We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice play to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Villanova University
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radnor
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice play to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

A surprisingly nice, full service hotel, away from the traffic and noise. Stayed one night picking up my son from college. Had a spotless, roomy, well decorated, upscale hotel room. It came with a free breakfast which was very substantial - a variety of things on a buffet line, plus custom omelets; then a server comes to your table with coffee and juice. I did not stay long enough to explore the grounds, but they were lovely to look at. My room had a terrace and even overlooking the parking lot the view was wooded and serene. My room service dinner was excellent and the staff all very friendly. Considering all this, the room rate was very reasonable.
Two small issues: a little tricky to find the first time - my GPS blew me right past the discreet entrance. And they do hold conferences here; the dining room was booked for dinner for one of these (that's why I had to do room service) and the breakfast dining room was partially reserved for a group and they were standing around talking and greeting one another so not the quietest breakfast I've had - but those are really minor issues compared to the overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
13
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here on a college visit to Villanova. This is your basic hotel. It is visibly old, but still very clean. I recommend this because, well it really is the only option in the area. Great for a short visit, indeed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We found the hotel/conference center very convenient for our needs; oh to have been able to be there about a week later when the "arboretum" would have been in full display. Be sure to plan your stay so you can enjoy the wonderful breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful; it was very clean. We hope to return in May, 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel/conference center is set in a nice wooded area connected to an old mansion home. For those looking for a hotel in the Bryn Mawr/Villanova/Radnor area, there is not much selection and now there is a very nice one at a excellent price. Throw in the free breakfast and the deal can not be beat.
The rooms are nicely kept and clean. The room are not particular large but there are also balcony areas to sit. There is an exercise facility and bar/game room providing you everything you need. Staff was accommodating and pleasant.
The mansion connected to the hotel area is more for visiting unless you have a planned event in the mansion. We did walk around the mansion and found it very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smungallNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Found this by accident, possibly on TripAdvisor. Conference center owned by Villanova, connected to the old Montrose Mansion. Incredibly beautiful grounds, mansion rooms are open to explore. The place was unbelievably quiet, beds very comfortable, nice bathrooms, pretty furniture, great desk, very clean, very well maintained hotel. Keurig coffee pots in room. AAA rate of less than $90, included a full hot breakfast, with freshly made pancakes and omelets to order! Unbelievable! This was no dumpy place, very nicely furnished, breakfast in a large dining room with tablecloths, a waiter to deliver coffee and orange juice, just overall a fantastic stay at a next to nothing price. 10 times better than a HI Express or Drury or equivalent, and I love the Drury chain. I will never stay anywhere else when I'm in the Philly area, twenty minutes from airport, few minutes to blue route and Schuylkill Expressway, yet uncannily quiet. Just fantastic.

Room Tip: The main floor is actually #3, seems to me that's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LCEguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My son and I stayed here while visiting Villanova University. Excellent value ... clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly staff, and a full breakfast. It is only one mile from Villanova, so it offers a great location for anyone visiting the university.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 while visiting a relative nearby and was impressed by the quiet wooded location. The bed was firm and provided a restful sleep. The room was clean and attractive. The only thing needing improvement was the rather well worn carpeting. The continental breakfast with fresh fruit (apples, oranges, cut up melons) was excellent. I believe this property basically caters to both parents and students visiting the Villanova University campus which is roughly 3 miles away and of course to individuals attending conferences at the center. Front desk staff were extremely helpful; very friendly. Our 3 day stay appeared to be during a very slow booking period for the property and was reflected by the very reasonable room rate. We did NOT have to deal with kids and adults running up and down hallways screaming and slamming doors which is so common at the usual brand name hotels. We would most definitely stay here again and had in fact tried to set up a reservation for May 2013 but rooms were already all booked due to the University's graduation ceremonies. If you haven't been to this area before, be aware this place is almost impossible to find after dark!--even with our TomTom which had a listing for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGinMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radnor
1.2 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Conshohocken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Villanova University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Villanova University

Property: The Inn at Villanova University
Address: 601 County Line Rd, Radnor, PA 19087-4523 (Formerly Villanova University Conference Center)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Radnor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radnor
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Villanova University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Villanova University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villanova Conference Center
Villanova Hotel Radnor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing