ordered at The BriMarie Inn. If you live in the area or are visiting, eat here, it's awesome.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punchkickbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I like the food but it needs more of something , the service was slow sometime way to slow.Also like in many resturants around Bradford Co I saw stealing from the place. I and my friends may still return here but we were surprized to see people bill's being torn up and some of the bar drinks being given away . In my view it is a nice place to visit and eat. It may be better if the staff was more on top of thing in stead of standing at the bar or jus totally jus disappearing..

Room Tip: call ahead, we got lucky..but very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayre
1.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sayre
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sayre
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sayre
Hampton Inn Sayre
#1 of 5 in Sayre
339 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Owego
Hampton Inn Owego
#1 of 4 in Owego
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BriMarie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BriMarie Inn

Property: The BriMarie Inn
Address: 119 S Elmer Ave, Sayre, PA 18840-2005
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Sayre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sayre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The BriMarie Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The BriMarie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing