We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pittston
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we first walked in the lobby, we smelled a strange smell. It was there when we left the next morning, also. I knew it wasn't a top notch hotel, because, although it was LATE on May 1st, the sign in the lobby still said it was April 29th! Because we are Priority Club members, we each received a bottle of water and a small bag of peanuts.

The walk to our room was down a dingy hall and the room was pretty much what we thought we would get. When I took a shower at night I thought the water was going from cold to hot, back to cold again. In the morning, there was NO hot water, forcing us to take cold showers at 4:00 a.m.

The rooms were clean enough. I probably would opt for another hotel if I ever have to stay at the Wilkes Barre - Scranton airport again. It's very close the to the airport, but that's about all it has going for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAMMY911NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear GRAMMY911NewYork,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We appreciate the compliments on our clean rooms. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to the condition of the hotel property, rooms and unusual smell you encountered. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at this property the night before running the Steamtown (Scranton) Marathon in October 2012. The hotel was one of the few remaining hotels in the area that had rooms available for runners. When I arrived, the front desk was friendly and I received a complementary water and snack. Things went downhill after that. Going up to my room I noticed the halls smelled bad. My room was no better. There was a strong mildew smell in the room - the bathroom seemed to be the source. I had some Febreze in my car that I brought in, sprayed, and left to go find dinner. The smell was a little better when I returned and I was able to fall asleep. I woke up the next morning at 3:30 AM incredibly stuffed up and miserable. Not a good start to a day where I was planning on running 26 miles. Yuck. Won't be staying here again should I run the marathon again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank mrd232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear mrd232,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stopped to get some sleep on a road trip headed south on interstate 81. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were updated, comfortable and very clean. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and replenished often.

Room Tip: Request a room opposite the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very friendly staff, quick check in, free cookies, free popcorn. Room was nice and clean. Bed seeemed new, multiple types of pillows, all labled "firm" or "soft." Room was also quiet.

There is some peeling wallpaper in the hallways that needs to get fixed before it gets out of hand. Also some rubmarks on the walls in the hallways from suitcases. I mention this because it stood out in an otherwise excellent hotel.

The restaurant next door, although labled a "bar and grill" has surprisingly good food; more than just burgers and fries. Might get rowdy on weekends.

Extremely convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a Sat night as a chance to get a good night sleep. As with other HIExpress I have stayed. This hotel was a pleasant stay. I made my reservation on line and arrived the same day at about 7 PM. There was a popcorn machine in the lobby that smelled great....there were cookies at the front desk and hot coffee in the servers. The manager at the front dest was very nice, thanking us for staying with them tonight and gave us each a bag with a water bottle and crackers. I thought that was nice. He also gave us the internet info and asked if we needed a wake up call. Overall I would rate my check in experience as excellent!
The room was clean and comfortable. Flat screen 32in TV. Free HBO and wireless internet. The bathroom was stocked with extra towels and the regular amenities as needed, a hairdryer and coffee pot in the bathroom
Sleep was comfortable and similar to the types of mattress I experienced of others in this chain. We were bumped up to a king size bed and the room had a chair and ottoman in it to sit so you did not have to feel like all you can do was sit on the bed. The internet worked well and was fast. Breakfast was excellent...and free..the folks on the morning shift were just as nice as the night before They have the really cool press of the button pancake maker....very neat! The water in the shower was hot as needed...overall our stay was very good. checkout was good. I have found this to be consistant with the HIEXpress chain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ez2par78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pulled in easily off the interstate after a long day on the road, and enjoyed a great dinner at a little restaurant which shares the parking lot with this hotel. The room was huge -- very clean & well-appointed. Had a great night's rest in peace & quiet (surprisingly quiet for being so close to the interstate!). Would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksimpson009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

An airport hotel needs to deliver a quiet, comfprtable room, reliable wake-up service and an equally reliable shuttle. This hotels delivers on all counts and is staffed with good knowledgeable people.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the airport have a view...even if it is of the airport. All rooms are quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalltowntravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittston
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Pittston - Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
6.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
424 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport

Address: 30 Concorde Dr, Pittston, PA 18641-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Pittston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pittston
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre Scranton Airport Hotel is conveniently located at the Wilkes-Barre Scranton International Airport, just off I-81 at Exit 178A and only minutes from the Pennsylvania Turnpike Northeast Extension (I-476). Centrally located between Scranton and Wilkes-Barre, this property is just a short drive from all area attractions and businesses. Featuring 100 beautifully appointed guest rooms, which include several luxurious two-room suites. Free wireless high speed Internet! The Holiday Inn Express offers a free 'Express Start' HOT breakfast, fitness center, and shuttle service. Do Business the Smart Way!The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from Lowes, Clarcor, FedEx, UPS, Cascade, Pride Mobility, Keystone Automotive, Letica Corporation, TJ Max, Proctor and Gamble, Naval Reserve Center, and many more. Visit Area Attractions the Smart Way!Be close to all that this area has to offer, including Mohegan Sun Casino, Wachovia Arena, Sno Mountain Ski Resort, Toyota Pavilion, Steamtown National Historic Site, Shoppes at Montage, Lackawanna Coal Mine, Pocono Downs Racetrack, Yankees (AAA) Baseball, Pocono Raceway (NASCAR), The Ice Box, FM Kirby Center, Steamtown Mall, Wyoming Valley Mall, and an abundant array of restaurants! Packages available.Stay Smart!Experience outstanding hospitality and the finest array of amenities, experience the Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport Hotel Pittston
Holiday Inn Pittston
Pittston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Pittston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing