We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Hotel - Under Staffed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abraham Lincoln Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We took my wifes parents to Reading for their 50th wedding anniversary for 2 nights August 25-27, 2011. We had a show booked for 4:15 and needed to get in the room for 3:00 pm which was the check-in time. They told us to wait, but at 3:15 pm i walked over to the desk after waiting ofr one hour and said we needed the kwy to jsut put our luggage in. We got the key finally and when we got to out room we noticed that the room was even started to be cleaned.

Reading, PA was extremely hot and when we got back we noticed the A/C was poor, although it was on high. Our duvet cover also had blood on it. In the morning we went for breakfast at the hotel and the server must have been brand new without any help. We were the only guests having brerakfast and it took one hour to get our food. Do not eat there; go to the diner down the road.

Their parking is actually owned by the city so you have to pay everyday!

Room Tip: Go and stay at a chain hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kicker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 497 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

The staff was very nice and helpful and advised me to make sure they took care of the parking in the building to make sure I got the hotel rate. The lobby is beautiful and well kept. I had a nice room in the corner near the top floor. It was nice. At some point, the rooms are due for a makeover and certainly the gym needs a lot of work. There is essentially no gym if you need it, but the hotel staff kindly refers you to a nearby Gold's Gym where you can pay $5 a day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pzs200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel sucks! We were evacuated from NY due to hurricane Irene and HAD to go there because almost every single hotel in PA was booked. First impression is ghetto. The hotel is in a dumpshack with homeless people on the streets. Driving an escalade I felt very unsafe. Parking was at an extreme limited there were only 2 spots for oversized vechicals(SUV's) so we had to park on the street!! The room was dirty and dated. We slept the first night very uncomfortably. The next day we wake up to no breakfast in the hotel and then go to Hershey. When we get back there was a COCKROACH yes a COCKROACH on the wall we imidietly packed and left. The front desk didnt say sorry or refund us a total dissapointment. A disgrace to Abraham Lincoln.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel was nice. I was there for a convention and the hotel was packed. All of the staff was friendly to the guest. The bar staff was extremely polite. Food wasn’t expensive at all and the drinks were inexpensive. The room was good also. I had a king room that was spacious, clean, and properly ventilated. The bed was very comfortable. The only drawback was parking. If you have a SUV over 6ft tall, you will not be able to park in the garage. They only have about 5 spaces for taller vehicles, which is not enough for today’s drivers. Remember, this is an older hotel. When it was built, cars were nowhere near as tall as they are today.
Overall, I must say that the hotel is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getaway4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was a very comfortable hotel. The room was adequate, beds comfortable and room to move around and places to leave suitcases open. Bathroom was larger than usual. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again if the need arises.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Except for business or social obligations, I suspect about the only reason anybody goes to Reading is to shop at the Vanity Fair Outlet Center. Near this Center is a Country inn and Suites where we have stayed at the past but which can be quite expensive, e.g., $150, for a standard chain motel room. Instead we stayed at the historic downtown Abraham Lincoln Hotel, a 5 minute drive away , for $80. (Another guest said she paid $40 on Priceline.) I knew there was little in downtown Reading of interest but there are several pubs nearby. Well, it was Sunday night and the pubs were closed as was the hotel restaurant. The hotel bar was nearly deserted and I am not sure whether the kitchen was open or not. During a walk around town, we found that there was virtually nothing open in downtown Reading except for a dive bar on the main street. We had no choice but to drive somewhere so we ended up back at the TGI Friday's across from the Country Inn and had a very satisfying, pleasant and reasonably priced dinner.

The Abraham Lincoln hotel itself is showing a little wear and tear but overall is very nice. It has been thoroughly restored and our corner room was spacious, clean, quiet and had a refridgerator and micorwave. Parking is $6 a night in the hotel garage. The big problem is that center city Reading, like so many other small Pennsylvania cities and towns, is so drab, depressing, and rundown. There is nowhere pleasant to walk, nothing to do and nothing worth seeing except some large deteriorating houses which date back 75 or a 100 years when I suppose Reading was in its heyday. As a 'city' person who dislikes the suburbs I must reluctantly recommend that if you have to go to Reading (avoid it if you can - actually avoid all of Pennsylvania if you can), stay somewhere around their peripheral highways where you have the standard chain motels and hotels, restaurants, shopping motels, Home Depots and so forth. At least then you can imagine you are in any number of hundreds of cities across the US rather than in Reading PA .

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and check Priceline and the discount websites for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed 1 night July 20th. Check-in was easy and our desk clerk was soooo sweet. We asked about walking back from the show and she said that she does that walk with her son all the time after shows. We felt very safe on the walk back. We stayed in room 1604, right by the elevators, but the room was nice and quiet. The TV was a new flatscreen, bed was SUPER comfortable, we had a mini-fridge, and microwave if needed. Everything was clean, and I'm very picky about the bathroom being clean when I get there. We did eat in the bar. Prices were decent and the food was good.

Although the bathroom was clean, I had to tell front desk at check out that we had to stand in 3-4 inches of water in the tub because it wasn't draining right. We had a tough time figuring out how to turn the hot water on because our handle spun in a 360. Depending on where you stopped is when you got your hot water, and it took a few minutes to get warm. And this is my own personal opinion, but they need to have a mirror in the room somewhere (not on the back of the bathroom door). The mirror by the sink was totally covered in steam and there was no where else with a mirror to get ready.

I read other reviews that complained about the parking. Parking was easy and convenient. Parking garage is attached to the hotel, and parking is only $6, when you get your ticket validated at the front desk. Front desk did inform us that if we forget our ticket in the car (which we did) they have extras at the desk, but make sure you get one or the other because they will charge by the hour for parking if you don't.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and the next concert we go to at the Sovereign Center, The Abraham Lincoln will be our stay<<<< Thanks for a great night sleep and helping us with our questions. Your staff is wonderful!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlkitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
743 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Reading
Candlewood Suites Reading
#1 of 2 in West Reading
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraham Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Address: 100 N 5th St, Reading, PA 19601-3497
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Hotel Class:4 star — Abraham Lincoln Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe's by Chef Alan offers casual and fine dining cuisine in the Restaurant and Bar located in the Lincoln Tower Apartments. The Presidential Ballroom and a Private Dining Room are also available for weddings, meetings, parties, and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abraham Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abraham Lincoln
Wyndham Reading
Reading Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing