We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weathervane Motor Court
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Be careful when checking in as we had made our reservations and prepaid through Expedia. Even with the confirmation the front desk attendant charged us an additional $10 per night for the child stating that she was an adult. Like a fool I paid it rather than fight it out. Well, the person who cleans the 2 rooms we had lost their tip, which she can collect from the front desk and the hotel lost future business over a petty mount. We spend enough on legitimate costs but not to be also stolen from on vacation.

Basically the place itself is OK for bare bones accomodations. Rooms are clean but with few amenities. No pool. Not much close to walk to except some outlet stores and mini-golf. You will need to drive to just about everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minkman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    163
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
247
244
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Booked several rooms to accomdate a touring group. Found the rooms understocked. Not enought towels or washcloths in the room - so we had to constantly beg the front desk for extras. Soap was dried and cracked - no shampoo in the room. Beds are hard as a rock. Found a spider in one of the beds. Hair on the toilets. Breakfast consisted of a FEW donuts to service the entire hotel. We received a complaint implying that our group ate too much - which was a donut and a cup of coffee per person. After staying for one day, we returned to the hotel later in the evening. We received a rude phone call from the front desk asking for more money!!! We had already paid and booked over the phone with Expedia. Apparently Expedia had booked the rooms incorrectly. However rather than work this out with Expedia, they argued with us trying to get an extra $140 out of us. Classic bait and switch! If they would have complained earlier, I would have pulled our group out and booked the night's stay elsewhere. But they waited until it was too inconvenient to leave (around 11pm) to call. There are plenty of better places to stay in lancaster. Don't waste your time or money on this place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TourGuide15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We spent three nights at the Weathervane Motor Inn and were generally happy with the experience. There were no frills or extras here (though you will get free wi-fi and a refrigerator/microwave in room), but we had a decent price (and it was available during the holiday weekend). The rooms were just recently renovated with new carpeting and televisions, but the room still smelled a little musty and the beds had definitely seen better days. Everything was clean and the staff was very nice, both at check in/out and when we stopped by for some extra towels. The location is very close to the outlets and there are lots of fast food/chain restaurants around, but you should really just take a trip over to Miller's for an awesome buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshin3daydr3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This old-style motel has the advantage of parking right in front of your door. Lots of parking in a very nice outdoor area. Many updated features as owner Nick keeps making improvements. Very responsive to guests to make stay as enjoyable as possible. We had some suggestions that were immediately taken care of. Location id perfect. Turn west and you are immediately in extensive shopping areas. Turn east and you are instantly in Amish farmland. Many things to do and very convenient. A good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speaker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ephraim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay and the price is right. Nick is always a gentleman and will handle anything you need right away. New carpeting and new tv's in the rooms. Great continental breakfast. The grounds are well kept outside with plenty of seating. Give it a try you won't be disappointed!

Theresa Babcock

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tab1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Our room was very clean. New towels each day. The staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was a little harder than what I am used to but some people like them that way. The carpet looks like its new. The only problem I could see would be to fix the shower head. They have great water pressure but it doesn't make it up to the shower head. The location was great. There is a farm behind/next to the Inn and also a convenience store behind it you can walk to in case you forgot something. The breakfast in the morning was great. They had donuts, bagels, cereal, juice, milk and coffee. There is also a fridge and microwave in the room and an ice machine that is located where they have the breakfast. They have tables in the middle with umbrellas and benches outside the rooms in case you want to sit outside. All and all it was a pleasurable stay and the price was GREAT!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justaregularperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

New carpets and nice, large rooms. Comfy beds. Extras like a fridge and microwave you don't usually get for this price. Everything's clean. Friendly folks seem genuinely happy to see you there. You can walk to Dutch Wonderland, the outlets and a million places to eat -- very convenient. Abuts a farm -- I liked the view of the sky meeting the farmland with the silos and barn in the distance. Free and good breakfast -- variety of bagels and spreads, really great donuts, coffee, juice and milk . . . simple, quick and does the trick. Free Wi-Fi (for which other bargain places charge $10 and day). I travel a lot on business and pleasure and would stay here again with my family or solo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronks
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.0 mi away
Eastbrook Inn
Eastbrook Inn
#4 of 16 in Ronks
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,874 reviews
6.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Motor Court

Property: Weathervane Motor Court
Address: 15 Eastbrook Rd, Ronks, PA 17572-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ronks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronks
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ronks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Weathervane Motor Court 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Home away from Home"Welcome to Weathervane Motor Court, located in the heart of Amish Farmlands and within easy reach of the famous Sight & Sound Theatre, the Dutch Wonderland Family Amusement Park, the American Music Theatre, the Amish Experience, and various attractions.We’re also within a short drive to the Strasburg Railroad, the venue of the Thomas experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Weathervane Motor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Motor Hotel Ronks
Weathervane Hotel Ronks
Weathervane Motor Court Ronks, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing