We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Katie's Kitchen

Katie's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Ronks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped at around 4:30 and we were the only ones in the restaurant & by the time we left it was packed. The servings are generous and very tasty. The fish & chips, ham loaf, and turkey platter were delicious. The eclair pudding was awesome. The only hiccups were the strawberry and blueberry pies. The fillings were delicious but the crust was hard and tough, like it had been overhandled. In response to MentosTFM, the servers were definitely Amish. Although the brand-name sneakers may not seem "authentic Amish", consider that these girls are waitresses in a busy restaurant and need to wear something comfortable that will also protect their feet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    183
    50
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great home cooking! Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband had the fried chicken and I had the roast turkey with stuffing and great gravy. The homemade rolls with the peanut butter fluff was yummy. We were too full to order dessert! Yes the waitresses are authentic Amish. Yes...Amish wear name brand sneakers! And the Amish work where there is electricity but they do not have it in their homes. They are sweet, authentic and hard workers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our best dining experience in the Lancaster area. The food was prepared perfectly and very good. The service was also great. It is small but well worth the weight. We loved the fried chicken.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and traditional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This food just charmed me away to the delicious food that my grandmother used to make! Tasty, delicious and - at least it felt, i have no way of knowing - authentic.

While the food was amazing, the atmosphere was not so much. For an Amish restaurant I think they should go all the way and at least in the sitting area, be void of electricity and Wi-Fi. All the lights sort of put a dampener on the authentic feel.

The servers all ran around in brand name jogging shoes, which also made the authenticity falter. The fact that we weren't really sure if the servers were Amish or not made the whole thing seem like they were only pretending, and thus we observed their Amish attire as comical instead of cultural. Again, it's understandable that they do, but I think it would feel so much more authentic if not.

Great food, acceptable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MentosTFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We loved the roast beef and ice cream! My husband Chris and I loved the service as well. We were there twice in one day for ice cream and dinner. Our first waitress Mari Beth was sweet and we wish her best of luck on her new teaching job. Miriam who was our waitress at dinner was sweet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katie's Kitchen also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Smoketown, Lancaster County
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Katie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing