We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed at this location on November 4 and 5, 2011. Our room in this large, four story hotel contained two queens. It was spacious and the furnishings/carpet were in good repair. The bathroom was in excellent condition with the exception of some damage in the wall by the tub. Room included a microwave and fridge and was a reasonable price. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Good variety of items available in the included breakfast. Only 3/4 of a mile from the 222 (222 Business) exit. A good alternative if someone is wanting to spend time at the antique centers of Adamstown/Denver. The travel time from the hotel to the Adamstown/Knauers exit is just over 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 549 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We chose this hotel as it was part way between Hawk mountain and Adamstown, both of which we wanted to visit so the location was good. The rooms were fine but both nights we were there the fitted sheets pulled off the King bed which was annoying. Only one elevator was working and it was extrememly slow, and the stairs were not in a convenient location. Also the ice machine on our floor was broken and we had to go up 2 floors to get some ( maybe that's why the elevator was so slow..everyone had to use it to get ice as well as go in and out of the hotel. On the 2nd day, even the ice machine on the 4th floor didn't work. Breakfast room was crowded and not cleaned all that well; I realize it was a busy weekend, but tables weren't wiped down at all.
Maybe during the week this would have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel a total of 4 nights during a vacation to Pennsylvania. We chose it because the price was right and it was convenient to both Lancaster County and Reading.
The staff were very courteous and very helpful with directions, information on resources we needed, recommending nearby restaurants, etc. The free breakfast was very good and there were lots of choices. There is a laundry room at this hotel which we were grateful for. The location was quiet and there are stores and restaurants close by. This is a former Days Inn and that showed. The sink is not in the bathroom, but outside the bathroom and rather inconvenient. Some areas around the tub needed caulking and areas of the walls needed repair or painting, but that appeared to be occurring as there was some painting going on in another room down the hall. The sink was very slow to empty and that was addressed very quickly after I reported it. I would rate this hotel higher except for those issues.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the back side as we're light sleepers, but the hotel is back a ways from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked here since I get a discount through my place of work. I was pleased with the hotel, not terrible. Things that can improve? Maid service, laundry room, the gym is tiny!!! and super hot in there "no air contidioning." I like the location, close to the VF Outlet and other local attractions.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Front desk are unfriendly, unwelcoming, the kitchen staff are the same however they leave a bucket out for tips. The rooms are small and to make matters worse, the sink is outside of the bathroom. You have to ask to get into the fitness room and pool! NEVER!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hotel was perfect for just the weekend. It had a nice location (out of the city), clean rooms, COMFORTABLE beds!, decent breakfast, workout room and pool.
However girls at the front desk were careless and customer service was not there forte. They were more worried about being tired and flirting with others than paying attention to customers waiting to check in which was annoying.
Other than that I wouldn't mind staying there again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelynn925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We used to book our hotels in Wyomissing but the Best Western in Shillington has WAY more bang for the buck.

PROS:
Clean rooms
Courteous Staff
Complimentary FULL Breakfast
Queen beds
Microwave & Mini Fridge
Outdoor pool
Free WiFi
Adequate parking
Restaurants & Shopping (within 10 minutes)

CONS:
Standard TV's
Fluffy Pillows
Out of Hair Conditioner

In this non high end hotel the staff was wonderfully professional and helpful, the room's air conditioner worked beautifully, even the shower head had adjustable sprays in the bathroom. The small sink and mirror is conveniently located outside of the bathroom and has clean fixtures on a granite countertop. Granite tops are also on the dresser and night table. The rooms are supplied with Pantene Shampoo & Conditioner BUT only one time. You can ask the front desk for toothpaste, shampoo & conditioner as well, but know that only Breck Shampoo or a certain brand of Shampoo/Conditioner combo is offered after checkin. If that works for you, great. If not, be sure to bring your own conditioner. The pillows are standard, clean and fluffy but not for our family of stomach sleepers. We forgot to bring our own and our necks reminded us every morning.

But the complimentary breakfast always made up for it. Bacon, make-your-own delicious fluffy waffles, frozen omelets that are microwavable, bagels with a choice of standard or fruit cream cheese, toast, butter, danishes, dry cereals, bin fruits, milk, orange & apple juices, tea & coffee all in a room that has CNN morning news displayed on an HDTV. On Friday & Saturday bacon was served. Sausage links were on Sunday. If you cannot find the bacon or sausage (many people couldn't and assumed it wasn't served) just know it's in a covered silver serving roll-top dish near the dry cereal OR just ask and it will be pointed out for you. =)

Downtown Reading is a 15 minute drive away. Gasoline, Wawa, Rite Aid and a liquor store is up the block. There's not much in Shillington but do yourself a favor and GPS 'ULTA in Wyomissing' and in a few minutes you will be brought to the areas of Restaurants & Shopping galore! From there you can GPS even more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Key Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
4.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
401 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Reading
50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites

Address: 2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607 (Formerly Shillington Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: $87 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Reading Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Reading Hotel Shillington
Best Western Shillington
Days Inn Reading
Best Western Reading Hotel
Days Inn Shillington Pa
Shillington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing