We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room, watch for extra charges for room safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Southside Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice clean room, watch for extra charges for room safe”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

My wife and I spent four nights at this hotel in early June. The rooms were very clean and appeared to have recently been refurbished. The hotel has ample parking and a small swimming pool behind the building. Air conditioning and plumbing all worked well. There are two computers in the lobby for guests to use and the hotel is close to shopping and restaurants.
The breakfast was good with cereal, waffles, eggs, toast, bagels, and pastry. On the days we ate, the fruit selection was limited to only oranges. I think the breakfast would benefit by having some additional fruit and some sausage or bacon to go with the other food.
I do have two minor problems with this hotel: If you are near noisy people you will hear lots of noise from the hall and from adjoining rooms. There seems to be no sound proofing between the rooms. The second problem was the surprise charge for the in-room safe. I did not see any reference to this charge during booking and only found it after I had signed my bill. The front desk did do a refund after I explained that I had not used the safe. I did feel that although the charge was small, it was still a sneaky way to pad the bill. So, be sure to look at your bill before approving.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roustabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    163
    71
    23
    15
See reviews for
183
151
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I have stayed at this motel several times in the past few months and find it to be very accommodating. The cleanliness is exceptional and the location is very easy to find. Rooms are large and roomy and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is good and there are both hot and cold items available. I would highly recommend this motel to all travelers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildbird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed here one night December 5-6, 2009. Excellent value, neat, appearing new motel, spotless. Fantastic breakfast, service, wakeup call, free newspaper, etc. Diner in front of hotel if you're still hungry. Hess gas station nearby with 24 hour convenience store. This motel was one of the top Days Inn in the United States until 2007, when Route 222 was split into business and residential routes (a new road was built) bypassing all traffic from traveling through Reading). Traffic on this business route was reduced, and the diner sold the motel. Since renovation as a Best Western, it is an amazing 'discovery' for the traveler who finds it. As far as a place to sleep, 'does the job perfectly'. amazing for the price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband & I stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday for 2 days so we could spend the holiday with family. We checked in early evening & the night clerk was very pleasant. Great updated lobby as was our room. The room was very clean. It had a refrigerator, microwave and coffeepot. A good continental breakfast which included self made waffles and instant oatmeal was included in the rate. All was excellent except that the recliner chair was not comfortable and our non-smoking room had a strong fragrance smell to it . It was very noticable when we walked in and seemed as though someone had sprayed the room with a large of amount of aerosol spray to cover up something. The scent caused us to wake up with very congested. Our heads would clear when we were out during the day. We are sensitive to these sprays. If it was done to freshen the room, I'd like to recommend the hotel stop. If it covered cigarette smoke. I'd hope there has to be a better way. If there had been no fragrance, I'd have given the BW a rating of 5 as this place is otherwise a great value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The hotel has been recently rennovated and it definitely shows. The hotel is very new, the rooms have new carpets, new beds and all the fixtures seem new too. I really liked that there were microwaves and small refrigerators in all the rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were kept very clean by the staff. Front desk clerks were helpful and polite when we needed directions. There is a free breakfast bar in the morning and the hotel is located next to a diner for added conveinence. Overall, I was pleasently surprised by the level of comfort and cleanliness in a budget-range hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We haved stayed in many places throughout the yrs from "top" name places paying top dollar to get the best....but I wish there were more Best Westerns like this around....because it is on the top of our list for one the best places we have stayed in. And the money we saved was well worth it...you know the saying you get what you pay for....not true here because we paid a low price and got beyond what we paided for...staff very helpful..fitness center is good...breakfast is simple but good saves money...rooms very clean..bathroom very clean...pool is great...restaurant outside is good...great location next to many stores and a mall and outlets...food places...hotel had great wi-fi..and a business room with computers if you do not have a laptop ... It is worth it..try it out...we searched every where looking for something at a reasonable price but we love to have a clean room also and we look at that at the top of our list because of our small children...and the BW passed the test....we stayed here for 5 nights well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyoNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna VA
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed with my son and his baseball team, and this hotel was more than accommodating for myself as well as the team. The staff was very courteous in helping us get to the field where we were playing. They had preprinted directions to and from the fields and a list of all the great eateries that are in this area.

Also, breakfast went above and beyond. The hotel offered a hot breakfast for free. Also, me and my son could eat as much as we wanted to. We played with the Berkshire Tournament and it we cam home victorious as well as satisified with our stay. I give this hotel a 9/10. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electric_kool_aid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Address: 2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607 (Formerly Shillington Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Reading Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Reading Hotel Shillington
Best Western Shillington
Best Western Reading Hotel
Days Inn Reading
Days Inn Shillington Pa
Shillington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing