We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military-Friendly, Highly Recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Allegany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Equal driving distance to Smethport and Eldred, this cozy B&B nestled in the hills of the Allegheny Mountains is perfect for business travelers, couples, families and friends! Jay and Sharon (and Tucker the dog!) made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. Sharon's home-baked goodies and Jay's local history knowledge made breakfast even more special. They offer a discount to active-duty military, which allowed us to spend more time with family before moving out-of-state. In a business like this, it's the people who go above and beyond that make a B&B stand out among the competition. You will not regret staying at this gem of a place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room. The shower was perfect for my 6'3" husband and the bed (wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your compliments! Where we are located is a great center spot for vacations with activities or just for vacation! We wish you the best in your new assignments. We have many members of our family in the military (both active and retired) and want to show our appreciation for all that serve our country. We were delighted to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 180 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travelled to Port Allegany on business and stayed three nights and the Inn on Maple Street. Truly, it was like staying at home. No, wait. No one fixes me breakfast like that at home! The service was excellent in all respects. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found us to be home-like on your business trip. We've got a few new recipes for breakfast so we're looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a great find in Port Allegany and is a great place to stay especially if you travel with a four legged family member! We did not bring Dora, our Border Collie, this time but we will the next time we go to Port Allegany!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie-John_stay_BBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Family and Pet friendly is our slogan. Why leave a four legged member of the family at home or in a kennel when they can enjoy the stay with you? Tucker always love the company of a new playmate. We're looking forward to your next visit with Dora. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A fantastice bread and breakfast experience. The rooms are eleqiuantly decorated. The breakfast was great. You will feel right at home. Enjoy yourself and kick back and relax in a very home-like environment. It was our honeymoon and we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's great to know how comfortable you felt while staying here. The relaxation might have something to do with the fresh mountain air! Congratulations and best wishes for your future. Thank you for chosing to stay with us for your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Inn! Our room was comfortable, the house was wonderfully historic, and our hosts couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was amazing! Jay and Sharen sat with us while we all visited over the morning meal. And they were more than willing to answer any question we had. Fun time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Inn. We feel that we are the caretakers of the history of our Victorian home and really enjoy sharing the information and stories. Spending time with you is a benefit of our business. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed for a few years in a row, we love it!! We stayed in the 2nd house in the suite. It was a beautiful room, private bath, full kitchen. The space bad atmosphere made the extra money worth it. We already booked for next labor day weekend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhurley1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of your visit in the Hickory Suite. This has been a favorite of our guests who want the California King bed and extra room to relax. We're looking forward to your return visit and your reservation is on the books for next year. Thank you for staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We drove around the block when we 1st saw the house, entension ladder leaning against front porch roof with grass growing around it, blue tarps laying on bushes on 2 sides of the house indicating leaking roof. Didn't look like the picture online but had reservations so stopped. Front steps looked very tacky with asphalt roof shingles nailed down as "traction strips" and front porch needed a good sweeping. Horrible entryway with dark blue wallpaper with white flowers, 90's style but out of place in a Victorian home. Asked to see room and discovered NO A/C, only a small window fan and this was in August! Didn't even look at the rest of the room, explained we really needed A/C. Owner did say they had another house with a room w A/C available. We didn't want to hunt for another hotel so took the 2nd room, of course $ 20 higher but did take she off $ 10 for AARP discount. 2nd room nice, but bathroom needed updating, 1"x6" board in front of commade looked odd (holding down laminate flooring?), poor lighting and no exhaust fan. Nice porch to sit on and unwind. Breakfast next morning was good. May be a nice place Sept to April but if we knew there wasn't A/C wouldn't have booked the 1st room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayMare42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleStreetBnB, Owner at Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to say the newly constructed porch roof is finished and the painting of the porch area is nearly done. You may view the project photos on our FaceBook page. It has been difficult to schedule all of our outdoor projects in a timely manner due to the weather conditions. This years temperatures have been unusual as it is the first time (in 12 years) we have needed and installed AC in some of our rooms. Our online descriptions of our suites and guest rooms have been updated to reflect this. We're glad we had one available for you to meet your needs. As with all century old homes the updates and upgrades are constant so it is always a work in progress. We're proud to say very little of the Inn has changed since the original owner, Miss Lillian Boller-Bard, lived here until she was 103. The front porch has always been enjoyed by everyone. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Maple Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 115 E Maple St, One block off Route 6, Port Allegany, PA 16743-1365
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Port Allegany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Allegany
Price Range: $89 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century Victorian home welcomes families, children and pets. Our atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed in a small town America. Our guests enjoy the big front porch and common areas for socializing or quiet times. The personal touches of bath robes, hairdryers, bottled water and magazines make their visit memorable. Included with your stay is a full home baked breakfast, afternoon refreshments, free cable TV, free parking and free Wi-Fi. The Inn is open all year for your personal, business and holiday visits. Please inquire for long term rates. Nearby attractions include Kinzua Sky Walk, Cherry Springs Dark Skies, WWII Museum, historic walking tours, antique shopping, wineries and Cinco C's Alpaca Farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing