We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Dans Restaurant

Dans Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 310 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opened in 1989, Dans Restaurant has been well know as one of the best restaurants in Reading, PA. Now located at 2444 Morgantown Road, Dans at Green Hills serves a contemporary American cuisine with a French influence. Our goal is to provide a fine dining experience that is an alternative to the traditional Berks County scene.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had dinner here on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were seated in the Garden Room and had a nice view of the outdoor garden and seating area. I had New York strip, my husband had lamb, and our guest had salmon. We cleaned our plates. Kathy, our server, has been there many years and was quick and very engaging. Dessert was fine. It was a little pricey - we all had drinks, dinner, wine, dessert and coffee to around $220 with tip. Not too bad but not the kind of place you go to every week either! We will go back - don't hesitate. I'm already planning next year's birthday party for Dan's!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparker2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Public Relations Manager at Dans Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you all enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you for your next birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a little pricey”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a great dining experience. Our Lobster and Scallop Mac and Cheese appetizer was wonderful! We both got their specials: Veal chop (a bit expensive, but delicious) and Halibut (could have been a little more moist, but was still very tasty). We ended the night with dark chocolate bread pudding... Yum! Overall, the food was very good, but a little expensive compared to similar dining experiences we've had.

Helpful?
Thank BKS8843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Public Relations Manager at Dans Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal. Sounds like you ordered the specials which tend to be a little more pricy than our regular menu items. We hope our prices won't deter you from visiting us again soon. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“FINE Dining Restaurant with Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We found Dan's by accident, looking for a fine dining experience in or nearby Reading, and we were very pleasantly surprised by Dan's. Their reviews over the years have been mixed, so I gave them a shot. What a gorgeous old building!! They have a diverse menu, and everything's prepared to perfection -- we enjoyed the duck ravioli appetizer very much, and found the inclusion of an amuse bouche was over the top, classy and delicious.

The service was outstanding, bordering on intrusive, but never crossing that line (fully four different people asked us about our meal and experience during the course of the evening).

The ONLY real criticism I have is around the decor... you're in a 200 year old building. What's with the plastic flowers in alcoves along the wall??? You can do better!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Public Relations Manager at Dans Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Paul, Thank you for the review; both the praise and the criticism. Glad you enjoyed your duck ravioli as well as the service and hope you'll make it out to Dans again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Start 2014 off right”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

When to Dan's at Green Hills on New Years Eve. This was a 5 course prefix menu. Starting with Cream of Wild Mushroom Soup that was out of this world, next Lobster and Shrimp Mac and Cheese that was the best that I have ever had, to the Arugula & Poached Pear Salad. The main course was either Salmon or Fillet. I got the Fillet cooked med rare. The Fillet was one of the best aged Fillets that I have every had and cooked perfect. The 5th course was either Chocolate Pot du Crème or Cheesecake. I passed on dessert because I was too full. New Years Eve is a busy night for most restaurants and very stressful for them. Bill and Monir and their staff pulled it off with great Style, Service and Quality. Thank you for a great evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beegee059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Dinner was mouth watering! Everything cooked to perfection including the butternut squash soup, seafood riosotto, duck. Dinner ended with a delish dessert of warm bread pudding with ghiradelli chocolate. Service was excellent!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wawachalfont_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dans Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing