We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, basic place - great location for theaters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weathervane Motor Court
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You'll never confuse this with a Ritz Carlton, but for the price, we were pleasantly surprised. Everything was very clean, the room had 2 queen beds (great when you have kids!), and the location cannot be beat...it is about a 3 minute drive (on the same road) to get to the Sight & Sound theater.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDHLAGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Weathervane Motor Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 696 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you are visiting Lancaster to see the sights and enjoy what the area has to offer, this motor lodge is the perfect place to stay. It is less expensive than most places, and the owner, Nick, goes out of his way to make sure that you have a good stay. The beds are all brand new and very comfortable, and the room was very clean. It may give you the nostalgic feeling of a old-time motor lodge, but you don't have to suffer old-time carpets or bedding.

We really enjoyed the inner courtyard area with the picnic benches, and the park benches placed in front of many of the rooms added a nice, cozy touch. We had a nice picnic breakfast before heading off to Dutch Wonderland just a mile or so up the road.

Ultimately, if I could give half stars, I would give this place 4.5 stars. The breakfast is nothing special (the donuts are fresh but not exactly nutritious) and, during this week of triple-digit temperatures, the lack of a swimming pool is more noticeable. However, the cleanliness, comfort, pride in ownership, and dedication to customer service make it easy to round up to 5 instead of down to 4. If every hotel owner/manager was as dedicated to cleanliness and customer service as Nick, we wouldn't need things like Trip Advisor to help us find motels worth the money.

In short, unless you need to be able to spend a lot of your time at the hotel, don't spend more than you need to somewhere else. We also stayed at the Steamboat Inn during this trip, and, while it too is a great place to stay, for twice the money you feel like you need to stay in to get your money's worth rather than head out to explore someplace new. The Weathervane is right off of 30, just north of the trains, just east of Dutch Wonderland and the outlets, just south of Bird in Hand, and surrounded by farmland.

The

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bahmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Weathervane was a nice place to stay. Staff was friendly, rooms looked freshly wallpapered and ceilings painted, overver all very clean. Breakfasat was a good start for the day. It was very quite. If there is any negitives i would say it needs a little coffee pot in the room(breakfast 7-10) I am any early riser and enjoy my coffee upon wakeing up. I needed to get dressed and walk across the highway at 5:30 to get a cup of coffee(5 min. walk)not bad but coffee pot in the room would have been nice. I would stay again it is a good value for the money..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cidvicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The scenery around the Inn was very inviting and beautiful. There was the smell of the farms around here but this is part of the ambience of Lancaster. This was a nice place to stay. It needs to have some updates and repairs but other than that the staff was very nice and very informative about things to do while in Lancaster. The breakfast was okay as well.
This was a very economical place to stay and it was quiet at night which was a boost as well!!
I think we would stay here again and I would recommend people who are looking for a value to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawgmom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I recently pulled into Ronks Pa. 1:00 in the morning needing a place to stay. My party included 5 adults 5 children and 1 baby, I enterd the Weatervan parking lot, pulled in front and was greated by a gentleman in the lot, he called for someone to open the front door. A very pleasant women let me in, she found 3 rooms for me, offered me a didcount, told me of thei breakfat room in the am. We were all tired from an 11 hr drive, rest @ the Weathervane was clean, quiet, affordable and pleasant after a long drive. When leaving the next day the same woman asked about the motel, was it clean, she told me of the upgrades they have made and are yet to come, she was very concerned about my approval. I have to say if you plan on being in this area, and want a clean, affordable, pleasant place run by caring people, make your stay @ the Weathervan, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: any room is great, we had three rooms, all clean with new flat screen tv's
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My fiance and I always stay here when we go to Lancaster. I noticed they have been doing a lot of upgrading, which is nice. The staff are so friendly! They really make you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several of the rooms and they are all very nice!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoosierladyus48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nick and the staff make you feel welcome. They are here to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are very clean. Each room has a large flat TV, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Great rates. It is close to everything, the American Music theater, Sight and Sound, Farmer's Market etc.
The breakfast is just what you need, juice, cereal, an assortment o f bagels, cream cheese, jelly, butter, coffee, tea and delicious donuts. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronks
0.1 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 39 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eastbrook Inn
Eastbrook Inn
#4 of 16 in Ronks
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
6.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Motor Court

Address: 15 Eastbrook Rd, Ronks, PA 17572-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ronks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronks
Price Range: $84 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Weathervane Motor Court 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Home away from Home"Welcome to Weathervane Motor Court, located in the heart of Amish Farmlands and within easy reach of the famous Sight & Sound Theatre, the Dutch Wonderland Family Amusement Park, the American Music Theatre, the Amish Experience, and various attractions.We’re also within a short drive to the Strasburg Railroad, the venue of the Thomas experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Weathervane Motor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Motor Hotel Ronks
Weathervane Hotel Ronks
Weathervane Motor Court Ronks, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing