We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place”
Review of Maroon's - CLOSED

Maroon's
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marion, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to the Yuengling Brewery for a tour and tasting, which by the way was very interesting, and asked a local where a good place to eat was. Two young men recommended Maroon's to us. They also told us the history surrounding the name of the place. The service was great and the food was very good. When ever we travel we always ask the local people where to eat and we've never been disappointed. If ever we go to Pottsville again we will definitely visit Maroon's again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local pub”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, And Family Friendly. Loved The Yuengling Sampler, And Awesome Wings. Being A Native, Returning After 20+ Years, Highly Recommend The Skook Platter. Waitress Was Pleasant. The Mural In The Parking Lot Was Neat, Too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purplelmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could have been a good match but----”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

In town over the weekend for a book signing, wanted to go to a friendly casual place. Arrived at Maroons around 3|30 on a Saturday --Just had to take a picture of the Saturday Happy Hour--11 a.m. - 4 p.m.. Never saw that before. Sportsy bar with baseball games on TV , Steelers round table, loved it. However, although it was "wait to be seated" we waited and waited to a less than half full dining area. We asked for the small Steelers round table and there was a noticeable sigh. We requested menus as we fully intended to have a meal. Ten minutes later, we were given a menu. When I asked for a beverage menu, another sigh, and tossed to us. The menu was very extensive, and reasonably priced. This could have been a good match, but the attitude and non ambience led us to decide to order a drink, and forget the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Tremendous Lunch & beers after Yuengling Tour”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a great combo, the Yuengling Brewery tour followed by lunch at Maroon's. Very nice, clean, good service and cold Vitamin Y at a discount price (Saturday: pints are $1.50). I had a steak sandwich smothered in melted cheese with mushrooms and onions. Heaven. The meat wasn't "steak-ums" or such shaved slices...it was freshly grilled steak bits...a nice roll...fresh 'shrooms. And I upgraded for the sweet potato fries which were thick wedges and lots of soft potato inside...tasty.

If only this place wasn't hours away....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun sports bar, great for lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped off for a late lunch after visiting the yuengling tour and had a great lunch, great service and neat atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slam2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroon's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing