We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've lived in Pittsburgh 28 years and never had the occasion to stay at this classic hotel...until this weekend. The foyer is beautiful and elegant. The staff isn't. My room wasn't ready upon arrival and in spite of being in a wedding party, I had to improvise and dress in a bridesmaid's room without being able to shower before the photo shoot. Later that evening I arrived in my room to find no tv remote and the Pirates were in the 10th inning-several minutes later a new one arrived. I ordered a sandwich and fries through room service and a plate of fries showed up. The staff person came back with a sandwich and more fries, explained that the original delivery belonged to another room, then asked me to take only the sandwich off the plate so he could deliver the fries elsewhere! This is service from a " classic elegant hotel"? It failed to meet my great expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

As a long time resident of Pittsburgh, we are especially disappointed that your first stay with us fell short in several areas. We extend our sincere apologies and hope to have a "second chance" at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,632 - 2,638 of 4,256 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

My recent stay here was fantastic, the room was spacious for the price paid, the accommodations were great. The beds were supremely comfortable. Cleaning service was prompt and very thorough. I never went without my bathroom necessities. The front desk staff were all very kind, polite, and well mannered. The hotel looks pristine, and the elevators are quick and run like clockwork, you are never waiting long to go up or down. If you are going to book a hotel in Pittsburgh, the William Penn Omni Hotel is the one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Louie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here from July 3rd to 9th. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, reminiscent of the 1920s. Each and every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful. At about 8pm on our 2nd night, we asked the Concierge if she could suggest somewhere we could have a cup of tea. She advised that since it was July 4th, everything was closed. Instead, she asked if we'd like 2 cups of tea in "to go" cups and then proceeded to get us tea from the hotel kitchen. Such a simple task that was so appreciated by us. These small, extra efforts seem to be the norm at the Omni William Penn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The front desk and especially the guys at the front door were excellent. They provided top notch service and gave knowledgeable, helpful information about nearby restaurants, drugstores, transportation and local areas of interest. The entrance lobby was stunningly elegant. The housekeeping was terrible. Although the room appeared very clean, there was a terrible odor on entering and we discovered the toilet had not been flushed from someone's previous use. Ugh! On the second day, when we returned at 1 pm after a five hour absence, the room had not been touched. The "privacy" hanger was not on the handle. I was able to exchange the soiled towels with fresh ones from a housekeeper down the hall but was feeling ill and declined further service that day. The TV shut down due to electrical overload from the coffee maker on the same outlet. The front desk was kind enough to cancel the wi-fi charges for our stay because of the housekeeping difficulties.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank PanchoNLefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We appreciate your kind words regarding our Front Desk, Valet and Door Attendants, and will let them know you acknowledged their service and hospitality. As well, we are addressing the housekeeping concerns you shared and will make certain your experience is not repeated. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was wonderful. Highly, Highly recommend that you give them a try!!! The staff (with the exception of the bar staff) was very attentive, and smiled so much I bet it hurt. The only complaint was the bar staff. Be it that they may have been understaffed, I still walked out many times not getting a cocktail and took my business and my guests somewhere else where we did receive the service that we expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for recommending the Omni William Penn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, but are disappointed that our bar service fell short. Steps are being taken to ensure your experience is not repeated. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have always wanted to stay at the William Penn Hotel, & we are glad we did. Beautiful Hotel, Great service, very nice renovated room. Very good food in the hotel restaurants. The staff showed their appreciation for our business at the hotel. Friendly and courteous. This is our hotel to stay when we go to Pittsburgh !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank CeylonKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I were in Pittsburgh overnight for a concert and the Omni William Penn was a perfect stay for us. Our room was ready upon arrival and from the moment we arrived and left our car with the valet to the people at the reservation desk, we received outstanding service. Our room was clean, large and the king size bed very comfortable. The room had both a safe and a refrigerator. There was plenty of room for us to relax and watch tv and the two complimentary bathrobes were great to have available during our stay. The bathroom was very clean with a good supply of towels. Being a Select Guest we were treated to Starbucks coffee in the morning which was delivered right on time. The hotel is located in a perfect location (we were heading to the Consol Energy Center). We were within walking distance to Market Square, the football stadium and the baseball stadium. This was our first visit to Pittsburgh and would very highly recommend staying at the Omni William Penn. It is a historic hotel, decorated beautifully and providing great accommodations.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor close to the elevators - never had to wait any time at all for an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGardener19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 72 in Pittsburgh
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $150 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing