We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Tired and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We decided to stay at the William Penn based on some reviews stating it was the "best" hotel in Pittsburgh. While our room was huge and accommodated our child on a sofa bed, we were shocked by the condition of the room. We arrived to see a drink stain running down the window sill. The old model TV was not viewable from the bed. The wall paper was bubbling off the wall in several places . The mirror frames had multiple cracks and missing chunks. For premium prices, this was a very tired hotel well past its prime.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
We regret to hear about your recent experience at The Omni William Penn Hotel. Although we do make all efforts to maintain the cleanliness and appearance of our guest rooms it is obvious that we fell below your standards and our own during your stay. We are currently planning to update all remaining guest rooms in the 4th quarter of this year and if you would consider staying with us again we know you would return to find the Omni that you had initially expected to experience. Please accept our apologies and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,487
    828
    260
    95
    39
See reviews for
694
1,029
152
1,371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Location: convenient public parking garage across the street. Excellent view from the room of interesting and beautiful buildings.
Room: Clean, very comfortable king bed, and a hair dryer that actually is decent--a definite plus.
Hotel: Didn't check out the fitness center, but the lobby is beautiful, with lots of historic photos and information all around. You can easily imagine Pittsburgh in its heyday while staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PixterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at The Omni William Penn. It was a pleasure to read your review and we thank you for taking the time to share it online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

We were in town for Accepted Student Visit at Pitt. Had hoped to stay on campus, but could not book the rooms we wanted so we decided to stay at the Omni. Well, we will be back, and back, and back! Our son was impressed with Pitt and will be attending there. We will be staying at the Omni everytime we visit. Check in wqs a breeze. Our room was beautifully furnished, smoke free, spacious, king bed was comfy. Dinner at the Terrace Restaurant was delicious. We chose to eat there again the 2nd night even though there were many other wonderful restaurants in close proximity. Only criticisms: Our morning coffee order was never picked up from the door knob on Friday night, so we had no wake up coffee....used the coffee pot in the room, but we had wanted fresh coffee and juice! Second morning my husband just went to the lobby Starbucks to get me my coffee fix.

Our room 1101 backed up to a bank of elevators, and as a very light sleeper I was distracted and woke up at night several times. But, we were overwhelmingly pleased and will be back!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Congratulations on your son's acceptance to Pitt . We have hosted many loyal Pitt families over the years and are happy to welcome you to the ranks of Panthers Fans that call The Omni William Penn their home base when visiting. Many thanks for your review and we will look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights on the 8th floor. This hotel places a lot of attention to detail. The lobby is gorgeous. Our first night, we ate in the Terrace Room. I ordered the seafood gumbo. It tasted outstanding. I ordered this for dinner twice. I had salmon for my entree and it was perfect. The waiter was very nice. Our room was very quiet with 2 double beds. The hotel offers free juices which are brought to your room in the morning. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby. Parking is across the street in the underground garage and costs only $5 for each exit. We plan on going back in late April 2011 for the NRA Convention.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Omni William Penn and that you plan on returning next year. We will be sure to share your compliments with our chef and will look forward to your April visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed here for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. First of all it is a restored historic hotel and is absolutely beautiful. The restaurant and lobby are lovely. My room was clean, comfortable, quiet and the bed was wonderful. The staff were extremely friendly in all areas front desk, restaurant, room service, housekeeping etc. very helpful and cheerful. If I ever come to Pittsburgh again I will make a point of staying here. Great experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at The Omni William Penn. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and we will look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

This most famous of hotels in the great city of Pittsburgh boasts amenities that you can expect from a high class establishment. The efforts to which the Omni has gone to preserve this hotel are admirable and rare. Unfortunately, some of that includes sub-standard rooms. Mine resembled a series of closets, with an awkward un-furnished entry area, followed by an over-stuffed room barely 9 feet wide. At this point I realized I was paying for history and noted the beautiful furnishings and high quality bedding. Alas, my cigarette smoke allergy had me wheezing and stuffed each of three mornings, after nights of smelling smoke from some other room, perhaps the hallway. I was told almost robotically that there is nothing the staff can do and there are no rooms to which I can be moved. I pay top dollar for high quality- if I had only known what "non-smoking" meant. (nothing.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Please accept our apologies that your room did not meet your expectations and that smoke from a nearby area of the hotel triggered your allergies. We regret that our associates were not able to resolve these issues while you were still with us as we always do our best to make sure our guests are in a room that meets their needs. We do hope that you would consider a future stay with us and if so, we encourage you to reach out to our management prior to your arrival so we can ensure that you have a stay that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

The Omni William Penn is a beautiful hotel. I have stayed there for over 10 nights within the past few months and there hasn't been a single complaint. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff is efficient and friendly. The property is fantastic. The restaurants and room service are delicious. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby and a 24 modern gym. Be sure to sign up for the Select Guest program to get free in wi-fi and free coffee delivery every morning!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
We are flattered that we have had you as our guest so often in the past few months and thank you for your business! We also appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary review on TripAdvisor and we will look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing