We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Find”

Anthony's Trattoria
Ranked #10 of 312 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Italian Find”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently ate here on a "date night". The menu had many choices, especially seafood. We stuck with the Italian selections and ordered Veal Parmesan and Ravioli. Veal was fresh and the ravioli was homemade. Good size portions. We were disappointed with the dessert selections, figuring that a place like Anthony's would have a wide selection of homemade Italian specialties. No such luck, as only 2 items were freshly prepared (others looked like SweetStreet desserts which I can buy anywhere).
The main issue we had was the smell of the place and the temperature. The bar area had little to no air conditioning, just ceiling fans. It made the area very hot and sticky feeling. The main dining area was a bit cooler, but still very humid/ sticky. I felt like I was in Florida (maybe that is why the crowd was >70). The lack of cooling also creates an odor issue, as the restaurant serves a lot is seafood/shellfish. The smell is quite overpowering when you first walk in and will turn some people off. They really need to fix the a/c and air circulation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MELPARTYOF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oley, PA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Love everything about this restaurant, the food, drinks, service and atmosphere! The flavors of the food are amazing. Don't miss out on the dough balls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just looking for a good bowl of pasta”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I decided to try this place after so many people told me how delicious the pasta was. After entering we noticed that the place smelled of cleaning solution - nice to know they clean, but not very appetizing. The pasta was over cooked and service was terrible. I think that maybe the good ratings are due to low pricing and quantity. Still looking for a good bowl of pasta!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lou g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We hadn't been to Anthony's for quite awhile so we visited on a Saturday night. We were surprised to find no wait for the two of us even with a singer/entertainer performing. My 4-course special was excellent as well as my wife's veal parmesan. The dacquiri drinks were large and very good for only $5.75. We love the decoration and atmosphere at Anthony's even though it doesn't change much over time. Our server was friendly and prompt and we didn't wait long for anything. There are other Italian Restaurants in the area ranked better than this on TripAdvisor but this is my favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoy Anthony's. The service is good and the menu has plenty to choose from - pasta, all kinds of delicious entrees or just a salad. The drinks are wonderful, and very generous! I would not hesitate recommending Anthony's to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SDE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing