We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big difference between main hotel and lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pocono Manor
Reviewed September 6, 2011

As often seems to happen in online reviews, the Pocono Manor has very schizophrenic reviews... basically rotating 5s and 1s! Having only glanced over it, I already sense a pattern, and that is the renovated main hotel vs. the spruce lodge located across the way behind the pool. I love the Pocono Manor, but that is at least partly clouded by nostalgia compared to the average reviewer because I have so many fond childhood memories of staying there year after year. I can tell you, even back then (mid-90s) the Spruce Lodge were a world away from the main hotel and were pretty dank and disgusting. We always knew to stay away from them on any visit and loved our time in the main building. I am writing to encourage those reading the bad reviews to keep in mind that most of those are from people who said in said lodge, and to not be scared off by them because if you stay in the main hotel I sense you will have a much more satisfactory experience. I wish the Pocono Manor all the best and hope it continues as a mountain destination for decades to come, I was so happy to see the many renovations while paying a visit a month ago!

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, NOT the lodge
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
Thank Vartan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers. You are correct that our best accommodations are in the main building. However, we have done significant work with our outer lodges. And, we now offer guests to choose an economical room (outer lodge) at a lower rate or an upgraded room (priced slightly higher) in the main building. Thank you for your patronage over the years and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. When we reserved our room as part of a group several months in advance we confirmed the particulars, cancelation policy, etc. Couple weeks later (2 months prior to wedding) we were surprised to see that the room was charged to our card up front. When I called they said this was their policy to charge the first night automatically. (In all the hotels I have dealt with they put a hold or block on the amount through the credit card company but don't actually submit the charge until arrival. This was never disclosed and seemed a bit sly.) Others in our party had much more extensive problems including also being told there was a 48 hr cancellation policy (then when they called in 72 hours they told them no refund, it was now a week in advance) or other things agreed to in advance not the case when it came time. Group felt the attitude of management seems to be that once they have your money, too bad, all bets are off.

In terms of the accomodations, we were disappointed. The main lodge itself is quaint and charming (lobby, dining room, lounge). We thought our rooms were there but found out we were in a building down the road. (Side note - parking on the weekend is horrendous. We literally parked in a spot in the woods because there was no where to go.) Our room location was very musty and outdated. There were some rennovations going on -painting, but actually the strong paint smell made things worse and there was a layer of sawdust on the doorknob, door, carpet, etc. (Surprised they couldn't do rennovations off peak versus a weekend and do areas unoccupied.) Overall for the price the room just was not worth the group rate, let alone the rack rate. Bed was not very comfortable. Cleanliness was fair. We made the best of it - it was the company we kept that saved the weekend.

One positive we did have - the breakfast buffet in the main dining room was quite a surprise. Nice variety & the food was good. Sure beats the standard complimentary continental breakfast. Wasn't enough to bring us back but want to give credit where credit is due. And while there were issues for our group with sales or reservation staff, the front desk staff was pleasant when we arrived and checked out, and service staff by and large was amiable as well. So take it for what it's worth and good luck if you decide to roll the dice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVPADad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

I terribly regret that you were less than pleased with your stay. With regard to your concern with the cancellation policy, this seems to be a training issue which we will address immediately. As with many Resorts, we do charge a one night's deposit and advise guests of this policy at time of reservation. In your case, we obviously did not inform you and I apologize. Your housekeeping concern with the hallway dust is a result of the renovation. We do strive to do the renovation work during slow times, however, we are at the mercy of materials and we have suffered several manufacturer delays causing us to move more quickly whenever possible. WIth regard to parking, I do understand that it can be a challenge on busy weekends. Unfortunately, with our mountain top location, we are limited. We do have a Manager on Duty at all times and I cannot say why the Manager was not contacted on your behalf. Again, I truly regret your inconvenience. If you would allow us another opportunity, please contact our Assistant General Manager or General Manager to personally handle all of your arrangements and ensure an excellent guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here out of necessity because of recent inclement weather and only stayed one night. The "lodge" they have for pet owners was unacceptable. They claim they are renovating but these rooms should not be rented out--they are old, very dirty and appear as if they're barracks from the 1980s. The furnishings are falling apart and the bathroom was very, very dirty. There is a musty smell to the entire inn but the grounds appear to be well-kept. Carpeting is old and doesn't smell good. Restaurant/bar had a very strange moldy smell. Would never stay again. The people had the desk said they hadn't been in this section for a while so they had no idea about the cleanliness or any aspects about them which seemed rather odd. The ladies at the desk were very nice but I had the impression they couldn't do anything without the manager's approval and he was never to be found nor could we ever talk to him. It appears that management of this property is very lacking since everything comes from the top down.

Room Tip: There may be better rooms for those without pets but I wouldn't count on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrigitteZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

I am unhappy to hear of your disappointment. The lodge you refer to is our 'pet friendly' area. Most guests are happy with these accommodations and appreciation that we allow their pets. However, you obviously had concerns with your specific room. We have a Manager on duty at all times. I regret that you did not speak with him personally as I am sure he would have been happy to assist in any way possible. Our management team strives for excellent guest service, however, will did fall short with your visit. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity. If you contact a Manager directly, one of our management team will personally tend to all of your arrangements and assure you of an excellent experience. With regard to the 'musty' smell, we have experienced significant rain fall. Approx. 12 inches more than usual in just the past few weeks, the dampness would have this musty smell. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of Mother Nature with this situation. Again, I regret your inconvenience and truly appreciate the time spent to express your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

What a pleasant surprise we experienced stumbling onto this amazing property! The Manor is gorgeous and charming with so much to do and see on the property. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and inclusive of a breathtaking mountain view. Everyone working there was extremely personable, helpful and accomodating. My husband and I had been traveling from NY city through New England and western NY and this was the only unplanned stop throughout the whole trip that ended up to be the highlight. We hope to return to The Inn again some day for a much longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan1958147365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you so very much for visiting with us and sharing your experience. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will return soon for a longer stay so that you may enjoy some of the many great things to do on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We Visited The Inn for 2 nights.... We stayed at the Main building..the entire complex is under renovation... our room was very nicely done and VERY big. Food was fair at best.....breakfast and lunch was equal to cafeterria food, so we never tried dinner,,we ventured out. Wife said Spa was very nice. 36 holes of golf was "fun" mountain golf and inexspensive. Alot of cool activities, IE: Driving range, large putting area, nice hikes, horseback riding, archery, clay shooting, pool and archery. some at additional cost. A very small outside area in front of lobby used for smokers, don't be alarmed if you pull up at night and it looks like a welfare hotel, thats what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARENSCOTTJackson_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. I regret that you were less than thrilled with the food, I will be sure to pass along your concerns to the F&B team. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy many of our activities. You comment in your review about guests smoking outside the building at night and refer to us as a 'welfare' hotel. Why? Because of smoking guests. I am sorry but I do not understand what that comment implies and I am puzzled why you would state that after having enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a fantastic vacation. The room was spacious and the bed sheets were luxurious.
We had a beautiful view of the mountains. The flat screen TV was large in our room and the private movie theatre(with home made popcorn) next to the kids arcade game room was spectacular. My husband and son raved about the golf course and shooting range.
The tennis court ,health club and spa were a real treat.
The restaurants at the Inn were first rate--and we are manhattan food snobs.
Thanks also for the kindness of the staff!!
Thanks Dr. Denise Kelly

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and shared your experience with Trip Advisor readers. It sounds like you and your family were able to take advantage of our many activities. Please do visit again soon as we have varied activities with each season and fabulous feasts on Mothers Day and Thanksgiving. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

After reading the reviews we were a little gunshy about going to stay in the Poconos. We were delighted with the renovated room, comfy bed, great dining experience and outstanding golf. We would definately travel here again in the future, especially to see how the renovations have progressed on the common areas. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourPointsLeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with The Inn at Pocono Manor! Many of our guests are raving about the renovations and love the comfy beds. We anticipate the carpet for public areas next week and are very excited as it will really complete the look and feel of the renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocono Manor
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,542 reviews
10.9 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,315 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,065 reviews
23.2 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocono Manor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Manor Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Manor Dr, Pocono Manor, PA 18349-9800 (Formerly Inn at Pocono Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Pocono Manor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pocono Manor
Price Range: $92 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pocono Manor Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful mountaintop location offers an 18 hole championship golf course, fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, state-of-the-art Spa, Riding Stables and various dining options. Just minutes from area attractions; casino, waterpark, skiing, outlet shopping and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Pocono Manor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Pocono Manor Hotel Pocono Manor
Hotel Pocono Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing