We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quarryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've gone once a year for the past few years and have decided this was our last year. For the price you pay, you don't get a lot in terms of activities. We stayed in cozy cabins, and by the time we factored in food and supplies, it was quite a hefty bill for a long weekend. There were 3 go-carts for the track, and there's no staff watching and regulating this activity, so it can be hard for little guys to get a chance. Pool is crowded and the water looked dirty. Kids did enjoy the water park. Slip and Slide activity consisted of what appeared to be a black garbage bag and a hose. The whole place is jam-packed with campers, and there's not much in the way of wilderness. Worst of all is the horrible smell that wafted through our camp area: seemed to be a sewer back-up of sorts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafterpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    239
    61
    29
    24
See reviews for
921
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pylesville
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been to Jellystone 5-6 times now and will continue to come back. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our stay. Within the first 3 hours the electric was acting up and the breaker was tripping. We contacted the front desk and "Frank" the Maintenance supervisor arrived and fixed the problem in 10 minutes. He returned a couple of times within the first two days to check and make sure we did not have any additional problems with it. We appreciated the follow up and will recommend this park to many of our camping friends and family. Great job Frank and great job Yogi!

The Gainey's

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogilanc, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate you returning to us over and over again! Frank is a great guy and always ready to help you, our guests, with any maintenance or technical issues while you are with us. Thanks for the great compliment and we look forward to seeing you guys again here shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We camped here a few weeks ago and we will not be back. The trip started off bad as soon as we checked in. It took FOREVER to get checked in and the girl working behind reservations said she could not check us in because the manager had to? What's the point of her working back there? There are plenty of activities but they are WAY over priced and the Rec staff was too busy texting the whole time to even care what was going on at the activitie. And the activities only lastest a max of 10 min Definantly not worth going to. And not worth dragging my 3 children out of the over crowded pool. The facilities were very clean, although they were VERY small. We will not be backed because it is too over prised and not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpenter611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogilanc, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
While we try to make check-in as smooth and quickly as possible, sometimes there is a delay--especially on busy days like Thursday, Friday, and Sunday. Texting is a teens favorite thing to do and we will be implementing a cell phone drop box to reduce that issue in the future, thank you for bringing it to our attention. So glad you found the facilities to be clean and useful for you. Of course when the park was first built, we didn't know the potential popularity and growth that would come from it, so when it's hot and there are a lot of people in the pool it can become a little crowded. Thank you again for your feedback, it is appreciated and will help us improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been to two other Yogi Bear Campgrounds. Although this campground is higher priced than other Yogi sites and certainly more than State parks, we thought we'd save money on gas and the time saved traveling would make it close to even. WRONG! We rented a cozy cabin from Aug 11 to the 15th. This place wil nickle and dime everything. Many of the activites had a fee. The prices in the Ranger Station was outrageous. There weren't many activities. Saw Yogi 2X. Never saw Boo Boo or Cindy. None of the bears were at any of the activities. The only saving part was the waterpark, which was decent. Also, where are the woods here? There are a few trees around some of the cabins and camp sites, but I wouldn't call it wooded. Wouldn't stay here again. I'd rather travel further to another Yogi park or go to a State park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sensible57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Jellystone Quarryville in Aug 2013. For what you get...it's way overpriced. Yes, the bathrooms are clean, and the service is pretty good....but $150 for two nights at a basic W/E site. Then they nickle and dime for small things (pancake breakfast - tiny, overpriced pancakes, crafts etc.). Honestly, if you stayed in one of the lodges, you'd be paying as much as staying at Great Wolf Lodge (and trust me GWL is way better). The waterpark water is feezing...so unless it's 90+ degrees out, the climbing is not usable. We had rude teens cutting through our site regularly. We've been to 3 different Jellystones...and we're very impressed with this one (for the price we paid).

Pros:
-Clean bathrooms and sites
-Many scheduled activities for kids

Cons:
-Way too expensive for what you get
-Loud rental gold carts are a constant noise factor (gas powered)
-teens crowd young kids off the jumping pillow (they need separate times for young kids)
-Prices of milk and food in camp store (FYI - this place is in the middle of nowhere, so don't plan on going to a grocery store once there)

Stay at a Great Wold Lodge, Amusement park or Kalahari if you want a better experience. My review would be different if the place was more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teachers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogilanc, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are out in the country, but that's part of the appeal. We provide each guest with a campground map and map of the area so they can find their way easily to the nearby restaurants, stores and supermarkets. Most listed on the map are within 15 minutes of our park. I am so sorry if our staff didn't provide you with this when you checked in.
We recognize the need to separate the teens, adults and smaller children on the jumping pillow. Throughout the month of September and October, we will be trying new timetables for the jumping pillow to see what works best for next season.
We see that you came a long way to be with us and want to let you know we appreciate your visit and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay at the Quarryville Jellystone Camp Resort. We had two families and a total of seven kids ages 4 - 14 and stayed at tent sites 57 and 58. Being this was our first stay at this campground, we had very high expectations for our stay, mainly due to all the great write ups on tripadvisor. Yes we did have a good time and yes the kids did have a good time, however, overall the stay was a disappointment. First the good...the kids had a good time and were well occupied. Second...the staff is very friendly and work very hard. Third...the bathrooms (when clean) are great. Now into the negative.....1. If you don't get to the pool within 15 minute of it opening, forget about getting a chair or table. 2. There are many activities which are an additional charge; they are: Laser Tag, Ceramics, arts and crafts, pizza party, Pancake Breakfast (free at KOA's) not only not free, you want bacon with that...$2.00 more, Whipped cream..yup more money, scavenger hunt...well guess what...if you want to win you may have to purchase an item at the camp store...well you get the point. By the way, call me cheap if you want, but, for the price of this place...almost five times the cost of a state campground and nearly 40% more than similar resort campgrounds...these should be included. 3. Very poor location for our tent site. We originally had other sites, but due to an employee error, we lost out on it (as well as a different rate). If you want to experience what our tent site was, well just pull up in your driveway and put your tent on your front lawn. No shade, no privacy, these sites are a complete after thought in order to earn more money for the campground. Every other site in the campground seems to be private, filled with gravel, shaded....I really feel like we got ripped off. 4. We had one additional teenager on our site and had to pay an additional fee for the duration of the stay....pretty pathetic, considering it cost the campsite nothing except maybe a couple of showers....they even made additional money off of us after he paid for the extras. Can you say "RIP OFF!!!" 5. Forget about fishing in the catch and release pond. It is overgrown with algae and there is a sign posting about the dangerous snakes which are possibly present in it. Trust me...the only thing you will catch in this is algae. 6. The bathrooms...when they are dirty....well they are dirty. 7. if you are in the row of poorly thought out tent and pop up sites...there is no dry way to get to the comfort stations, other than walking all the way around the whole campsite...if you walk through the overgrown grass, your feet will get wet, especially in the morning, Some may think this is all trivial, but when you pay the amount that we paid, you expect a lot in return. If the amount charged does not meet the value of what you are getting in return, then the cost should be reduced. Once again, I am glad the kids had a great time, but overall, I am very disappointed with the stay. I will not be returning and I advise other people to lower their expectations prior to going.

Room Tip: If you are a tent camper...request a private site out of the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogilanc, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
You stayed in our most popular tent sites. When you camp at our park in a tent, you choose between shade and stone, and sun and grass. Most choose the sun and grass and use the concrete pad provided for their dining tent. Others do prefer the shade and stone and bring something under the tent to make it more comfortable. The earlier you book, the best choice you have of the type that you like.
Our rates include anything that you don't eat or take home with you and Lazer Tag. For the price you get unlimited miniature golf, the water park, pool, basketball, shuffleboard, gaga ball, jumping pillow, playgrounds, hayrides, horseshoes, volleyball, pedal kart track and many no charge scheduled games and activities. We include two adults and two children, and everybody pays for extra people, whether they are children or adults. We have found over the years of being in this business that this is the most average and the best way to price our sites and cabins. We try hard to provide a great entertainment value for families to come and enjoy. We do hope you will return to our park next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This has to be the best kids campground around. They had so many activities we couldn't do them all! The campground, facilities and pool were all very clean. I really like that they provided recycling bins and would empty them at least 1 time, if not more per day. They would do the same with trash that was set out. The sites were a nice size and were easy to get into. Only complaint is that the workers did not obey the speed limits when driving the carts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogilanc, General Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We just got this brand new fleet of golf carts, and the manufacturer forgot to install the thing that limits the speed! We are getting that done, for the staff and the guests. Sometimes people just don't realize how distracted with all the fun and freedom the kids have here, they sure aren't looking for golf carts, or cars zooming by. It is one of my pet peeves and will address the staff yet again. Our apologies for this blemish on your wonderful experience at our park, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarryville
17.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
9.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Strasburg Inn
13.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
12.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
11.7 mi away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville

Property: Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort in Quarryville
Address: 340 Blackburn Rd, Quarryville, PA 17566-9697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Quarryville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Quarryville
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yogi Bear™ and his team are looking forward to welcoming you to Jellystone Park™ in Quarryville! Along with providing the great facilities that Jellystone Park™ is known for, Yogi Bear™ and the staff have put together a special season of planned activities and themed weekends that will truly make this a memorable year. Our park is set on 63 lush, wooded acres that adjoin a scenic, 100-acre county park in Southern Lancaster County, the ideal spot to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Just a short drive to any of the Amish Country and Hershey area attractions, Jellystone Park™ is a perfect spot filled with family atmosphere and the memories that vacations are made of. Come stay with us and make family camping memories with Yogi Bear™ and friends that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Camp Hotel Quarryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing