We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks like they rent this place by the hour” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks like they rent this place by the hour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Had three rooms booked for a two night stay for a short family vacation. Ended up checking out after one night. This was undoubtedly the filthiest, most disgusting place I have ever stayed. The rooms smelled of mold and urine; no working door locks or smoke detectors and the refrigerator had a towel in it to soak up the leaking water. There was one wall plug for the entire room which had a six-socket adaptor with six wires plugged into it. Looked like a fire waiting to start. Bathroom consisted of a toilet that must have been lifted from a high school gymnasium stall. Tub had black footprints and someone else's hair in it. Moldy black grout covered the walls and the soap holder was broken off the wall. I went to the front desk to request a can of cleanser and a sponge to clean my own tub and was asked to "shush" because I was too loud with my request!

Every public area is covered in filthy greasy fingerprints, even the entrance door to the lobby! Wallpaper is peeling off the brown-streaked walls and the room furniture is falling apart. I had to remove the mattress to check for bedbugs before going to sleep. At 10:45pm the local (one-block away) ball stadium set off a fireworks show. I thought it was a gunfight in the courtyard area and almost called the police! I lost my prepaid $285 by checking out one day early and the front desk refused to give me a receipt indicating my overpayment. Their excuse was that I didn't owe anything so "the receipt would just come out blank anyway". I called another hotel within hours after checking in here and moved immediately the next morning. The manager I spoke with at the new place I reserved said he frequently has calls from guests at the Ramada asking to move.

I didn't have the stomach to try to visit the restaurant/bar. There was a motorcycle club parked in front of it most of the time and anyway the room took away my appetite.

If you still want to stay in this place, I suggest you do it quickly before the Board of Health shuts it down.

  • Liked — The fact that I survived one night there
  • Disliked — That I lost $285 for checking out a day early
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjknjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    5
    40
See reviews for
16
5
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

I'd have to say this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. The facility was dirty and not at all maintained. We had a shower that would not drain. The first night we were there I called the front desk to have somebody come and take a look at the drain. Nobody showed up. I called again in the morning and again nobody. We had a wedding we were in town for, thank god a family member was just down the hall, my husband and I were able to take showers in their room. We finally got somebody to check out the drain in the shower on day 2. No apolgies, no compensations, nothing. The owner/manager of this place does not know what customer service means. I would stay away from this place!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Looking4Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

This hotel was possible the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. We were first hit in the face with the most horrible smell in the hallway leading to our room. Our children wanted to go into the pool, that was semi clean, yet no towels on the towel rack. The staff said they would bring some out. Never did. Even after asking again. Then we were locked out of our room, children freezing from the pool without towels, and the master key that the hotel had didn't work. We waited over a half an hour, still without towels before I went inside to see what was happening with our room, where I was informed it was open and they just neglected to let us know. The shower area in the bathroom was moldy and the tub has chunks of porcelin missing. The floor was obviously not cleaned for some time. When we called the Ramada 1-800 number they informed us not to make a complaint until we left the hotel because they have had incidents of people being treated badly and "other" things happening. Staying in our car would have been better. There are plenty of other hotels in the area. Try one of those!! PLEASE!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Not one single thing
  • Disliked — The filth
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

My stay at the Ramada Inn in Reading was a pure horror ruining my weekend. The room was filthy. There were cigarette burns that went through the top comforter down to the sheets. I would not let my dog sleep underneath the pilled and nappy blanket. Housekeeping come and change the bed, but the bed clothes were no better and we simply slept under sheets. There were waterstains all over the ceiling in the room and bathroom. The key lock on the outside door facing the parking lot was ripped from the door. The wall paper banner around the ceiling was ripped. My husband pulled the bedstand away from the wall and found a mouse trap. The phone and remote, etc. were so sticky I had to go to a local store and buy disinfectant wipes.
This place is undoubtedly mis-managed as the clerk at the front desk was completely indifferent to our complaints. He actually laughed which lead us to believe he agreed. Not to mention, we spoke to other guests who concurred that they had changed rooms and agreed that this was a horrible place to stay. In short, I would like to say that my weekend was ruined, as I could not sleep thinking about mice in the room.
Finally, I made it clear at check-in that we had already been charged for the room by the booking agent. We were still charged when we checked out, although my husband didn't catch this. We are awaiting the credit for the double charge. I had to call the booking agent to arrange for this. We should not have had to spend a cent for this terrible experience.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank staywell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

stayed here last year and agian this year. The price, the location not far from downtown ( if thats where you want to go) the people were nice. All in all, pretty good for the price.
The restaurant is not great. sports bar food. the property looks a bit old but it seems like it was renovated recently.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_ashbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

I'm used to the higher end chains through work but for this family trip we decided to save a little.

Everybody was really nice from the point that we entered, to when we asked for some extra towels and stuff, to the folks in the restaurant, to when we checked out. I asked the front desk clerk about what I'd read here and she mentioned that they had recently completed a remodel that management was consumed with. Not sure what they did but everything seemed to be in good condition.

I would stay here again.

-M

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — No Gym
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

Advertisted by Philly Bead Fest/Lapidary Journal we thought we'd have a pleasant stay. This place turned out to be a dump! We were booked incorrectly in a smoking room and were not switched to a non smoking room even after they were informed of their mistake and of my asthma & allergies.

The room was filthy! The bed had cigarette burns on it and the lock was busted on the outside door. They claim the place was renovated in 2005 but it looked as if it hadnt been fixed up or cleaned in 15 years!

The shower was falling apart and the floor was obviously dirty. They attempted to clean my room by spraying imitation lysol to cover up the smoking stench! I kicked them out.

The bar/restaurant attracted an unpleasant group by 9:00 PM. Thank goodness for the Papa Johns right next door!

Stay away from here at all costs!

  • Liked — There was nothing to like!
  • Disliked — The filth!
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this place at all costs!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelsByDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Northeast
Econo Lodge Northeast
#8 of 10 in Reading
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Reading
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 2545 N 5th Street Hwy, Reading, PA 19605-2899 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rodeway Inn Reading in Berks County, Pennsylvania, a thriving industrial community that is also rich in heritage and culture. Our beautiful hotel is located on the outskirts of Reading. We are the first hotel off the Warren Street Bypass. The area is graced with beautiful countryside and scenic country roads. Our city is home to the Greater Reading Expo Center, which is one of the largest regional exhibition centers on the East Coast. Discover Reading's unique history and diverse cultural heritage at the Historical Society of Berks County and Reading Public Museum. Plan a relaxing day at the Dana Memorial, Tulpehocken Creek Valley, or Blue Marsh Lake Parks. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you will find something for everyone in Reading, Pennsylvania.Our hotel offers the Legends Restaurant and Lounge, open Monday to Saturday from 12pm - 2am and on Sunday from 4pm - 2am, so you won't have to go far for a great classic American meal. Other local restaurants include Pizza Hut, Alebrije Mexican Restaurant, Jumbo China Buffet, and Charlie Brown's Steakhouse.Americas Best Value Inn Reading offers 80 comfortable and clean guest rooms equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, satellite TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. We also have a seasonal outdoor pool, exercise facility, and guest laundromat. Our front desk and lobby are open around the clock. We invite you to hold your next event in one of our spacious banquet facilities. Our friendly and experienced staff invites you to be our guest and enjoy the value of staying with us. At Rodeway Inn Reading, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Reading
Americas Best Value Inn Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing