We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oktoberfest”

D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Pottsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It was the year 1829 when Americans were getting used to their newly elected president, Andrew Jackson, that 23-year old David G. Yuengling, an immigrant from Wurttemberg, Germany, settled in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, and started a brewery. Originally named the Eagle Brewery, today the Yuengling pride, symbolic of the American Eagle. Each Yuengling label bears the eagle trademark chosen by young David Yuengling so long ago. Previously located on Centre Street, current site of Pottsville's after only two years of operation. A new brewery was then constructed on Mahantongo Street, where operations continue today. The brewery remains family operated by Richard "Dick" Yuengling, Jr. and his daughters are being groomed as the sixth generation.
Bucyrus, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love this place, it is the oldest brewery in the USA...The day we were there, a restaurant close by had their tapping of Oktoberfest Brew...The gal giving the tour was amazing, I loved the history of prohibition years, the cave was creepy, but very cool...Hee Hee, you could open a window and touch the catholic church...This place needs to be on your "Bucket List"...Woo Hoo, Ohio has Yuengling now too...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DramJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    87
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Summit Station, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Americas oldest brewer going strong”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The tour of the brewery reminds you how important many years of experience at producing a quality product can be. The best part of the tour is getting to sample the product.. Good beer and friendly paeple.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We vacationed in the Poconos in mid-Sep & took a side trip to the Yuengling Brewery in Pottsville - well worth the drive. We toured the Yuengling Brewery in Tampa a few years back & it was very good. This tour in Pottsville is great. It costs nothing (except what you buy in the gift shop), it is over an hour long, the tour guide is polite & knowledgeable & the tour actually takes you onto the working floor of the brewery. The building looks older than dirty when you pull up in front & you may start to have second thoughts about it – but don’t. Once inside you realize “old” is part of the reason you’re there. Visiting the old caves is wonderful. This is, after all, the oldest brewery in America. Everyone we met was polite, upbeat & knowledgeable. The samples at the end of the tour are always a great way to end a nice tour. We had to stop down the street at The Brewers Outlet and pick up a couple cases of Yuengling to enjoy at home. If you’re anywhere near Pottsville, this tour is well worth the time. Do wear shoes that are closed toe & heal or you’ll have to change into their loaner shoes – OSHA regulations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Free tour, Free beer, Great time”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently moved down the street from this attraction and I must say, it's very popular. The tour is free and at the end you get 2 cups of free beer, your choice of brew. Kids can have root beer. We took our daughter along and she seemed to enjoy walking through the caves. It's very informative and fun. Did I mention the free beer?

Definitely go when it's cooler outside though. No AC on the tour. It can get quite hot when you're in the buildings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HopelessMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
Level Contributor
322 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour of America’s Oldest Brewery”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Met someone on my travels through Gettysburg who highly recommended I shoot up to Pottsville and tour this brewery; I was NOT disappointed.

Joanna gave a wonderfully insightful tour into the Yuengling family history as it pertained to this business. An awesome piece of Americana.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernVoiceBiloxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery also viewed

 

Been to D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing