We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Historic Hotel, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Middle of the cornfields, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Historic Hotel, but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed in the Abraham Lincoln based on its closeness to Sovereign Center. Hotel said it was a block an a half to Center, was 5 blocks. Our room was on top floor, very warm even with AC blasting. Ice machine on this floor not working, had to go down 2 floors to find ice. Beautiful rooms, but asked ahead for a cot, came back after concert at 11:45 pm, still no cot, had to insist. Next morning, room service, very expensive, and tasteless. But mini fridge and microwave in room, do better bringing drink, snacks and breakfast with you.nGot parking ticket validated in hotel, then when I left the next day I couldn't leave without putting a credit card in the slot, so was charged again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitmanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    146
    109
    58
    48
See reviews for
110
135
28
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is an older hotel but kept in reasonably good condition. You can tell it was a hotel of prominence in its glory years. It has a rich, magnificent lobby with high ceilings, two levels and a balcony that runs around the perimeter. The bar is small but quaint and has 6 beers on tap, most locally brewed. Top shelf liquor is also available. The elevators were wood paneled with mirrors in addition to being fast! I loved seeing the old mail slots outside the elevators on each floor. The rooms were spacious and clean. The parking was convenient and the cost not terrible-after validation by the front desk, its 2 dollars Friday and Saturday, 6 dollars the other days. The area its in is a little worn down and probably not a walk around area in the evening unless you're in a group but most of Reading is run down. Obviously it was a thriving city at the turn of the century. It may have lost its luster but not its charm. I hope it makes a comeback. A comfortable sleep at a good price in a convenient location. Give it a shot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel, well maintained. Our room was a corner room (1215) with two windows, frige & microwave. Spotlessly clean, great bed/linens and quiet. Only drawback from getting an excellent review from me is its location. While I felt safe without question, I would not walk around late at night in this part of Reading. West Reading and Wyomissing are beautiful nearby neighborhoods however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillthetravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Big luxurious room, very clean, quiet, no free breakfast but
resonably priced restuarant in hotel. Very friendly staff. Will be staying here every
3 months for business and am glad to have the peace of mind that
the place is so nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Loved our room - large jacuzzi in bathroom - 'window opening' from bedroom into bathroom. Old building in the center of Reading with lots of charm and history. Top notch front desk staff. Reservations easy. Check in easy. Parking in city garage next door was convenient and discounted. Beautiful lobby.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get their best room with the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenandgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice historic hotel, still kept up nicely inside. Was here for a concert at the Sovereign Center. Had a jacuzzi room and found everything clean and comfortable. Convenient to many city restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jao988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I got a room here through Priceline. When we pulled up I didn't really know what to expect, the neighbourhood is a little sketchy and the one way streets make it difficult to get where you need to be. They could be a little clearer that you have to pull into the paid parking garage in order to check in but eventually we got into the lobby. A very grand lobby on a small scale. Check in was very efficient and friendly.

Our room was big enough, nothing special but we had no complaints. The hotel is obviously older so there is some wear but nothing too bad.

My son was intrigued by the mail slot by the elevators. And we were both curious about what is on the lower floors (the hotel starts on 11).

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenncca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Reading
Candlewood Suites Reading
#1 of 2 in West Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Property: Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Address: 100 North Fifth Street, Reading, PA 19601-3497
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Hotel Class:4 star — Abraham Lincoln Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe's by Chef Alan offers casual and fine dining cuisine in the Restaurant and Bar located in the Lincoln Tower Apartments. The Presidential Ballroom and a Private Dining Room are also available for weddings, meetings, parties, and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abraham Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abraham Lincoln
Wyndham Reading
Reading Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing