We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”

D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Pottsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It was the year 1829 when Americans were getting used to their newly elected president, Andrew Jackson, that 23-year old David G. Yuengling, an immigrant from Wurttemberg, Germany, settled in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, and started a brewery. Originally named the Eagle Brewery, today the Yuengling pride, symbolic of the American Eagle. Each Yuengling label bears the eagle trademark chosen by young David Yuengling so long ago. Previously located on Centre Street, current site of Pottsville's after only two years of operation. A new brewery was then constructed on Mahantongo Street, where operations continue today. The brewery remains family operated by Richard "Dick" Yuengling, Jr. and his daughters are being groomed as the sixth generation.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Unique look into a still-operating American company. Wonder old building in a also unique neighborhood. Good gift store too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shysure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    91
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
warwick ny
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A trip in time”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We drove west into PA along the Jim Thorpe HWY. Once we got off and headed to Pottsville it was a voyage in time. Coalville, St. Clair, and others gave a glimpse onto the past ; the buildings ,factories were great to see. And then we headed to one of the last American owned breweries (Bud, Coors, Miller, etc are not US owned).
We did a weekend tour (no production), but it was great; a nice slow tour without the clanking of production lines and a tour guide that knew everything about the brewery and its history. We finished the tour including the cellars and were treated to the sampling room. Minor children are OK (not like the Lion Brewery in Wilkes-Barre PA), they get a free root beer or cream soda. The tasting room is not rushed and you'll get samples of beers that are not generally found outside this area. And, the bartender knew about the recipes and the brew cycles of the various beers he poured.
We stayed locally at the Ramada and it had a game room on the second floor. We ate locally at a pizza place and had Penne Pasta, Bread and butter, 3 Yeunglings. The bill was Under $12.00! And, therir maranara sauce should be bottled and sold; it was the best we've had.
The whole trip was inexpensive and well worth the time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank justthefaxmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Industry, History and Beer!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

During a road trip I made a side trip to visit the gift shop (my daughter is a HUGE fan of Yuengling). What was planned as a brief stopover turned into an event. I found terrific stuff at an attractive range of prices, but the best part was the 2 hour tour. Such an interesting story with GOBS of history told by a very friendly employee. You don't have to be a Yuengling's fan (or even a fan of beer) to appreciate the story told here. And, if you're not a Yuengling's fan, you may become one after trying the samples at the end of the tour.
Be warned - the tour is NOT handicapped accessible and it DOES involve a lot of stair climbing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yuengling Experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I planned a trip to the Yuengling Brewery for my husband’s Birthday. Yuengling has been his favorite beer and ironically enough a few months prior I received an email from Tripadvisor for wine or beer? It had a link to the top 10 breweries and my birthday planning went into full effect. From where we are located it was only about a 2 hour drive but felt worlds apart. Not in a bad way but just different than what we are used to. It’s a small town feel with a lot of open space and not a ton going on. The brewery is located right on a quiet residential street in Pottsville. The tours take place every 50 people and we did not have much of a wait. Make sure that you wear closed shoes or they will not let you on the tour and prepared for a lot of steps. Our tour guide was very nice and allowed for us to ask questions etc. It was interesting to see the old caves and learn about the history. We loved that they allowed for pictures and we did not feel rushed during the tour. The downfall was they are not in production on the weekends so we didn't have the chance to actually see things in action. We would have liked to see them go into more specific information as to what ingredients are used during the brewing process. It is also not an interactive tour. It was neat to see the old Yuengling Ice Cream factory across the street that they used during prohibition. However, it would have been more of an added bonus to see the abandon building turned into a museum of some sort or still be utilized by the Yuengling family. Overall we had a nice time and enjoyed seeing America’s oldest brewery.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rizingsun03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a horrible experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just traveled 2 hours out of our way on a trip from Dallas to Lewisburg to tour the brewery. We were 5 minutes late to the "tour" and were turned away. Not only were we told to "just come back tomorrow" but we were cussed at as well for coming into the tap room while looking for the tour. Becca should be reprimanded if not fired, as her attitude was not acceptable and I'm sure not what Yuengling would want to represent their brand and great American tradition. I am currently at a pizza restaurant in Pottsville, drinking an ice cold Coors Light because they know how to be hospitable to out of town guests. Please do not waste your time coming to tour this brewery, as your business and brand loyalty will not be appreciated.





Helpful?
Thank Nickles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery also viewed

 

Been to D.G. Yuengling and Son Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing