We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One my of the most unlikeable people I have ever met”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pottsville Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Pottsville B&B and Inns
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One my of the most unlikeable people I have ever met”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have stayed here a few times while doing photography trips in the area, we are two single guys traveling and are willing to accept low standards for a cheap price.

At this point I can't stand the owner of this dump. He is one of the least friendly people I have ever met. Considering that we have actually returned to this wreck of a hotel you would think that we would get some sort of recognition when we arrive. Nothing, this guy acts as if he has never seen us before. The whole place just gives us the creeps and even with our low standards we will look elsewhere for a place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buggjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    4
    20
See reviews for
6
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Innisfil, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Arrived at this dump late May 8 2012 with a prepaid travelocity reservation. First - it was suggested that I booked a smoking room. The printed reservation definitely stated non-smoking. Next - a request for a $5. key deposit. Then I endeavoured to contact Travelocity, which was answered by a recording and their music channel - costing $22. on my pay-as-you-go phone. Finally, I paid the $5. for the key with abit of a receipt. Then the room #151 - cold, damp, musty stench - where the heater didn't work only the fan roared. When I rolled back the bedspread it was stained. There was no possibility of taking a chance of checking the sheet. Thankfully, my sleeping bag was in the car and I slept on top of the bedding. Next, in the washroom I tackled the moth on the wall. No craft in the coffee maker; no tissue in the holder and no hair blower in that bracket. The microwave was on the floor. Everything really grungy!. Next morning - no one in the office to return the $5 deposit - I rang the bell and waited for the the grumpy owner to answer - truly a nightmare!

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms are crappy. Also, I will hesitate to trust travelocity's 100% guara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pottsville hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Pottsville Motor Inn is in terrible condition, at least room 107 is. It's the kind of degradation that takes years. Upon entry, there was a smoky/chemical odor. The compact fluorescent lights are all too dim. Acoustic tile ceilings are warped. Trim paint is badly worn. The wool blanket is so worn out it would be rejected by Goodwill. The sheets were clean though. More subjectively, it's "yucky" or "icky" or whatever word you use for a place that makes you think every time you need to touch a surface. You will want to keep your shoes on to walk on the rugs or bath floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATravelerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here because we didn't make reservations before leaving home and it was a Pocono Raceway weekend, so there were no hotel rooms anywhere in NE PA.
This is the sort of motel that you want to put all of the furniture up against the door, because it wouldn't take much effort to get in. It's also the sort of place that advertises weekly and monthly rates, which is a good tip-off right away what kind of hotel it is.
While there were cigarette burns in my blanket, I didn't find the bathroom to be unclean, just kind of dark and out-dated.
There is free wi-fi, which did make a bad situation a lot better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

All of the reviews are so true, actually stayed at the hotel back in 2008 winter. Working as a contract nurse at the local hospital. The owner of the hotel is everything ppl say he is, rude, cheap and dirty. Everytime I checked in at the hotel it was a major ordeal, always reminding him of my co. paying for the hotel room. When in the room you basically had to de-louse it, if thats a word, disinfect, clean the fridge micorwave and basically a entire can of febreeze. The best was when I would be at work and this was in february, he would come into the room and turn off the heat, what a jerk, working all night then arrive at my ice cold room to find the heat on "off"...knowing I didn't turn it off!!!...The best was a snow storm in the hell hole town of pottsville pa, which is a city of hills. Worked all night, arrived at the hotel and not plowed of snow!!!! luckily got a nice running start and made up hill. The owner doesn't hire a plow company he snow blows the lot!!!! All comments on the hotel are true, basically a tent at the local campground would be cleaner and safer......beware...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The motel is average. What else could you expect for $50? It was clean which was good, a bit smelly (I think because of the carpet) and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakaslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I planned a weekend away in Pennsylvania last summer and wanted to make it a dual purpose trip -- see two of our favorite bands play together in Hershey and finally experience the former town/ghost town of Centralia. We located a town somewhat between both and ended up booking two nights at the Pottsville Motor Inn.

We pulled into the parking lot & it looked like any other low to mid priced motel from the outside. The manager on duty alerted us to a key deposit that was never mentioned anywhere when I booked through Travelocity, only $5 but it was lucky we had cash because he wasn't giving us the room without this deposit. He was rude, never smiled, and I had to mention our confirmation twice to remind him he was trying to overcharge us for the room. We did get our $5 back when we checked out.

The room smelled like the armpit of a wildebeest, likely because the window was glued shut. I couldn't walk barefoot on the carpet (and because this is a family friendly website I won't say what I thought might be all over the floor but needless to say it certainly helped contribute to the smell in the room). Worst of all was the bathroom. In the middle of the floor was an enormous purplish-gray stain that I would have bet my last dollar was their attempt at cleaning up a crime scene. No joke, I even took photos (attached) just in case a time ever came that we were questioned. They should have used more bleach. The water pressure in the shower was decent but the tub filled up quickly. The toilet wouldn't stop running and we had to shut it off at the valve.

The bed was typical for a motel bed (slightly lumpy and squeaky but not overly uncomfortable, just not home). Surprisingly the sheets felt and smelled clean and, although they were like sandpaper, I can say the same about the towels.

There was a dorm sized fridge that worked and a TV (with basic cable) which was good. The staff provided coffee packets and a coffee maker as well but the coffee maker hadn't been rinsed out for what appeared to be 6 months.

Bottom line, any positive rating I gave this place was solely due to its proximity to the things we wanted to see and do in central PA. If possible I would have given zeros to everything else. Don't waste your money or sanity on this poor excuse for a place to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsville
0.7 mi away
Ramada Pottsville
Ramada Pottsville
#2 of 2 in Pottsville
446 reviews
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Barnesville - Frackville
0.9 mi away
The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pottsville Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottsville Motor Inn

Property: Pottsville Motor Inn
Address: Route 61 North, Pottsville, PA 17901
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pottsville Motor Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pottsville Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pottsville Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing