We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open on Sunday's and last stop shop!”
Review of Dutch Haven

Dutch Haven
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Open on Sunday's and last stop shop!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

This was the last stop of the day before heading home on a Sunday. This is the only spot we know that's open on Sunday's and has shoofly pie. We love it here. We bought 2 shooflys, 1 chocolate pecan pie, 6 whoopies and of course a couple of I love intercourse pa keychains. The whoopies are cheaper in the back roads where the Amish are but the whoopies here were bigger and so yummy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacelovingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    72
    40
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Souvenirs”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We got the free taste of Shoo Fly Pie, it was good. We bought a few of the Whoopee Pies, very tasty. The real reason to stop here is for the great selection of - I Love Intercourse, PA - shirts and hats, and the ever popular - Maryland is for Crabs, Pennsylvania is for Intercourse merchandise.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucktown-yat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

See BBOED's review from October 2010. Two and a half years later that review is still accurate. If you don't know anything about shoo-fly pie just stop in for the free taste and leave. This is an over-hyped tourist trap. That man BBOED called "rude" must still be there. My wife asked a question and the man at the counter gave her a one word answer without even looking up from his newspaper.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious Shoo Fly Pie!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The lady behind the counter gave us an extremely generous sample of the shoo fly pie, after that we had to buy some! It was so good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grsteven89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Kitsch”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stop in here every visit to Lancaster. We enjoy the kitsch of the windmill and the kitchenn kettle/amish items for sale. The free taste of shoo fly pie with whipped cream and the friendliness of the salespeople is great. We invariably have lunch at Jakey's (behind the shop - in season) and come in for the free taste of pie after. I have purchased pies, homemade rootbeer here and Amish made potholders here. I have to say that it's become a part of our tradition even if not to buy, to just come in and soak up the PA Dutch spirit

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluize36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Haven also viewed

 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 
Smoketown, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Dutch Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing