We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great trails, pretty view, historical landmarks

If you are driving along I-79, be sure to stop to see these historical landmarks and walk the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Jennifer N
,
Dixon, Illinois
Lovely place.

My husband and I loved our visit this morning. The red covered bridge is just charming. We were... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
CGDEAL70
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 146 reviews
  
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
101
38
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
38
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered bridge old mill slippery rock creek challenging trails interesting rock formations flowing water picnic area elevation changes photo ops beautiful hike western pennsylvania grove city hollow mills falls nature stream
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you are driving along I-79, be sure to stop to see these historical landmarks and walk the trails. Pretty views and don't forget to go to nearby Hell's Hollow to see the waterfall, which is not far from the parking lot on a very well maintained trail.

Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I loved our visit this morning. The red covered bridge is just charming. We were also able to go into the old mill. Very interesting!

Thank CGDEAL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Just a nice place to spend the day, see the mill, walk the trails, enjoy the quiet and nature. Plan a day.

Thank jayhudak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings. Can hike down to the covered bridge or drive. Relatively easy hike. Lots of trails and waterfalls.

Thank Mchludzinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This is a pretty unique state park. Tons of trails of various degrees of difficulty to explore. a historical covered bridge and mill to explore. You are allowed to hunt and fish here in season. My wife and I decided to have our engagement pictures taken here, and we couldn't have been happier as there are a TON of unique locations for photo ops.

Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

This was our first time to this state park and we were so impressed. We visited the mill and the covered bridge. It is just so beautiful here. We got so many awesome pics. We plan to come back.

Thank kamilouise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

If you've never seen a covered bridge, here's an opportunity. Try to visit when the water-powered mill is open to see all the great features. And of course its a great place to walk the nature trails.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

We took our dogs (two shih tzus) for a picnic and hike. We were able to set up at a picnic table in the shade of an oak tree. Don’t forget a table covering as the picnic table is quite old, somewhat splintery, and generally icky. The restroom facilities at the Kildoo picnic area left a lot to be desired. They do not have running water. They do have an over abundance of flies. A visit to this restroom on a hot summer day is not for the faint of heart. On a positive note, the restroom was stocked with TP and hand sanitizer.

The highlight of our visit to the park was a hike on the Kildoo Trail. A three mile loop, this trail is moderately challenging. There were multiple sandy beach areas and large stones to sit on for a rest. Lots of elevation changes, stream crossings, rocks and uneven terrain. The view of Slippery Rock Creek is beautiful.

Thank Joey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

It has been many years since we visited McConnells Mill. The scenery is breathtaking! The old mill building and covered bridge are still there. There are walking paths along Slippery Rock Creek which are kept cool by the rapidly flowing water and breeze flowing through the heavily forested hollow. There are riotous rock formations covered in lichen and moss, ferns and other wild ground covers abound. It is a nature lover's delight. It is great for kayaking and canoeing. But, be very careful near the water since the rocks are covered with moss and VERY steep and slippery; hence the name, Slippery Rock!

Thank Peterson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Located just off Shaffer Road close to Center Church Road. There is a parking lot here. The hike to the falls is .4 miles, most of it on a flat to gently sloping path.There is an old lime kiln located by the falls. The hike itself is very nice. There are stairs leading down to the falls. There is another path that is a longer walk away from the falls. There are some very interesting rock formations resulting from the glacial age. Although there was not much water at the trail head, there was water running down the falls. At the trail head there is a sign with some history and interesting facts as well as showing the map to the falls and the other trail. Lots of photo opportunities here in this pretty park.

Thank bagspacked123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews