We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm with modern comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mainstay at Saxonburg
Ranked #1 of 4 Saxonburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was our first stay in a bed & breakfast - it was a great experience. We had a room with a bath inside the room - apparently, some rooms have to use the hall bath. The room was equipped with all the modern accessories including a flat screen TV with Direct TV service. The bathroom was huge and included a jacussi tub. There was a double sink. My wife was especially taken with the chandelier in the bathroom - classy! A very comfortable place to stay. They served drinks and snacks in the evening but we missed them - out visiting with relatives. Breakfast was a basic continental breakfast - the blueberry muffins were excellent. There were plenty of conversation pieces in the public rooms on the first floor. There was off-street parking out back. They provided a key to the front/back doors as well as a room key so we were able to come and go as we pleased. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that includes the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1aCruise4wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

What a lovely b&b! My family was in town for a wedding at Armstrong Farms and we wanted to stay close to all the festivities. This location was perfect - it was about a 10 minute drive to the reception. I don't think there is a closer place to stay.

Our main reason for choosing this location over the other b&b in town was that all rooms had their own private bathrooms. We booked the Florida Room, the Safari Room and the Mission Room. All were beautifully decorated, clean and good sized. The Florida Room was a little more private - upstairs and really like a separate apartment from the main part of the house (it was actually off the upstairs deck so you had to go outside and cross the deck to get to your room). There was plenty of parking behind the house.

The owners are very nice and very welcoming. We were also greeted by the sweetest dog ever - Buddy. In the morning there was a continental breakfast buffet that included hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee, oj, muffins, etc.

The town itself is quaint. There is a Subway very close to the b&b if you need a quick bit to eat.

Room Tip: The Florida Room has the bathroom inside of the room. The Safari Room and Mission have private baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DES_travels_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had a wonderful experience here while travelling through the area. It was like staying at home, only more comfortable! The rooms are large, well decorated, clean, and very reasonably priced. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the breakfast the next day got us off to a great start. They even made special accomodations for us as we were travelling as a party of five including a four and six year old. I would highly recommend the Mainstay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickCola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

What an amazing b&b. I was in town to celebrate my Grandmother's 90th Birthday. Normally we would stay with her but there were too many family members coming in town. Staying at the Mainstay was the even better! The rooms and common areas are well appointed. The beds are of the highest quality. The bathrooms are relaxing. I stayed in the Pine Suite which has a spa-like bathroom that is incredible. I work in the hotel industry and can honestly say that the Mainstay is like staying in an intimate world-class hotel. From the amenities to the innkeepers to their great dog Buddy, it is comfortable and relaxing from start to finish. Thanks Brian and Jim for a great weekend! We will be back again!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
4  Thank skiing-beauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband and I were in town for a wedding, and we were amazed at this beautiful bed and breakfast. Our room was elegantly decorated, as well as the rest of the B&B. I particularly liked the mattress; it was the best sleep we've had in a long time! We also found the owner to be extremely helpful. This would be a perfect place to visit for a week-long hiatus of R&R.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spasc465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We cannot rave enough about this B & B. The Innkeepers will bend over backwards to make your stay memorable. Great cont. breakfast, a couple of glasses of wine in the evening and pet friendly! Make sure you have dinner at the Hotel Saxonburg. It is located next door. Great food at a good price. Also a trip to the Winfield Winery is a must. If your coming to the Pittsburg area you need to consider this gem.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RetiredRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mainstay at Saxonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay at Saxonburg

Address: 214 W Main St, Saxonburg, PA 16056-2253
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Saxonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saxonburg
Price Range: $100 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mainstay at Saxonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mainstay at Saxonburg Bed & Breakfast in historic Saxonburg embraces old world charm and country chic, creating unique experiences for business and leisure travelers, meetings, parties or special getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mainstay at Saxonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing