We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely return to this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Reading
wisconsin
1 review
“Definitely return to this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

This is a good hotel to stay at a reasonable price in Reading. The staff was very accommodating. It is clean and quiet. The hotel over all was really good. We really enjoy our staying at this hotel. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovely0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We're glad that you chose to stay with us and that you found your stay very enjoyable. We appreciate that you found our hotel a good place to stay at. We would like to thank you for your interest in visiting us again and we sure hope that it's soon. We are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
10
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

This motel--this is not a hotel, no way--is in a ratty industrial area on the edge of a really rundown section of Reading, so the location is not good. A major rail yard is immediately behind the motel.

I booked a nonsmoking room, but the entire second floor absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke--it was eye-watering--so I had to stick a wet towel under the door of my room to keep the stink out. The filter in the window/wall heat and A/C unit had become clogged with the smoke stench weeks/months earlier, so there was no relief from it. The bedding smelled of it, too.

The keycard-entry doors on the side and back were completely unsecure. A slight yank and each door opened right on up. I was lucky enough to find a parking spot under a light near the front door, and still was surprised to find my car had not been broken into overnight.

Screaming children running through the hallways at 1:00 a.m. on a Friday night.

It took four phone calls, a 20-minute effort, to get the front desk to answer the phone to set up a wake-up call.

I will not be staying here again, and will tell my friends to avoid it as well.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Cigarette stink and poor security
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We would like to thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn. We would like to let you know that much has changed regarding our facilities and services since your stay in 2008. We have put much effort toward reducing the issues we were encountering regarding the smoke smell. Our air conditioning and heating units are working well now and we have also made sure that our security is tight as we want nothing but our guests' safety and security. We have also trained our staff to attend to guests immediately. With all the improvements, you will find it a joy to stay in our hotel again and we would like to welcome you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2005

My efforts to secure lodging near my meeting destination lead me to choose a Comfort Inn. This hotel will not delight a regular business traveler. My single king room had a sofa, micro-wave, refrigerator and free wireless internet. A comfortable desk chair was not provided and the desk was one of those 36" square tables, that are slightly too high to comfortablly use my computer. The carpets and sofa where clean, but worn out.
A heavy scented spray, used by the cleaning staff, was over powering and leaving the window open did not provide releif. The bad smells, the poor sanitation of the bath room made me check out after one night of my expected 5 night stay.
I moved a couple of miles away to a much nicer room for the same rate at a different hotel chain.

Helpful?
6 Thank Halton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
There were much to work on and improve in terms of facilities in our hotel in 2005, but we tried to make each guest as comfortable as possible during their stay. It's been a rather long time since you have visited us and we are happy to inform you that much has changed. We appreciate that you gave an unbiased opinion regarding your stay and that the points you have raised are considered and noted as areas for improvement. We would like to let you know that as far as facilities and services go, we have grown so much in the past 6 years and we can assure you that staying with us now will be much more delightful than your previous experience. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2004

We booked a suite with a jacuzzi after having a good experience with what we thought would be a suite similar to the one we had at the Comfort Inn at Quakertown, Pa. earlier this fall.

This suite was not a suite but a room with a bath and a small whirlpool tub (the size of a bathtub) in the room for approximately the same price as the one we had in Quakertown. That was a 2 room suite with a separate area with a couch, chair and another TV also the jacuzzi was the size of a 2 person hot tub. We now understand we have to ask the size of the jacuzzi and if we're getting one or two rooms. This was our fault for not asking when we booked the room.

The room was ok, but the toilet bowl was stained, the sheets and bedspread were clean but also has some stains on them. The carpet needed to be cleaned around the edges. It looked dusty. The whirlpool tub faucet leaked and the drain didn't operate properly. This was a smoking room so I understand cigarette burns on the tub but the underside of the bedspread had a hole in it also from a cigarette burn. The vent over the jacuzzi was full of dust. The heating/cooling unit had no filter or cover over the top of the unit.

On the up side the man at the desk was very good. He brought an ash tray to the room and furnished an extra pillow when asked and extra coffee.

I left a comment card listing my complaints and I'm still waiting to hear from them.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyManager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We thank you for choosing to stay in Comfort Inns and for visiting us particularly. We appreciate that you mentioned that there was a misunderstanding in asking for the room sizes/rooms and we have made adjustments in order for guests to easily know which room to choose. We understand that during the time you visited us, appliances and facilities are not as high-end as the ones that are offered in the market now. We are saddened by the fact that you deemed your stay undesirable but we have tried every possible way to make sure that guests are comfortable while in our hotel. We sincerely hope to see you again and that you will find your stay desirable this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Northeast
Econo Lodge Northeast
#8 of 10 in Reading
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
2.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
2.3 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2200 Stacy Drive, 5th St. Hwy., Reading, PA 19605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing