We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of history - oldest brewery in America”

D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Pottsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It was the year 1829 when Americans were getting used to their newly elected president, Andrew Jackson, that 23-year old David G. Yuengling, an immigrant from Wurttemberg, Germany, settled in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, and started a brewery. Originally named the Eagle Brewery, today the Yuengling pride, symbolic of the American Eagle. Each Yuengling label bears the eagle trademark chosen by young David Yuengling so long ago. Previously located on Centre Street, current site of Pottsville's after only two years of operation. A new brewery was then constructed on Mahantongo Street, where operations continue today. The brewery remains family operated by Richard "Dick" Yuengling, Jr. and his daughters are being groomed as the sixth generation.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of history - oldest brewery in America”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went on a Mon thinking it wouldn't be very crowded. We were wrong! They had to split us into 2 tours - about 50 ppl in our group and 75 in the group after us.
You MUST wear closed toe shoes. If you show up in flip flops, they refer you to their box of sneakers you can look through to borrow a pair - kinda like the bowling alley. ha
On a weekday, the brewery is running. They still give the tour on Sat but the machines aren't running. This is the smaller of their plants but there is so much history here you don't want to miss it. It's FREE. No beer sold here but adults will get 2 free samples at the end of the tour. In town, there is a beer "outlet" (not discounted so not sure how they call themselves an "outlet") where you can buy some of the beer.
The tour ends in their gift shop. How convenient. ;-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    85
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Brewery Tour in Pottsville, PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Loved the Free tour of the brewery. Interesting place that included a tour of the cave underneath. Sample at the end was a BONUS. Caution: Lots of stairs. I'm not sure if I saw an elevator. The gift shop/museum has lots to see and buy, as well. From there we went to Cabela's about 30 minutes (or less) away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Surprisingly good 1 hour free tour of the oldest brewery in America! 2 free samples at the end. Yummy birch beer for the kids in your group!

Helpful?
Thank momdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great tour with friendly tour guides. A lot of walking up and down stairs though. I liked the cave and the tasting the best. Summer wheat and porter were my favorites. Great gift shop too. We stopped overnight in Pottsville especially to take this tour and it was well worth it. We may need to come back and take it again, as my husband accidently deleted his video of the bottling room.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChillicotheWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour of the Oldest Brewery in United States”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Visited Pottsville, Pa D.G. Yuengling Brewery on July 28, 2014 while visiting in the Allentown, Pa area with my brothers. Of significance to me was that my great grandfather came from Germany and worked at the brewery back in the late 1800's making wagon wheels. The brewery is on the historical register so don't expect a brand new sparkling facility. This place is old but that's what makes the tour outstanding. The guide was very knowledgeable and her husband worked there. Lots of steps and you travel through the old caves where they originally cooled the beer. The icing on the cake was meeting Dick Yuengling the present owner. This is the most gracious man and so down to earth individual I have ever met. He was very interested in our story about our great grandfather and wanted us to send him a picture of him to put in the museum. This guy is the real deal and I will not drink anything but the Yuengling brand after meeting him. If you can take the steps it is a must tour if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eeritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery also viewed

 

Been to D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing