We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weathervane Motor Court
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
chincoteague
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my 1st time staying at the Weathervane and it will not be my last. My husband reserved the room for my friend and I by reading the reveiws on Trip Advisor and we were very pleased. As others have stated the rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable and only a short walk to get my morning coffee. I can't wait to go back next year !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    171
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
255
254
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were visiting the Pennsylvania Dutch area with friends from Washington State, who had never been east, and we had booked two "nonrefundable" rooms with a credit card on the first floor at the Days Inn in Ronks. When we arrived, the front desk clerk had our reservations but not our rooms - he had already rented them to other parties and had nothing on the first floor. He showed us rooms on the second floor which were unacceptable (the rooms weren't bad, but the hallway leading to them was filthy and smelled awful), so he begrudgingly agreed to cancel the reservations.

We had noticed the Weathervane Motor Court across the street and went to check it out. The host/owner, Nick was most gracious, gave us keys to look at a room, and negotiated a very fair price as we were renting two rooms. The property is old, but Nick and his lovely wife, Shradha, are conscientiously rehabbing it, resulting in a complete renovation and modernization over time, even including a new dining room that will seat at least 25 people for a big hot breakfast, just like the large chains. Nick put us in adjacent rooms, away from any area of potential noise, and assiduously ensured that our every need was met: the rooms were immaculate with brand new beds and everything worked perfectly, including TV, wi-fi, and climate control. The only hitch is that they were upgrading the plumbing, and hot water was only available from 5-9:30a.m. the next morning. It WAS hot as promised, so NO PROBLEM!

The reason it's called the "Weathervane" Motor Court is that Nick has had four large, beautiful, high-quality copper weathervanes installed on cupolas around the property, and beautiful landscaping and flowers tended by Shradha, giving it a classically elegant look and coordination with this lovely rural area. {Weathervanes are a hobby of mine and I sell them, so I know what I'm writing about.} This property is a gem and, especially because of its central location, a great place to stay for touring the PA Dutch country.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat; in fact, I wouldn't stay anywhere else! I wholeheartedly recommend the Weathervane Motor Court to anyone visiting this lovely area of Pennsylvania. Feel free to mention me when you check in!

Michael Krakow

Room Tip: Just tell Nick what you need and he will accommodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

For many years now, my husband and I go to the Lancaster area at least twice a year. We have been staying with Nick and his family at the Weathervane Motor Court for many years now. Every year this place gets better and better. They are always upgrading the rooms and making our stay more and more enjoyable. The beds are really comfortable and the whole place is extremely clean. A great value for the price charged. It's our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munhall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Weathervane during the summer of 2013 and was very pleased, the room was very clean and linens were very fresh, but this Fall upon taking extra quest with us we were very disappointed and embarrassed about having a kitchen sink in our bathroom and it made it very difficult to shave and brush your teeth. I don't have a clue why someone would put that awful sink and stove where the bathroom sink should be. I don't think we will stay there again. I feel sorry the people (Nick) is a very nice man and the staff are nice too, the sink has to go.
Mike Sarraino

Room Tip: check there web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M6079GVMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable, large room---fine for one night. Smell of cleaning materials upon entering the room was rather unpleasant---we left the door open for 1/2 hour to air it out. Neither the alarm clock nor the microwave were set up to work correctly---and who wants to try and figure out someone else's equipment?? Parking at door is a great feature. Walking distance to very nice Olive Garden restaurant was definitely a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was the third time I've stayed at this location - once with a church group and twice with a family group. Both have indicated that this is where they would prefer to stay again in the future. The grounds are very attractive - 2 gazabos and many flowers (and a garden that my sister-in-law and I enjoy checking). Our family (4 siblings/spouses) especially enjoys being able to spend time visiting outside at the gazabos or on the benches located outside the rooms. The family/owners have always been very friendly - very helpful. The rooms have been very clean and have been updated. A nice continental breakfast is provided. The location is fantastic - close to the Sight&Sound theater and to the shopping areas on Rt 340. This motorcourt is a great value for the cost. Our family is planning to stay here again next summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was one of the cleanest places I have stayed at! When we walked in the first thing everyone said was, "Wow, it is so clean. It even smells clean." I was impressed by how spotless the room was, but especially how clean the bathroom was. The room was also quite spacious. The owners were friendly and helpful and you could tell they really care about making their guests feel welcome. I love that the motel is right off the main highway where everything is located (minutes from the outlets & Dutch Wonderland) but not on the highway. A few feet off the highway makes a huge difference. It was quiet, cozy, and felt very safe. We have found our new favorite place to stay near Lancaster. We will absolutely be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisona20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronks
0.1 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eastbrook Inn
Eastbrook Inn
#4 of 16 in Ronks
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
6.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Motor Court

Property: Weathervane Motor Court
Address: 15 Eastbrook Rd, Ronks, PA 17572-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ronks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronks
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ronks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Weathervane Motor Court 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Home away from Home"Welcome to Weathervane Motor Court, located in the heart of Amish Farmlands and within easy reach of the famous Sight & Sound Theatre, the Dutch Wonderland Family Amusement Park, the American Music Theatre, the Amish Experience, and various attractions.We’re also within a short drive to the Strasburg Railroad, the venue of the Thomas experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Weathervane Motor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Motor Hotel Ronks
Weathervane Hotel Ronks
Weathervane Motor Court Ronks, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing