We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, respectful way to see Amish country”

Old Order Amish Tours
Ranked #3 of 3 Tours in Ronks
Attraction details
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful, respectful way to see Amish country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I selected this company from among the half-dozen I found on the internet because it seemed to be the most respectful and least obtrusive. The idea of traveling in a van gawking at the Amish men and women working their land and shops was completely unappealing. Tour director and owner Kathy Eshbach was very friendly, knowledgable, and totally accommodating to the needs of my family group, which included four French relatives, two of whom are non-English speaking. She adapted our stops to interest our horse-smitten 15-year-old cousin to include a visit to a harness shop, where Chloe was thrilled to see the operation and find horse-related paraphernalia to buy to show off to her equestrian friends in France. Kathy knows the community intimately and was greeted warmly by her Amish friends at our various stops. Having the opportunity to have 83-year-old Alsatian aunt Helene speak German with folks at the Fisher farm was priceless. After the tour, we took tips from Kathy on where to eat and what to see during our remaining hours. A lovely experience, and very highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Athena222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barboursville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was a very nice and very informative tour. It lasted about 2 hours and the lady gave us a very nice history of the countryside and Amish way of life. We visited the Fisher home and saw their dairy barns and were able to purchase som of their goods. Worth every penny!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank family3forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experience the Amish firsthand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I liked that this was a more "private tour" where you can actually meet an Amish family and visit their home and farm. The owner of the company was really nice and it was easy booking the tour with her on the phone. She charged us $55 for three people, which wasn't bad. The owner is not Amish, but she has a special arrangement with a particular Amish family, where non-Amish people like us can visit their home and farm.

The first part of the tour was a drive around the area in your car. The owner drives ahead of you in her van and you can communicate via a walkie-talkie. Along the car ride, the owner explains the culture and points things out along the way.There are so many unpredictable things that can happen and I'm sure no two tours are alike. We took the tour on a Friday, which happened to be laundry day for the Amish and we saw clothes hanging outside. We also saw some farming, which was interesting to see being done manually.

Thereafter, we went to an actual Amish farm and went into someone's home. This is what made the tour really special especially for outsiders. We got to meet the matron of an Amish family, Mrs. Esch?, and she was a really nice old lady. We went upstairs where they sold souvenirs of their handmade goods. The quilts were beautiful and priced at a few hundred dollars. The Amish appreciate your patronage and it helps them if you buy something.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank foodie4life13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“JUST GO!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is what you came for, right? You won't be sorry. Embrace the difference in cultures! Taking an organized tour is your best bet. I've been visiting this area since I was a kid and never get tired of it. The Amish appreciate your patronage at their stores and shops and it helps them be able to stay within their communities and flourish. Prices are good, lots of baked goods, wooden goos such as birdhouses and mailboxes and decorative items. Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GREAT HISTORY, LOVE THE AMISH COMMUNITY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Come here if you want to learn SOOO much about the Dutch community, you'll go on guided tours, look at what they do on a day to day basis, and you even get to see first-hand what they do!!! What a treat it was! I've learned so much! GO!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Order Amish Tours also viewed

Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Old Order Amish Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing