We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pocono Manor
Bavaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Both good and bad”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for one night for the wedding of my daughter's sister-in-law on July 9th, and here's our experience:

At check-in, I asked for a smoking room and was told that since the "renovation", all the rooms are no-smoking. Fine, but they didn't tell us that when we made our reservations.
I guess they like to surprise smokers with this little policy.

The room on the third floor obviously had not seen any sort of renovation, nice flat screen TV but no mini-refrigerator, no full length mirror, one sink in the bathroom that obviously had also never seen a renovation, the hot and cold adjustment in the shower required the finesse of a brain surgeon (I am not a brain surgeon), fthe pillows were so small and cheap that a midget would have found them uncomfortable, only one ice machine in the building and that on the "T" (lowest) level, where the soda machine ,which was out of service, is located, Not a big deal, except that the elevators are an antiquated joke, if you get on at lobby level they first go down to the lowest level befor they go up, and they don*t go up very quickly.

When we took the elevator to the Terrace (T) level to get to the ceremony outside, the door opened to a worker on a ladder between the two elevator doors scraping off old wallpaper! This on a late Saturday afternoon before two weddings.

Now some positive news:

The wedding ceremony held outside was nicely organized and the area was clean and pleasant. The cocktail hour area and food were also good, although with only one bartender there was a ten to fifteen minute wait for a drink.

The reception dinner food was excellent and the waiters friendly and efficient, all in all a very good and well organized affair.

Now for some more bad news:

At 3:00 AM on the morning of July 10 I woke out of a sound sleep to what sounded like feeding time at the Philadelphia Zoo coming out of toom 300 (we were in room 309). I called, very irate, the front desk and asked them to quiet down the yahoos. At 3:30 the noise was still just as bad ( yelling, foul language etc.) so I stormed down to the front desk and read them the riot act, asking them if they were running a zoo instead of a resort etc.. After that things settled down, but broken sleep is broken sleep.

All in all, I wasn't totally dissatisfied, thanks to the well-run reception and dinner, but the whole stay was a decidedly mixed blessing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We pride ourselves in taking guest concerns very seriously and handling immediately. This includes replying to all Trip Advisor reviews. I must say, I am not sure how to respond to a review such as yours that is riddled with sarcasm. Surely, it is frustrating when guests in a room near you are loud. You mentioned that you 'stormed down to the desk and read them the riot act and asked if they were running a zoo?' . I truly feel for the guest agent that you dealt with in this fashion. Certainly they were they to help you and were not the cause of your inconvenience. Additionally, we are a HISTORIC resort. You refer to our elevators as an 'antiquated joke'. They function properly, but obviously not to your desired speed. We are and will remain a historic Resort with the charm (and the challenges) expected of such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    409
    226
    148
    134
See reviews for
487
536
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

7/7/11 we were stuck in traffic on I80 westbound in PA. Looking for somewhere to stay close to the Mt. Airy Casino for one night. We stopped at a PA visitor center and picked up the free "Room Saver" magazine. The Inn at Pocono Manor had a coupon for $89 with free breakfast (page 16.) Coupon was for walk-ins based on availability, and they graciously honored this coupon upon our arrival. Room #293 was spacious, with comfortable king bed, quality bedding & linens, and a nice view. We only stayed 1 night, but information on plenty of activities onsite that would make a longer stay enjoyable. Continental breakfast buffet included choice of hot entree from breakfast menu. Staff was very cordial. A scenic 5 mile drive from Mt. Airy Casino. We were told hotel is 110 yrs. old, and renovations are currently underway, so a bit of dust needs to be overlooked. What a nostalgic find! Would consider staying here again for a Pocono getaway.

Room Tip: Request a
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hern2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for your visit! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will return and stay a bit longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

i read a few reviews about the inn at Pocono manor and was afraid i made a mistake but to my surprise the staff was great ......and the room we had was nice and suited our needs plus we had a room with two beds two bathroom and a couch ..just what we needed ..great location to lots of activates and lots restaurants loved it


Nathan from NY

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathannijel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed at the manor for 2 nights over this past weekend, our stay was great. The hotel was very nice and all of the staff was extremely accomidating to any of our needs. The hightlight of our stay at the manor was definitely our horseback rididng experience. We did the sunset waterfall ride at the stables at pocono manor, right there on the property and it was simply amazing! John the owner of the stables and our tour guide for our ride made the experience a great one and one to remember. We will definitely be staying at the inn again, hopefully this fall, and will taking another horseback ride as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmurphy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for staying at The Inn at Pocono Manor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your our historic, mountain location and our new rooms. Please do come visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

After a graduation in NYC, we decided to stop for the night. I put a call into AAA for some help and they gave us the phone number for the Inn at Pocono Manor. We stayed only one night but we hope to go back someday and enjoy all they have to offer. The rooms are old but clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner or end room. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela14826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. Great news - 190 of our rooms have been renovated! So, please do come again, spend longer and request a beautifully renovated room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The newly furnished rooms at The Inn at Poconor Manor were beautiful. The food and service was wonderful. The staff cares about each person's stay at The Inn and makes sure that everything is in order. The grounds are impeccable - whether playing golf, going to the spa, swimming in the pool or just plain relaxing - this resort has it all. Peace and quiet in the mountains - with thousands of acres of privacy. The building is stately, with huge living rooms, private reading areas and well staffed bars.

MA - New York

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for so very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the renovated accommodations! I do hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Inn at Pocono Manor has pros and cons. Some notables are:
Pros: The rooms- the rooms are great! You can tell that they have been recently refurbished and the beds are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in! The rooms have nice dark furniture with blue and green accents and large flat-screens.
Amenities- You'll never be bored. There are 2 golf courses, segway tours (we wanted to do this but we couldn't because of weather), horse stables, clay shooting, nice outdoor pool, etc.
Cons: The lobby- The lobby could definitely be updated - majorly. Plently of seating, but you can tell that it hasn't received any of the "renovations" that are promised.
The service - One night of our stay we went to the Lamplighter Lounge. Nobody greeted or seated us, so we sat ourselves in hopes that a server would come around. After being there for about 10 minutes, we finally walked out. After this, we ate at The Exchange, a slightly more fancy restaurant on the premises. We were the only ones there. The food (we have lite fare) was fine, but the service was lackluster. The two employees that I could see there were talking loudly about everything from their family to religion the whole time, and the waitress seemed like she would rather be anywhere else rather than that restaurant. Can't complain about the food, but some of the employees didn't seem to quite know what they were doing.

Overall, The Inn at Pocono Manor is just "fine". $5 million dollar renovations are promised, and you can see it in the rooms, but $5 million will barely touch this place, because of the vast size. In my opinion, this hotel could be amazing if it refurbished it's lobby, restaurants, and hired better servicepeople. If you're looking to be out golfing, going to the spa, etc. and hanging out in your room, stay here. If you want exceptional service and a 5-star lobby, don't.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgmtPMI, Manager at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I regret your service concerns and assure you that these will be addressed with the Restaurant & Lounge Managers. With regard to the lobby, the lobby is surely part of the renovation and is currently 40% complete. Project includes carpet, re-uphostering, wall vinyl and more! The lobby project will be followed by the Main Dining Room and Lamplighter Lounge renovation. Please come see us again as I am confident you will enjoy the new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocono Manor
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
300 reviews
3.3 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,169 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,019 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel M, Mount Pocono
Hotel M, Mount Pocono
#4 of 7 in Mount Pocono
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocono Manor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Manor Resort & Spa

Property: Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Manor Dr, Pocono Manor, PA 18349-9800 (Formerly Inn at Pocono Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Pocono Manor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pocono Manor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pocono Manor Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful mountaintop location offers an 18 hole championship golf course, fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, state-of-the-art Spa, Riding Stables and various dining options. Just minutes from area attractions; casino, waterpark, skiing, outlet shopping and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Pocono Manor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Pocono Manor Hotel Pocono Manor
Hotel Pocono Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing