We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed June 6, 2012

So gross .. I am trying to understand how there is even one good review on this place... The most filthiest neighborhood .... We left ... I was afraid of being mugged! The hotel is smelly and filthy. It should be closed down! Probably full of crackheads!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Km417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Abraham Lincoln Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 496 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

I am glad we chose to stay at this hotel. It is an old building but "with character" and the room was in quite good condition. We had a corner room with a king size bed and as the coffee machine wasn't working, we were given complimentary coffee for breakfast.
The area is ok, we didn't find it so bad as other travelers have commented. The concierge suggested that we tried The Ugly Oyster for dinner, as we wanted to have some beer and a sandwich, and it was a great. It's only two blocks away from the hotel and we not only had a great dinner but enjoyed some good Irish music.

The staff was very friendly and professional. Also, parking was free as well as wifi.

This is a perfect location if you want to explore the area around Reading/Kutztown or even if you plan to visit Philadelphia and you want to stay at a nice hotel but you are on a budget. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cintia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at the Abe Lincoln in May 2012 while visiting our daughter in the Reading area. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and convenient location. We only stayed 1 night but the room was clean & comfortable & we had no problems while there. Parking is right next door in a parking garage & the front desk validates the parking. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri52011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed in the Abraham Lincoln based on its closeness to Sovereign Center. Hotel said it was a block an a half to Center, was 5 blocks. Our room was on top floor, very warm even with AC blasting. Ice machine on this floor not working, had to go down 2 floors to find ice. Beautiful rooms, but asked ahead for a cot, came back after concert at 11:45 pm, still no cot, had to insist. Next morning, room service, very expensive, and tasteless. But mini fridge and microwave in room, do better bringing drink, snacks and breakfast with you.nGot parking ticket validated in hotel, then when I left the next day I couldn't leave without putting a credit card in the slot, so was charged again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitmanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is an older hotel but kept in reasonably good condition. You can tell it was a hotel of prominence in its glory years. It has a rich, magnificent lobby with high ceilings, two levels and a balcony that runs around the perimeter. The bar is small but quaint and has 6 beers on tap, most locally brewed. Top shelf liquor is also available. The elevators were wood paneled with mirrors in addition to being fast! I loved seeing the old mail slots outside the elevators on each floor. The rooms were spacious and clean. The parking was convenient and the cost not terrible-after validation by the front desk, its 2 dollars Friday and Saturday, 6 dollars the other days. The area its in is a little worn down and probably not a walk around area in the evening unless you're in a group but most of Reading is run down. Obviously it was a thriving city at the turn of the century. It may have lost its luster but not its charm. I hope it makes a comeback. A comfortable sleep at a good price in a convenient location. Give it a shot!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel, well maintained. Our room was a corner room (1215) with two windows, frige & microwave. Spotlessly clean, great bed/linens and quiet. Only drawback from getting an excellent review from me is its location. While I felt safe without question, I would not walk around late at night in this part of Reading. West Reading and Wyomissing are beautiful nearby neighborhoods however.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillthetravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Big luxurious room, very clean, quiet, no free breakfast but
resonably priced restuarant in hotel. Very friendly staff. Will be staying here every
3 months for business and am glad to have the peace of mind that
the place is so nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Reading
Candlewood Suites Reading
#1 of 2 in West Reading
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Address: 100 N 5th St, Reading, PA 19601-3497
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Hotel Class:4 star — Abraham Lincoln Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe's by Chef Alan offers casual and fine dining cuisine in the Restaurant and Bar located in the Lincoln Tower Apartments. The Presidential Ballroom and a Private Dining Room are also available for weddings, meetings, parties, and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Abraham Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abraham Lincoln
Wyndham Reading
Reading Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing