We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Ronks
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We decided a last minute get away to Lancaster. We opted not to book lodging until we got into the area. I read about Cherry Lane on trip advisor before we arrived so we kind of had a feeling of what to expect. Before checking in we asked to see one of the rooms. There was no hesitation from the owner Peter. He showed us a ground level room across from the pool. It was very clean with an outdated bathroom. They told us that the beds were 2 queens, but I do think that they were doubles. For the rate per night we decided to stay. The grounds at the Cherry Lane are very nice. Pretty flowers everywhere. The location of Cherry Lane was perfect to. It's located in a quite area where you will see the amish horse and buggy's pass by. The pool was perfect for the kids. It was a little run down and needs some repair, but the main thing it was clean. Our room was nice. 2 beds, flat screen TV and table and chairs. The bathroom was clean, but very outdated. The ac was located high up on a wall and if you wanted to turn off or adjust the temp you needed to stand on a chair to do that. The maid service was good BUT beware they left our room unlocked after cleaning. We came back from being out all day to find our door was not locked!!! They do serve a small breakfast each morning. It consisted of bagels, some cereal, danishes, muffins, and they had some bananas. They had OJ and apple juice as well as coffee. We enjoyed our stay here and we will stay again, but we of course would ask to see the room of we aren't in one of the ground level pool view rooms.

Room Tip: Ground level pool view rooms seem to be updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    152
    49
    27
    48
See reviews for
202
131
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I agree totally with reviews from Martha W and Edwin J. I chose this Motor Inn because we only had one day in the area and I didn't want to waste time doing a lot of driving. We started our day with a quick continental breakfast at Cherry Lane, which was just enough since we were looking forward to an Amish feast later in the day. Just minutes away, we started with a buggy ride and tour of an Amish farm. Then, just minutes away, we headed to the Tanger Outlet for shopping. We needed a "home base" for resting before going to our feast and on to the Sight n Sound show of NOAH. Cherry Lane extended the stay in one of our rooms, which allowed us time to take a breath, change and put our feet up for a little bit. The owners were so very hospitable and we are grateful for that kindness. For an overnight stay, we will return. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. I do agree that the carpets need to be cleaned, but I've paid a lot more in other hotels and had to say the same thing. Thank you, Cherry Lane.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbiePlus4More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is wonderful. The owners are so friendly and helpful. It is quiet there and the rooms are clean. We enjoyed sitting outside on the benches and watching the Amish buggies go by. The pool was clean and there was a swing set for kids. The grounds were beautiful. It was very reasonably priced. The housekeeping person gave us fresh towels everyday. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Upon arrival, we noticed that the motel was indeed compact and lovely, just like the motels of yesteryear. It completely had the vibe of being a throwback to the way it used to be when we adults were kids and would stay in motels with our parents.

One of the most outstanding things about this inn is the fact that it has a beautifully flowered courtyard in which your children can run around and play. The swimming pool is located adjacent to the courtyard and is pleasant as well. It is safe to say that the outdoor area is in very good condition.

My wife and I had a nostalgic flashback when we saw that the room key was actually a key; it even had the old style hard plastic marker with the room number printed on it! Contrary to what some reviews have said, the upstairs rooms are not difficult to find. The grounds are not absolutely sprawling across acres of land, so it really doesn't require a brilliant mind to find the staircase. An ounce of common sense will do nicely.

The room itself was spacious, and we were pleased with the layout. Possessing a window unit air conditioner, the room was cooled quite well and the unit was out of the way, so we didn't have to be concerned with cold air blowing directly upon us. The decor and furnishings were dated, but that's what gave the room a retro appeal to our family. We were thoroughly amused that nothing had changed in this quaint, little place. However, we did have amenities such as a microwave, mini fridge, LCD television, and heat lamps in the bathroom shower which allowed for a better experience. The only complaint that I had about the room is the fact that it quickly made my family's feet turn a shade of black after walking on it; a good steam cleaning should fix that. The floors were vacuumed well, however. There were absolutely no issues with cleanliness. We were very pleased to see that the bedroom and bathroom had no visible filth.

We will be staying here again, considering that the quality of the place is excellent for the price that we were expected to pay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had seen reviews on Trip Advisor that warned against this hotel but chose to overlook them thinking it is only for one night that I am staying - how bad can it be? We are not hard to please... Well, how I wish I had listened to the reviews! The only reason I did not give a "terrible" rating instead of poor is because the water in the shower was hot and the beds were semi-comfortable and the air conditioning did work (extremely noisy but it did cool things down). First of all, our room was so out of the way that we could not even find it and had to go back to the office to ask again where it was. It was down this long skinny corridor. When we opened the door, this awful musty smell hit you immediately and was even worse in the bathroom. We opened the windows and it helped a little - enough to make it bearable. The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed in weeks. We considered requesting a room change but we needed a room with the 2 double beds and the bunk beds to accommodate us all and were very tired so we chose to try to make it work. We did not see any bugs of any type or we would have exited quickly! My husband went to get a drink and some ice only to find that the vending machines were empty and there was no ice at all! There was no tissues in the bathroom, the toilet paper was very thin and rough as sandpaper. One of the headboards on the beds was broken. My son slept on the top bunk and when he laid down the light came right in his window shining directly onto the top bunk. We tried to close the blind but it was broke so had to pile pillows up on the window to keep the light out of his eyes. Thankfully it was only one night that we needed a stay! This is one place which we will not be visiting again unfortunately.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the family rooms with the bunk beds. They are old, outdated, rundown and ours was dirty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthouselover1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been staying at the Cherry Lane for several years. It changed ownership a while back and is better than ever. The location is wonderful. Its peaceful and picturesque. The rooms are clean and the owners are so friendly and accommodating. The front rooms have benches you can sit on and watch the buggies go by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed only one night with my 5 grand daughters ( 14,11,9,5 & 3) and cannot wait to return! After a long day at Dutch Wonderland ( 3 miles away) a quick 10 minute drive off busy route 30 to the middle of a farming area was so nice. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and decorated beautifully. We were greeted with smiles and the owners are very accomodating. We went directly to the pool which is a very nice size and the grounds are landscaped with vivid flowers all around. There is a small playground also! It was quiet and peaceful and the kids were thrilled to see the Amish buggys going back and forth right on the road. There are literally farms all around, yet you're only minutes away from restaurants and activities. We had dinner at Jenny's Diner, right up the road, and it was delicious and very reasonable. Continental breakfast is also included, very basic cereal, pastries, bagels etc however is was very well attended to by the owner. Tables cleaned as soon as someone left and nothing left to be refilled. The breakfast is a very nice touch and was unexpected at a small motel.
We aware also invited to stay and use the pool after our check out time, that there is a bathroom in the office area to change before heading home, the weather was not good Sunday so we didn't. It's a convenient location for everything in the Lancaster area like Strasburg Railroad and Cherry Crest farm. When we arrived there was an Amish girl in the parking lot with a wagon ringing a bell and selling home baked pies, donuts and whoopsie pies. The kids loved this and of course we bought from her!
You will not be disappointed with anything at the Cherry Lane Motor Inn. There is even a washer and dryer which I used to dry our towels from Dutch Wonderland. The kids want to go back for a week they loved Lancaster so much and I would most definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Second floor looks out on the farms and fields. First floor faces the pool and parking lot but you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronks
1.3 mi away
Eastbrook Inn
Eastbrook Inn
#4 of 16 in Ronks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olde Amish Inn
Olde Amish Inn
#8 of 16 in Ronks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#12 of 16 in Ronks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.3 mi away
Weathervane Motor Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Lane Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Lane Motor Inn

Property: Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Address: 84 N Ronks Rd, Ronks, PA 17572-9780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ronks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Ronks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cherry Lane Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located amid the peaceful beauty of Amish farmlands in the village of Ronks. We are just down the road from the country towns of BIRD IN HAND and INTERCOURSE, and only minutes away from the Rockvale outlets, amusement parks, Amish tours, historical sites, Lancaster County's famous PA Dutch restaurants, Sight & Sound Millennium Theatre and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cherry Lane Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Lane Motor Hotel Ronks
Cherry Lane Hotel
Cherry Lane Motor Inn Ronks, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing