We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel....had some problems though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel....had some problems though!”
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Well, we have stayed at the Omni before...and needless to say, it is quite impressive. We were so excited at the opportunity to stay there again, and were in awe again as we entered the lobby. All was going according to plan. We got a two doubles room, which was fine and extremely large...wonderful room overall. Great shower as well.

When we went to head to the Improv for the evening we asked the concierge for directions. He printed us off directions to Dave and Buster's since it is right next door. We had been there before and knew this was true, so we were off and doing wonderful on time. Well, the direcitons took us somewhere....but sure not Dave and Busters and across town from our actual destination of the waterfront. As we were from out of town, we then had to call Dave and Busters to try and figure out where we were and how to get to the waterfront....crazy and confusing experience. We are late to our dinner reservation, but still had a good night. When we returned we told the concierge, who felt horrible. It was actually not his fault...the directions he printed from their company who puts them together were totally wrong. He felt bad, but knew we had ended up in some place across town. Frustrating, as it was for my birthday.

Then, I remembered that last time we were there I was allergic to the down and duck feathers from the pillows and blankets. We let the desk know and a very nice gentleman came and replaced the pillows and the main blanket and told me that was all the down on the bed. I went to sleep only to awaken in the middle of the night totally sick, sneezy, and congested. What the heck? So, I investigated the blanket he left on the bed for me....and needless to say, it was down as well. I pulled the tiny blanket out of the closet, and was miserable the rest of the night. We checked out pretty early in the AM so I could get some allergy medicine....

So, the hotel was beautiful. Fantastic location. Great things nearby. Totally the Ritz. Two wishes for my birthday weekend - have directions that take me to the correct place and be able to replace the bedding correctly for those with allergies. We were so excited and had such high hopes - now not sure we will stay again.

  • Liked — Lobby and Brueggers.
  • Disliked — Beds and bad directions!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2008
Thank you for the feedback that you provided on your recent stay for your birthday weekend. Please accept our deepest apologies for the two service breakdowns that you experienced. As far as the directions, regardless of whether or not they were written wrong by the establishment, we shoulder the blame for not checking them prior to providing them to you. For this we apologize. Please also accept our apologies for the Down comforter. Our associates are trained to be extremely sensitive to any type of disclosed allergies of our guests, whether it be food related, or any other type. In this instance, we failed to inform you fully of the "down" feather product. We are hopeful that you will provide us with a future opportunity to redeem ourselves. The hotel is truly a gem, and we would like for you to truly experience the level of service that individuals have come to expect from our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,714
    878
    283
    107
    43
See reviews for
772
1,110
162
1,481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

For more reasons than one! We stayed here on the evening of a friend's wedding. They offered a shuttle from the hotel to the service and we decided to take them up on their offer and arranged for a sitter. Parking was easy at the Mellon Garage at a cheap $3 for the entire evening! I had been in the hotel lobby previously, but only for a moment. The hotel is simply gorgeous! The staff couldn't have been more friendly. We stayed on ? floor - can't remember. I just remember that the view overlooked Mellon park and we could see a good bit of the city (it, unfortunately, looks better from high above). The room was spotless and tastefully, simply furnished. The bed was the most comfortable ever! I actually got a good night's sleep! Room service was available, but we didn't use it. We went to Pamela's instead - a great Pittsburgh tradition! Would I go back again? In a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Lobby, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PghJenna37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
The Management of the Omni William Penn is happy that we could be your host for your night away from the kids. Thank you for leaving such a glowing recommendation of our hotel and we hope that the next time you have the opportunity for a night out you will again choose to stay at the Omni William Penn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Stayed here for a business convention. Hotel is very nice. Nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Restaurants were very good. Starbucks and a sandwich shop are adjoining to the lobby. Nice park across the street. Good central location. Meeting facilities are nice. Gym is clean and well equipped. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jackcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the various facilities and amenities that the Omni William Penn has to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

If you like beautiful historic hotels this one is a must on a visit to Pittsburgh. The lobby is fabulous.

We had a bit of a problem getting parked when trying to check in. There appeared to be congestion due to a wedding and the baseball game. However, after circling the block we were able to self- park in a public garage across the street from the hotel's main entrance.

Our room was ready at our 2:00 pm arrival. It was a lovely room with nice furniture and a very comfortable bed. Lots of space, but the somewhat small bathroom was very close to one side of the bed. Bathroom products were good ones. We had an interesting view toward other historic buildings.

This hotel is in easy walking distance to the PNC baseball field and other downtown attractions. The front desk staff was helpful and morning room service was right on time.

  • Liked — The beautiful lobby
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LSC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
Thank you for staying at the Omni William Penn and for taking a moment to leave feedback on our property. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience and we hope to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Omni William Penn as part of our 10-day baseball road trip. This is a very old hotel with a high-class restoration. The lobby feels like the Plaza, per my 12-year old son! Bellman Brian was extremely helpful, front desk efficient and friendly. The hotel was crowded with guests for several large multi-day meetings, but service did not suffer at all. We always felt safe walking to and from the stadium area and The Strip. Many people were out and about on weekend nights.

Our room was a nice size and looked out toward the front of the hotel, with a pretty view of other buildings and a tiny peek at bridges and neighboring hills. It was a corner room with relatively good sunlight. My son liked walking down the 14 flights of stairs, but the elevators were always quick.

Beds were really comfy. Bathroom was perfect with a large tub/shower and water pressure that got my hair cleaner than it’s been in years! Perfect! Underground self-parking across the street was $5/day on weekends! Free AM beverage service for reward club members.

We loved this hotel!

  • Liked — Location, high-class feel and service
  • Disliked — Nothing I disliked!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
We are delighted to hear that your loved your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. Thank you for including us on your road trip and we hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My son and I traveled to Pittsburgh for a college visit to Carnegie Mellon. We chose the Omni William Penn because of its location in the city, proximity to CMU, and the upscale feel of a historic hotel. Yes, the Penn is an expensive hotel without the amenities of other like accommodations, but its beautiful lobby and central location is a bonus.

The room accommodations at the Penn are gracious in space and beds have fine linens. Our first room was for disabled persons and the room was huge. We did not need the modified shower and preferred a bath tub so we asked to move. Our service prompt was a quick phone call and it was done. There are lots of covers and blankets enabling you to adjust to your liking. One small problem was with one of our head boards as it creaked every move you made – not good for sleeping. The beds were of average comfort. However, we left the next day, so we did not bring it to their attention. Another nice touch we had in our double room was two luggage racks were provided for your suitcases. At other hotels, we found they provided one rack even for a double room. One laugh, you may get lost as hallways at the Penn as they all look the same – the labyrinth.

There is an underground parking garage across the street for $14 per night or you can go with valet $26 with in/out privileges. Carnegie Mellon is a short 10-15 minute drive. On the way, you’ll pass the Carnegie Museum of Art. The Cultural District, a short walk, has several restaurants. We ate at Six Penn – lots of smoked meats, share the wedge salad as the wedge is huge! We also wanted to try Primanti Brothers (heard good reviews) but they were closed for repairs. Food and convenience stores are walking distance from the hotel. Definitely go to Amazon Café, at the hotel, for a smoothie or fresh squeezed orange juice – reasonably priced and delicious! Starbucks is also located at the Penn for your morning latte. Otherwise, we did not eat at hotel. They have room service, but no take out containers if you want to order and go.

BTW - They don’t have blackout drapes so bring blindfolds if you wake to the light.

The view from our room window was a treat! Very clean rooms, too. Overall, we enjoyed the hotel despite its pricey price!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELERSFROMSEATTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni William Penn while visiting CMU. It is a fantastic school. We hope that if your son decides to go there, then the Omni William Penn can provide you with a luxurious place to stay while visiting him throughout his college years. If you do return, we encourage you to report even the most minor issues to us and we will make sure they are promptly attended to. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The Omni William Penn is a fabulous hotel. We were in Pittsburgh for the Philadelphia Eages v. Pittsburgh Steelers preseason game, and it was great to be able to walk to the football stadium from the hotel. It is also in walking distance of the baseball field where the Pirates play. When I first walked into the bathroom of our room, I thought, "Uh-oh, they forgot to put a shower in this bathroom!" But then, I discovered another bathroom in our room! It was wonderful having two bathrooms and two big comfy beds. The lobby is beatiful as well. I would highly recommend staying at the Omni William Penn for the amenities as well as the location downtown.

  • Liked — the location, having two bathrooms in the room
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and are glad you were able to take advantage of our location and its proximity to all of Pittsburgh's major sporting events. We hope to have you return on your next trip to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing