We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Engines, cars and cabooses.

This a nice selection of everything train related. Steam, electric, gas and Diesel engines... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JimFan55
,
Oktaha, Oklahoma
via mobile
Definitely recommend for the railroading buff

This was my first visit in many years. If you are into the history of railroading in the US and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MoFan1
,
Media, Pennsylvania
Read all 987 reviews
  
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveler rating
741
220
22
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
741
220
22
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street railroad museum on display rolling stock huge building kids area large collection great collection train enthusiast love trains rail cars all ages toy train full size three hours gift shop great place to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited on a wet, windy day when we needed something for the kids to do indoors. There was plenty for them to see and do, from real engines and rolling stock to model railways, lego and toy train sets to play with. There was lots of room for them to run around, and the interactive train driving simulator was fun too. The gift shop was well stocked with options for the young and not-so-young railway enthusiast. Entry was reasonable, with discounts for seniors (65+) and AAA members.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Y2566NPdougb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

This is a great train museum! Lots of trains to look at with good information easily accessible. Volunteers were very pleasant and informative. You can easily spend several hours here.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank sabgkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

My wife came out here to visit quilt shops. I just drive the car and pay the bills.

Stumbled into this in between her shopping tour and what a great place. Really nice facility with loads of restored trains all under roof. Super clean. Super cool. Outdoors, an old steam train you can ride.

Bob K
Michigan

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank robertkE3385LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

During a recent trip I had the opportunity to visit this exceptional museum. For reference, I have visited other rail museums in Sacramento, York UK and Germany. This museum is as good as it gets!
The locomotive and rolling stock here is quite impressive and honestly would have created a very favorable review of a highly-enjoyable day. However, the ability to access various exhibits (GP9, GP30, cars, etc.) make this unique.
The volunteers here are quite exceptional and very knowledgeable. Visiting on a fairly quiet day (April 11) they took the time to get to know about my understanding of railroading, the museum details essential to know, and finally some great banter about trains and the local area. I have always felt that really good volunteers can take a museum visit from good to great. These folks are superb! As I visited alone, a few key volunteers offered to take my photo taken at various points of museum. And Dean was an exceptional host in providing the key elements and understanding of the GP9 to this old military pilot! Invest the time to take the cab tours as it is well worth the time; these guys know their stuff.
For openers, head towards the viewing platform above the museum via staircase or elevator. It provides a helpful vantage point for the visit itself. Also, prior to departure, take the time to exit the building and view the current locomotives and rolling stock in the Restoration Area. You can easily access this from the main building.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We just happened upon this museum & decided to check it out. It was very interesting.They have a large number of engines and rail cars from years gone by. The volunteers who assist in running the museum were very informative and friendly. I have no real interest in trains and was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the exhibits. I think that a family with children would find this to be a fun outing. You can explore inside a number of the cars.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Vjk2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews