We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel, but cheap”
Review of Ramada Pottsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Pottsville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pottsville
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel, but cheap”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's the only game in town. The hotel was cheap. A/C was not on in the common areas (including the gym). Key stopped working at one point. A/C in room needed to be reset. Cleaning staff rode the non-service elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Miss Caitlin Y,

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I will accelerate your comment about the AC unit to verify if it is in good working condition and also about the issue with the keys that stopped working. I hope it that the housekeeping staff that took the elevator did not cause you any discomfort to you. however, I will submit your feedback to our management so that this matter is evaluated and addressed accordingly.

Thank you for your business and I hope we could have another opportunity to offer you improved services in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    146
    113
    67
    42
See reviews for
172
84
37
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed in. Reviews on Priceline made this hotel sound decent, but I knew I'd made a mistake by booking a room at this hotel immediately after checking-in and walking into the elevator... it smelled terrible and looked dirt. The room smelled weird and felt dirty as well. The small throw pillow on the bed had stains, but the worst part was the blood stain that I found on the comforter!! I took a picture of the stains, but can't figure out how to attach them to this review. In the morning, when I told the girl at the front desk about the blood stain, her response was "sorry about that." Seriously!? I wouldn't recommend this hotel to ANYONE!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurawylie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We would like to express our deepest regret for not being able to give you a pleasant experience to remember during your stay with us. It is our goal to show our guests that we are sincere in giving quality service that is why your feedback regarding the unpleasant room condition is most troubling to hear. Please know that this matter will be meticulously evaluated so that it may be given its due correction. Thank you for sharing this experience to us, and giving us an opportunity to correct it in the best possible way. We hope to give you pleasant memories to remember, should you reconsider and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pottsville hotels

Pottsville
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Air conditioner throughout the Ramada did not work. The reason why I even rated this a 1 was because the very nice staff had to endure with us. I had to stay 3 days due to our meetings being held there. I became very ill due to the heat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know how you perceived our accommodations. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion of our hotel and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I believe this was the old J C Penny building in downtown Pottsville - The renovation was poorly done - The lobby was musty, carpet in the hallway was not secured to the floor and the room was plain awful

Trying for quaint and missing the point is one thing but being ill kept and dirty is simple negligence

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I deeply regret to learn that you found this experience to be so terrible due to issues that should have been immediately addressed. It is our primary aim to give you a five star experience and it is disheartening to hear that this is not the impression we left you with.Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was pleased the evening I checked in, but the next morning was fairly bad. The in-room coffee dispenser was not only dirty with dried coffee residue, but dusty. Clearly it had not been cleaned in some time. I left my room to go down to the "continental plus" breakfast for my coffee fix. "Plus" turns out to mean "open boxes of frozen food in the nearby kitchen if you want anything beyond continental." At least I got my coffee, which was fine. Returning to my room, my key card didn't work, which meant I had to trek back down to the front desk for a solution. The final straw is the way I was advertised-to at every turn, regarding the hotel chain's rewards program. I payed you to stay here, not to for an opportunity to hear more sales pitches!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. I assure you that each issue mentioned such as the dirty coffee dispenser and key card not functioning is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time to point out the areas where we can improve upon the guest experience. We hope to see you again soon without experiencing these issues again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsville
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Midway
Comfort Inn Midway
#1 of 1 in Bethel
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Barnesville - Frackville
15.7 mi away
Knights Inn Pine Grove
Knights Inn Pine Grove
#3 of 4 in Pine Grove
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Pottsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Pottsville

Property: Ramada Pottsville
Address: 101 S Progress Ave, Pottsville, PA 17901-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Pottsville 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Ramada Pottsville is located in the heart of historic downtown Pottsville Pennsylvania. The Ramada Pottsville is a unique, somewhat boutique style hotel which features amenities for corporate, group and leisure travelers alike. This recently renovated hotel offers the very best in comfort with the all new Serta pillow top bedding, Moen shower massage, curved shower rods, upgraded bath amenities and much more /see amenities list for more details/ an on site hair salon, restaurant, business center, fitness center, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, complimentary Internet access, free USA Today newspaper and various room types to accommodate the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Pottsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Pottsville Hotel Pottsville
Pottsville Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing