We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service...well worth the trip”
Review of Union Barrel Works

Union Barrel Works
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Reamstown
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service...well worth the trip”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Been visiting here for years. Mango beer was awesome this summer. Love the trout soup. However my favorite is the crab cheesecake. Great place for a weekend drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A++ Casual, unusual dining.....wine martini's.....beer soups.....”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A friend introduced me to this place on a Fri nite. The place is old, rustic, original, beautiful! Ambience plus! We started out with a chocolate covered strawberry wine martini! I had the waiter repeat that it was made with wine! All their martini's are made with wine!!!! So you can drink a martini and not get as much alcohol as a regular martini, which I like because then I can drink more than one or two! It was wonderful!! If you like choc covered strawberries, this one's for you! They also have a long list of other varieties too. The french onion soup, made with beer, was delicious. Served in an iron crock! Loaded with onions. After that we weren't hungry for a full meal so we ordered burgers. Wow, must say it was delicious also, prepared perfectly. Their fries are raw cut. We definitely want to go back and try some of the other items on their interesting menu! Gigantic long bar, plenty of seating. And the piano player who came in around 7:30pm played such beautiful tunes!! He played show tunes, rock, movie themes, jazz, oldies....you name it, he played it....each song was a different type of music! And the waiter was spectacular. He was 55 yrs old, joked with us, told us his life's story, very attentive, very friendly, very knowledgeable....brought us samples of beer! He made our nite complete! I can't wait to go back and try some of the delicious items I saw on other people's tables as we were leaving!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Favorite place!!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been going here since they opened the place is beautiful and the service is great they treat you like family and the beer is fantastic I love the maibock the best but my husband prefers wobbly bob
The food is great and moderately priced this is somewhere you can go to relax after work it gets pretty busy on the weekends so make sure your there early they have great live music on the weekends.
Love their Beer Dinners they have.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The beer keeps getting better”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A Friday night at UBW is getting much more crowded as the locals keep coming and others find this treasure is worth the trip. Reamstown Lager was one of the seasonal beers tonight, this beer is a serious competition to Hofbrau, unfortunately, I could not bring home a half keg......yet. Consistently good food is a constant accompaniment to a fine brew and UBW is meeting the mark. I started with the soup of the day, a cheese, potato, bacon mix, just delicious. Thick, smooth consistency and an aroma of smoked bacon mixed perfectly with my lager, yet I am sure there were some other interesting ales that would have enhanced as well. The Caesar Salad was tossed perfectly, every bit of lettuce dripping with flavor. The Duck entree was a thinly sliced breast, drizzled in a tangy sauce that made me wish for more. Do not misunderstand me, all was great and filling, it was just "that good". We will be back, and you should too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Place for Good Food, Good People, and Good Prices”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the kind of place that gives pubs a good name. UBW has an in house brewery, which the owner, Tom, uses to make some very good beers. Its a family owned/run place, and its not unusual to see his family eating there, which is a pretty good endorsement in itself, eh? We go there for dinner when we want a really good meal at the kind of relaxed, affordable eatery where everybody knows your name. Try the fish and chips or chicken buffalo salad, or the wings cooked in the UBW BBQ sauce.. mmm sooo good. Their specialty is the trout chowder soup. They also often have live local music, and once a month a very challenging trivia game. Go. Eat. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ephratagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Barrel Works also viewed

 
Stevens, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Union Barrel Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing