We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the problem they are having is attention to detail...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
austin, texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the problem they are having is attention to detail...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

This hotel....I was completely looking forward to staying here. Typically, I enjoy staying in boutique-style hotels. There are none in downtown Pittsburgh, so this was as close as I could get.
My feelings about this place are mixed.
When I checked in they tried to charge me $25 more per night than the rate I had negotiated. I am a federal employee and need the federal rate. Prior to reserving a room I had spoken with management, who were very helpful and accomodating. I planned to stay here (I am writing this review from my room!) for 7 nights. Thus, the $119/night was acceptable to them.

First, my room is not too small, but is not like the pictures online. Compared to NYC rooms it is LUXURY, but it is typical of the size of say the Kimpton rooms in DC. My bed is comfortable, clean linens, etc. Please note that fully 1/4-1/3 of the rooms in this hotel have NO view, unless you are a peeping tom. Look at the picture: the lovely crenelations mean many rooms face each other. I did not complain, as I was to be in LONG meetings out of the hotel every day, but you would think that when someone was going to be here 7 nights they would try to make that person's stay delightful. WRONG! My room faced a brick wall.

Attention to detail: the bed was made up very sloppily. The two flat sheet system lets the uncareful attendant leave your feet on the mattress proper instead of enclosed in sheets. The bed skirt was on occasion made up with the bed. I almost took pictures, but well, description works.
The fixtures in the bathroom are old and loud, the sink pockmarked. The furniture has vacuum scuffs.
My tea was replaced only twice. The bathroom sundries were randomly restocked. However, happily, my towel was not replaced when I hung it up (I hate it when they do that!).

My major beef: The atention to detail when it came to morning coffee and newspaper. I have decided to check out one day early, but in the 6 mornings I had here, I only got the following right ONE TIME: coffee, V8, NYT and local paper. I filled this out on a card every evening and every morning except once it was WRONG. I HATE having to call people to complain at 6 in the morning, but I ABHOR not having things right when I am sleepy and just want my coffee, juice, and news. Is that too much to ask? apparently at this hotel it is. Ugh.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,487
    828
    260
    95
    39
See reviews for
694
1,029
152
1,371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Location was great! Staff was great! Room was a bit small, but the sizes are isted on the website, so can't complain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlenemoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for your review. We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

The location is fabulous, we attended a wedding at the history center. The Hampton would have been fine too, we stayed there the previous night, but for the value of comfort and the fact we got the Omni for half the cost on priceline, we were very happy guests. Amazing architecture, old churches and history in the area. We strolled around the river and noticed that Lewis and Clark set sail there. The history center was nice also, and a short walk to the Omni. The bed and view were wonderful from the room and it was clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windmillabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Omni William Penn and our great downtown location. We feel very fortunate to be surrounded by so much history and amazing architecture. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Creek, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Omni on a Saturday night. I had booked the room by bidding on Priceline, and was extremely happy when this hotel came up. The Valet parking was astronomical, as it is in most cities, so we parked across the street in the underground garage for $5 / 24 hours. We came and left a couple of times, so it cost us a little more overall, but still less than valet parking. There is a bit of a rush when you arrive, as there isn't anywhere to actually park your car and unload. It's just the street, you, and some unhappy motorists behind you. You might be able to pull over if a lot of people aren't arriving/departing at that particular time. Check in was easy. I strongly suggest joining the Omni Club on-line. We were given exactly what we asked for: high level, down pillows, extra towels, blow-dryer, etc. The hotel had an absolutely beautiful lobby. Our room was very nice, if a little bit dated. It looked out onto the park (underground garage) across the street. We didn't want to put out the cash for an extravagant breakfast, so went to Bruegger's for bagels. You can get there without even leaving the building! We had a very nice stay and recommend the hotel (especially if you get it through Priceline!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iambells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for your recommendation of the Omni William Penn Hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our Select Guest program. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Understanding that this hotel is nearly 100 years old -- with all the attention to detail and historic charm commensurate -- you can forgive the rooms being somewhat awkward as they have been modernized. With hotels of that era, the beauty is found in the common areas and lobby, while rooms are very comfortable.

Notes on amenities: Wi-Fi is free if you simply sign up for their frequent guest program; you can valet park or self-park in the city garage across the street, but if you need in-and-out, valet may be a better value; and although I did not dine at the property on this trip, I have previously and it was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Omni William Penn. We think you have some great tips for other travelers. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

My first impressions of this hotel were very positive - wonderful vibe inside, nice rooms, very helpful staff. My departure was at 5.15 am. I had them print a bill and I ran out. Well, the bill doesn't even show the location of the hotel - a complication if you plan to be reimbursed. Then, I noticed a number of factual error on my bill, including two long-distance calls. I phoned the hotel and they were nice enough about it all, removing the charges - or so they say. They promised an immediate corrected bill as a PDF email attachment. Over a day later and I'm still waiting. They also confirmed that there isn't any identification on the bill - weird! Perhaps worse is the remark, as the guest representative cheerfully deleted the bogus phone calls from my bill - 'no problem, sir, we're having lots of problems with the accounting system...' So how many people got charged for items they didn't purchase and were too busy or too timid to call? Unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

As you enter the lobby of the Omni William, you can feel the elegance all around you. Look up and see the amazing crystal chandeliers and hear the grand piano. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable. The Tap Room Bar and Restaurant takes you back in time. The public transportation system in Pittsburgh makes getting around town simple.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salty1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you found all that you were looking for at the Omni William Penn. We appreciate your review and hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing