We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may not get what you ordered”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You may not get what you ordered”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Twice I have gone for lunch thru the drive thru and received the wrong sandwich after waiting over 10 minutes. I guess if they don't know how to make something they will substitute. I ordered their turkey club and received a cold soggy double cheeseburger. Worse than that, I contacted their customer service, but got no response back. there are too many better options of restaurants around to go back there. pleasant Hills location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melak138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is for the one next to Pittsburgh Mills. The burgers were OK, I guess. I got the avocado burger, but it had very little avocado and was too spicy for my taste. The service was slow and they took a long time to clean off empty tables so people could be seated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank robbratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First experience at a Steak 'n Shake”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Kids and I enjoyed their famous steak burgers and awesome shakes. Recommend it to all my friends. Yummy steak burgers and a delicious shake at anytime of the days was a real hit with the boys.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hamburger”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I really enjoyed the original double hamburger. The french fries felt and tasted as through they had been setting around for quite a while. I order a chocolate malt with extra malt. The drink was very good but there was no malt in it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 11ztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst experience I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! DONT GO!!!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I went to the Steak and Shake on the waterfront in Homestead, Pennsylvania. I have been getting coupons and flyers from them for a few years. I didnt have any, but thought I would embark on an outing with my little one. Girls night out!!! Anywhoooo, got there and waited 8-10 minutes to be seated (NO HOSTESS), I should have turned and left then. Well it took forever to get served. One customer across from us, waited so long that they got up and left!!! They had been waiting just to be served for almost an hour!!!! They left after my meal was ending and they were there before me! When our meal arrived, my little princess was happy to see her hot dogs and fries, but my royal burger looked off! THE PLATE WAS CAKED WITH DRIED UP EGG!!!!! The yellow runny part.......ewwww! The plate was not to be out done by the 20 inch hair left in my fries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you go..........YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing