We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“deep dish apple pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McCoole's

McCoole's
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Quakertown
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broad Street
tangerine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“deep dish apple pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

we meet friends there for lunch and all of our food was great .. desert was the best part I must say it was hot deep dish dutch apple pie with a scoop of ice cream on the side wow what a taste bud delight.. perfect crust crispy but tender apples perfectly seasoned with spice and the crunchy topping took me back to moms homemade apple pie.. prices were in line with other area restaurants but this was not a chain it was a family owned home town feel.. if in the area you should really try

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmysgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    74
    34
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Washington, Pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Buss Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We went there for dinner and were pleasantly surprised that it was trivia night. We had a great time our server was very atentative. Our food was good and drinks very cold. We sat outside it was very nice. We will definitely go back again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfv736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The mushroom ravioli ticketed the taste buds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Bloody Mary's were perfection with the bite of horseradish, the lobster Mac and cheese was like Mom used to make and the wild mushroom ravioli was the best we have had on a long time, exquisite. If you can't tell, we loved it. Sweetie and Rascal Pants

Helpful?
Thank Rascalpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great choice in Quakertown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Face it, there just aren't many good independent restaurants in Quakertown. Lot's of fast food, chain restaurants and lunch places but McCooles is an authentic sit down restaurant with a large menu and an in-town location. I visited here with my husband on a Wednesday night for an anniversary dinner. We had the crab cakes and the prime rib. I thought the crab cakes were very good and the accompanying green beans and pub fries excellent. My husband said the prime rib was good, but not the best he had had. Prices were reasonable and portions were largish. I took home a crab cake and some fries. One could easily make a meal with the appetizers and salads too. Drink prices were reasonable.

Service was very good even though the place was crowded. This place is very similar to the Brick Tavern, about two miles away on Old Bethlehem Pike. I think they've been owned by the same person or family before. Excellent choice for a meal before a play next door at the playhouse.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toobusytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
361 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“not cool at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hoping for a nice relaxing Friday night dinner. Made reservations. Arrived and couldn't find parking - that should've been a clue. Got seated in the bar, near the restroom and kitchen. Door leading outside right next to us so the patrons on the patio kept coming in to use the bathroom and the frenzied servers and staff ran by our table from the patio back and forth from the kitchen with huge trays - swearing and dropping things. Every time the door to the patio opened (and that was all the time) loud music from the patio poured in. We got permission (when a nearby table finished mid meal) to move to another table - but it was still the same. Relaxing...(sarcasm).

The service was sincere but not great. No settings, slow, had to ask twice for things...

The food was fine.

One of the least relaxing dinners I've ever had. Thanks, Mc Cooles. Not cool.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCoole's also viewed

Quakertown, Bucks County
Quakertown, Bucks County
 
Quakertown, Bucks County
Quakertown, Bucks County
 
Quakertown, Bucks County
 

Been to McCoole's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing