We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Nice selection of aircraft, great personalized tour by Ron. Able to touch which was nice... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
dshinnick
,
Amarillo, Texas
via mobile
Love This Place

The Midatlantic Air Museum, for many reasons, is an INCREDIBLE place to visit. Mostly staffed by... read more

Reviewed September 13, 2018
PaleoGypsy
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
62
19
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
19
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air show re enactors black widow world war ii military vehicles flame thrower aviation experience greatest generation historic aircraft private pilot living history flea market unique experience food vendors open to the public on display one of a kind
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Nice selection of aircraft, great personalized tour by Ron. Able to touch which was nice. Recommended.

Thank dshinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

The Midatlantic Air Museum, for many reasons, is an INCREDIBLE place to visit. Mostly staffed by volunteers, the mission is to inform the visitor about the types and purposes of the airplanes. Additionally, the airplanes are linked to various wars and timelines in history, et cetera. It is tremendous to learn that the physical space of this museum is expanding – almost doubling in size. Another hangar is going to be open to the public in a few months. Our tour guide was fantastic. Not only was he knowledgeable, he was extremely passionate about sharing the information. He welcomed our questions and utilized the knowledge of the fellow visitors as well. While some of the visitors fly to the museum, others drive. Part of the collection is indoors. Part is outdoors. This facility is accessible to the physically handicapped visitor. While there is not designated parking for RVs, call ahead. With the surrounding fields they use for WW II parking in June, you may be able to work something out. General admission costs $8.00.

Thank PaleoGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We arrived just after they opened for the day. Fred greeted us and told us that they had guided tours available. Merlin, our tour guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable about the aircraft on display. We spent over 3 hours with him (the poor guy missed his lunch break!) We saw the P-61 Black widow being reconstructed. We can't wait to come back to see it fly. We also saw pictures of the WWII weekend and definitely want attend next years celebration.
There are so many aircraft here, they definitely could use some additional hanger space to house them all.

Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Tis is a gem for anyone who has ever been on an airplane or wanted to be! They have historical planes, fighter planes, trainer planes and all up close and personal! We had a great guide and it was amazing to be so close to these machines who have served us in so many ways!

Thank karenbnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

This Celebration runs from Friday through Sunday and is packed with activities all day long including air shows re-enactments, stage shows great performers, veterans displays, talks, memorabilia displays, gifts, mementoes, and lots more.

Thank nancyrP4754MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

A hidden gem in Berks co at the Reading airport. World War II days is a must see every June. Bomber planes, Reenactments, air show, music plus an incredible museum.

Thank KIM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

WW II Weekend spans the course of 3 consecutive days and is usually held on the first weekend of June. Due to the popularity of this event, shuttle buses are available. There is parking for handicapped people, cars, motorcycles, RVs, and reenactors. Otherwise, take advantage of staying overnight in one of the nearby hotels. Wear sunscreen and bring water. Food vendors are available to those who eat gluten. Food allergies? Pack a meal, and sit at one of the picnic tables. It is challenging to see everything in 3 days. The exhibits, concerts and airplane performances are impressive. I highly recommend that you go to this event.

Thank PaleoGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

I was wowed when I first arrived. The tour guide, Dave, was very knowledgeable and really gave detailed information about each plane at the museum. The outside plane were easy to view. The inside planes were kind of packed in tight making photographing very difficult. They are in the process of making new space and restoring the outside planes. Otherwise, it is a great place to see.

Thank JohnBCowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

The Man and I were in town for the Reading Lederkranz. We are so glad we had the opportunity to have a guided tour of the museum, hangar, and the air field. There is a wealth of history and innovation here that we found amazing. I enjoyed having a first-hand look at the engines. Make sure you have plenty of time as the tour is to rough. You definitely don’t want to miss out! Would definitely return—perhaps for the WWII weekend.

1  Thank bfromjerzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Great place for a day trip to see the planes that conquered Japan and Germany and allowed all of us to live freely. The courage it must have taken to fly these birds into combat is beyond belief. Inexpensive and easy to get to. Well worth the trip.

Thank Robbyremi19605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews