We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why isn't this restaurant in my hometown?”

Dienner's Country Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why isn't this restaurant in my hometown?”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

You wont be disappointed, for sure. Vegetables right-from-the-farm fresh! So satisfying; the buffet lunch is so reasonably priced and offers so much. Chicken, chicken and dumplings, ham, soups, salads, rolls - all hot, fresh, delicious. And wait until you see the dessert buffet. Oh my, the pumpkin cheesecake torte... I went back for seconds. But there was custard, chocolate fudge cake, more than I can remember; each one better than the one before. Absolutely wonderful place to eat. Loved it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missesval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    350
    121
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great buffet, great service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We asked several locals (including Amish) where to get the most authentic "Amish food" and they named two places: Dienner's (most locals classified this restaurant as Mennonite) and Hometown Kitchen (this was classified as Amish) in Quarreyville.

We chose Dienner's because it was closer to where we were and we were tired after a long day of travel and sightseeing.

We lucked out in that we got there at 5:30 pm and it wasn't insanely busy. We were seated right away. The premises is clean and dated. The service was quick and excellent. Two of us chose the buffet and the food was great, filling, and yummy. I actually called my plate of food my "Amish carb fest".

One of us ordered off the menu (classic burger and fries) and that order arrived quickly and was hugely enjoyed.

The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that other than the salad bar there is basically nothing for the vegetarian or vegan and the options on the al la carte menu are limited.

So keep in mind that if you are tired after a lovely but long day in the area you may want a full service, waited on experience elsewhere.

When settling our bill the Mennonite hostess was sincerely inquiring about how we enjoyed our meal, asked how they could improve, and very nicely gave our teens ideas for nice evening activities in the area.

Will absolutely go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pls1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortescue, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home Cooking at Reasonable Prices and Great Service.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I always stop here when we visit the area, this time we enjoyed their lunch buffet. It's not a large place, but they are always busy (a lot of locals eat here). They offer a large selection of items (salad bar, soups, chicken, stuffing,ham, meat loaf, mac & cheese, green beans, beets, and more, plus cakes, pies, and puddings). And you can't bet the price. Our total bill with 2 beverages was only $22.77. They are still remain on our great places to eat list. They are open Mon-Thurs, Sat. 7 AM - 6 PM. Fri. 7 AM-6 PM.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Locally recommended”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We asked a couple of locals where to eat lunch and they both recommended Dienner's. It's an Pennsylvania Dutch buffet and full service restaurant, just down the street from the more popular Miller's Restaurant. Better priced (so they said, though we didn't compare) with a full soup, salad, entree and dessert buffet, Dienner's staff was friendly, attentive and efficient. No strange dishes, just wholesome farm food - fresh salad fixin's, plus roast beef, fried chicken, baked ham and a dozen or more side dishes for the main course. Lots of parking. About 15 minutes from the Railroad Museum where we spent most of the day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Continues To Have Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The atmosphere here is very basic and homey. They have oilcloth tablecloths.

The menu is basically the same each night with the exception of Friday which features fried shrimp. We also had ham loaf on the evening that we went. It was outstanding.

The food is basic PA Dutch and is done to perfection.

If you enjoy desserts, this is the place for you.

The dinner at $10.50 is one of the best bargains around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trainman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dienner's Country Restaurant also viewed

Ronks, Lancaster County
Smoketown, Lancaster County
 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 
East Earl, Lancaster County
 

Been to Dienner's Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing