We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay - don't play”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel beautiful, all the features of a premium room, great staff. They have a unique bar called the Speakeasy, which is why we stayed there, with original fancy drinks and 20's decor. Looked forward to a great experience. We arrived before our friends, who were then turned away due to "overcrowding". There were many seats, including those saved by us, and even when told they were joining us were told to go find a seat elsewhere and wait. Only holds 50 people. My suggestion is to go elsewhere, especially if you are more than 2, or it is a weekend. Not worth going and chancing admission. Breakfast buffet included with room - but lacking in selection. Acceptable, but not up to expectations. So - stay - no issues! Play- not here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank cfgoesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,192)
There are newer reviews for Omni William Penn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,908 - 2,914 of 4,192 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed New Year's eve on a special rate where you also had a five-course meal and brunch with the room rate. We had a great stay and the food was really good. Its a good spot to stay if you are exploring Pittsburgh on foot. I like the historical aspects of the hotel. Look for specials before you book.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We really enjoy staying at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and everything is always as expected. We chose the romance package and the late checkout of 5pm was fantastic. We could have a leasurely late breakfast and did not have to hurry out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I booked the Romance Package as a birthday/anniversary treat - included $100 credit to the Terrace Room for dinner, a bottle of champagne & chocolate covered strawberries, plus brunch the next morning for 2 and we loved it! We were even given a complimentary upgrade to a King Parlor Suite. The room was beautiful, food was great, and the package was worth the price. The only downside was that our suite had a small, awkward bathroom and most of our views were of other rooms (we did have a window overlooking the city in the living area). This was our 2nd stay, and our last room was on an end with a larger bathroom, but that's what happens with an older hotel (not that I'm complaining!). I love the charm and details of this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view as there is a chance you could face windows to other rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephk0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful place to stay, wonderful lobby atmosphere, if you enjoy grand old hotels. We were within walking distance of downtown holiday festivities at PPG plaza in beautiful downtown Pittsburgh. Parking is limited, so explore options on your own or plan time and money in your schedule and budget for valet service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Larry D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

When I go back to this area again you can bet this is where I'll be staying. Well worth your time and the price is very fair for the service you receive. All the staff we met were friendly and exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Warren, Pennsylvania
1
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed her because our niece was using the hotel for her reception. We were very pleased with all interactions with the hotel personal and also the accommodations. You will not be sorry if you stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $153 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing