We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokin Good!”
Review of RD's American Grill - CLOSED

RD's American Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Peach Bottom, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Smokin Good!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

RD's was opened in July taking the place of Valley View Restaurant. The chef,owner added a grill, smoker building off the kitchen and boy what delicious meats are advailabele for customers. My husband Bob and I took our friends to the Restaurant for dinner one evening , the St.Louis Rips and smoked brisket was out of this world tender and tasty. They make their own cole slaw and three kinds of beans for their great baked bean dish. The American fries are fresh cut and not greasy at all. The chef comes out to the customers and inquires how are dinner was. If a customer comments on a dish they like, he will make sure it is there when they dine again. The sald bar and soup bar is very reasonable, especially enjoyed the chicken mushroom soup and the chef's specialty apple ale chili,spicy but terrific. Bob and I had lunch one afternoon and loved the fried haddock sandwich and pulled pork with scrambled eggs. There is plenty of seating, with a side area supplied with booths and a counter with seating. Down the hall is a very large dining room, informal, great for families and meetings. I tried the peach crème pie one time and the Raspberry brownie parfait in a old fashioned ice cream soda glass unbelievable taste,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fast service for slow cooked goodness”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

You know you're in trouble when you can't make it off of the appetizer page without narrowing down a choice. My wife and I split the loaded bacon crab fries and the cajun brisket mac n' cheese for an appetizer- I could barely finish my Kennett Square Burger. A bit pricy but worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Everything on the menu is delicious. Breakfast is amazing, best dried beef gravy ever! BBQ is out of this world. Come hungry!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Down-home Food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant is about 6-7 miles from Quarryville but is an excellent food stop for those traveling north and south on rt. 272 in southern Lancaster County. Ribs, seafood, soups, homemade desserts are all delicious. Servers and managers are very friendly. Worth going out of your way to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best prime rib sandwich”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great bbq that you know was slow cooked. Waitress was very nice. Sides were great. Everyone was friendly and worked as a team.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RD's American Grill also viewed

Quarryville, Lancaster County
Quarryville, Lancaster County
 
Quarryville, Lancaster County
Quarryville, Lancaster County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing