We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit”

Yesterday's Restaurant & Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Renovo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yesterday's Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renovo
Enola, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Yesterday's is just that, a trip back in time. Nothing fancy, just charming downhome old YMCA that has been rescued and is slowly being upgraded where you can find a very affordable room, some with private baths. The diner downstairs provides a tasty fare of all the basics at a reasonable price and the addition of the Railhouse Bar off the lobby gives the old place an up to date place to watch football and Nascar while enjoying drinks and wings or many other food items available. On nice days you can sit out on the new deck with your drink enjoying the weather and people watching. It's located within walking distance to many clubs, (Elks, Legion, Eagles) the grocery store, and just across the street from the river which is a great place to take a stroll.
If you are looking for a clean friendly place to enjoy the mountains, this is it!
*NOTE since it is such an old building there are only steps to climb to your floor so not handicapped accessible for the rooms but the restaurant and bar are!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vowinckel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have been staying here since I discovered the ATV trails in 1991. When I first came to town, the town could be considered 'dead' by modern standards, and it has managed to seriously die since. When I first came by it was the 'Olde Kingsley Inn' and became Yesterdays later. Since the early time with a working bowling alley (yes, you read that) and access to a pool and gym(nasium) it has had less of those amenites, including the once 24x7 service.

Nevertheless, the menu is good for the price, the people friendly, the town looking to please in order to bring in income. I have arrived with trucks and trailers full of ATVs and no problems ever. In this town the people still leave bikes on the sidewalks, cars unlocked and doors open.

Each time I do arrive however, there is another 'tooth' missing. Some other building goes empty, cannot be sold or rehabilitated and is torn down. Some grand structures have disappeared, the most disappointing the railroad industries. Americans still refuse to embrace their heritage and common sense and the railroads continue to shrink for all but very bulk commodity.

Over the years I have made friends there who have died, or moved on, the town just cannot hold people long term now except railroad pensioners who are dying off a couple a week. I still make the time each night after dinner to lap the town at least twice and take in the changes I have caught in the tail end of its decay. It sounds sad, and it is, too many of these types of towns exist in PA and elsewhere, but something keeps Renovo going and this place is a key point.

If you are the type who would turn up your nose at a super-8 vs. a Marriott - keep on driving - in fact just being in these woods means you are out of your element. But if you are someone who has camped, hiked, gotten muddy on an ATV and come from a time/place where you walk to the store - stay here and eat here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our company recently held a conference at Yesterday's Hotel and Restaurant. I was very impress with their service. The buffet was delicious and the way they treated us was very nice. The hotel is not five star but, if you go there to have a good time and take into cosideration the way they treat it kind of compesates one thing to the other. For those of us who decided to stay a couple extra days I have to say it was well worthy. There is so much to do in that little town. You just have to ask and they will direct you to proper people and places. I will certainly be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrankieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Avoid This Place At All Cost!!! Run By Rednecks And Managed As Such. Filthy Rooms, Over-Priced, Terrible Food And The Unfriendliest People I've Ever Experienced. Old & Run-Down Building From The 1920's Era, Very Steep Steps - No Elevator, No Available 1st Floor Rooms, Not Even Worthy Of An Overnight Stay - No Way. People's Vehicles Have Been Vandalized In The Parking Lot With Goods Stolen. Avoid This Dump!!!

I Highly Recommend The Buttonwood Motel Located In Emporium, PA Which Is Only 45 Minutes West Of Renovo. Extremely Friendly Folks Over There, Accomodating And Pleasant. Priced Nice As Well.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G50FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Renovo is an old railroad town. It's very run-down and poor, and somewhat depressing to see. The scenery is great, though. You'll see a lot of hunters, rough-necks, falling down buildings, etc., but in general the people are friendly.

I have stayed at this "hotel" four times - there just aren't too many options in Renovo. The first time, my room was infested with ladybugs. Fortunately, I like ladybugs and I didn't lose too much sleep over it. I was bitten a few times during the night, perhaps not by ladybugs but bedbugs or spiders. Bathroom was a disaster when I got my room, toilet paper all over the floor, but I complained and was promptly relocated to a more suitable room. Paint is peeling from the walls in most of the rooms, some ceiling tiles were missing, and the bed sheets didn't smell clean. Don't expect your room door to lock or even close completely.

There is a restaurant on the first floor with cheap food and it's pretty good. There's also a bar, which was recently added, and the drinks are cheap. The bar is the nicest part of the building.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodolefamilyguy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Here is the skinny, The rooms are junk, plain and simple. the new owners are putting a lot of money into the place so they are making improvements which is a good thing. The rooms are small, Some rooms dont have their own bathroom, you have to use a community floor bathroom, the rooms are clean, but the hotel and everything in it is old, like turn of the century old. dont go in thinking 4 seasons you will be terribly dissapointed. i would rate the rooms a 3 on a scale of 1 to 10 they could be worse. here is the thing though. it is by far the best place that i am aware of in renovo. so although it isnt the best it is the best there and everyday it is getting better. the facilities other than the room are nice, it has a new bar with good prices, the restaurant is clean and the food is good although if you want a refill you may have to go get it yourself the wait staff is nice and friendly just not good at refilling drinks. The hotel staff including the owners are possibly the nicest people you could ever meet they go so far out of their way for you it is amazing. so when you add that all together you end up with about a 5 or 6 out of ten, if your a room rat and never leave it you will be dissapointed otherwise its not to bad.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodolefamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I've stayed at Yesterday's year after year for an annual reunion. Each year I put up with the dirty, smelly rooms - but this year is the LAST. I booked 3 rooms - and they put me in a different room then I was told about when booking. There was an air conditioner in only one room. There were no screens in the windows. On the second day of my stay we were not allowed to use the water or the toilets. On the third (and last day) they lost electricity due to a storm. No generator, no emergency lighting - instead they had candles lit - which might not be so bad except for the fact that their FIRE EXTINGUISHERS EXPIRED IN 1993 (16 years ago). They refused to refund any of my money. AVOID

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacyd511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yesterday's Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesterday's Restaurant & Hotel

Property: Yesterday's Restaurant & Hotel
Address: 100 3rd St, Renovo, PA 17764-1002
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Renovo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renovo
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Yesterday`s Restaurant And Hotel
Yesterday`s Restaurant Hotel Renovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing